We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean and Quiet Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth
Ranked #40 of 64 Hotels in Perth
High Point
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Clean and Quiet Place to Stay”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

As you know, hotels are a premium price in Perth. The client I was working for put me up in the Perth Ambassador. It is a quiet and clean hotel with no frills. It is considerably less than other hotels in the area. It is in the heart of the downtown district, so it is an easy walk to most offices. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance of the property. However, some of them do close early. I found my room clean and very basic. I did have a comfortable stay, and I thought it was a good stay. If you’re in the area, I would recommend the Perth Ambassador if you can enjoy a no-frills hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    280
    204
    78
    54
See reviews for
69
217
85
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have stayed in hostel which is cleaner and more comfortable. The service was poor. The general presentation of the hotel was poorly, gives you the impression that it is just there to take advantage of the artificially created lack of hotel room vacancy in this city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWW138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Perth Ambassador Hotel for 6 nights while I was attending a conference. The Ambassador hotel is located on the edge of the CBD and is about 25 minutes walk from the Perth Convention centre and Market Square, although as it is within the free transit zone you can catch a bus into the city - and a Red CAT bus stop is located nearby on Hay Street, with buses every five minutes. The hotel is very well located for car hire - Thrifty is next door, and several other car hire firms are located on the same block.

We booked several months in advance and received an excellent rate (for Perth) of $160 per night for the room plus $15 per person for the hot breakfast.

The hotel as a whole is starting to look a little tired - in our room there were stains on the carpet and chips in the furniture and bathroom tiles etc. First, some positives:
* Free internet wireless is included in the room rate, which was reliable and relatively fast - I always believe this is a big plus for any hotel.
* The hot breakfast (at $15 per person with our booking) was also excellent value. There was a choice of 3 cereals (Corn flakes, Nutrigrain and Special K) and for the hot course bacon, sausages, tomatoes, hash browns, baked beans, hard boiled eggs, a second egg option (which was variously fried, poached, scrambled and quiche), and two additional options which varied between mushrooms, hot croissants, fried rice, stir fried noodles and stir fried vegtables. There is also an expresso machine in the breakfast room.
* Our experience with customer service was positive although, as some reviewers have noted, some of the staff have limited English. One example - when we returned home I realised they had issued me a receipt rather than a tax invoice - I called the hotel and they e-mailed me the tax invoice within 5 minutes.
* The room was relatively large and the bed was comfortable,
* Some Foxtel channels are included in the room rate, and
* Parking for hotel patrons is only $12 per night, noting that the parking is not under cover.

A few minor gripes and things for prospective patrons to note:
* the airconditioning vent in our room looked like it had not been cleaned for a long while and was very dusty,
* the window to our room was also quite dirty on the outside,
* the bathroom does not have face cloths for patrons,
* the soap dispensers in the bathroom seemed to "block up" occasionally and need several presses to get them working - we had to get maintenance to fix the one over the bath - noting that they did respond very promptly as we reported it when going to breakfast and it was fixed by the time we had finished, and
* there were only two "free" powerpoints in the room, so to charge two phones and computer simultaneously we needed to unplug the kettle.

I can understand people paying a lot more per night being disappointed with what they get at the Perth Ambassador but accommodation in Perth is generally very expensive. For the rate we received we think the Perth Ambassador represents excellent value for money and If similarly priced, we would be happy to stay at the Perth Ambassador again.

TC

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThinController
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Booked over night, found checkin went very smooth, as there was 4 of us in 2 rooms the manager was very nice and upgraded our rooms so we could be on the same floor...... Always a bonus..
Rooms were good size, everything was very clean ever though not super modern.
But considering this is a 3 1/2 star hotel it met this standard easily..........

Breakfast was inc in our deal and very sufficient and covered on the basics...

Overall a good experience, staff very helpful and would stay again...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuxi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Well, what I should say is that Perth in general is overpriced in terms of hotels. The Ambassador is particularly so - a tired property on the edge of the CBD. $265 without breakfast. Breakfast was another $19. Room was functional but very much in need of a facelift - as are all the lifts and common areas. Staff were fine - helpful. Breakfast was ok. Gym is one weight machine, one stepper and a rowing machine with a 1970s sauna....

There are a lack of options in Perth but my advice is pay another $50 and get a much better experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnAfromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I recently booked two nights for two rooms as part of a business trip.

I had to cancel the booking for one of the rooms as the circumstances changed and only one person was required to attend. As the cancellation was the same day as the arrival date one nights penalty was to be applied. I did not have a problem with this although my company has used this hotel many times in the past and they were still accommodating one person.

I asked that the full amount be refunded to my credit card and the outstanding penalty amount be charged to another credit card, also in my name but purely used for business purposes. This was flatly refused at first as the reception staff did not understand what I was asking due to their extremely poor english. I subsequently spoke to a supervisor, who when asked as to her position, begrudgingly told me she wasn't a manager. I was told a manager would contact me in a few hours. That was almost a week ago.

I received an email chain which had bounced between the hotel and their booking office, Agoda, from three different people all saying different things. The most absurd being that they had tried to contact me repeatedly by phone. I questioned this as I made sure I was contactable and had no missed calls or messages on my mobile phone. The email reply was that they had tried to contact me in the room; which you will by now recall was the same room that I had cause to cancel.

I am still several hundred dollars out of pocket due to their incompetence and poor communication skills. After almost a week I would expect some form of communication to attempt to resolve the matter. As a result of their absolutely disgusting service I and others from my company will be staying at other hotels during our frequent visits to the Perth CBD.

Oh and the other person that stayed at the hotel had just as shameful an experience actually staying at the hotel with the quality and cleanliness of the hotel being sub standard and almost all but one of the staff having very little english speaking ability.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EJA_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I live in Perth and whenever i need 5 mins to myself or have an event in the city i need to attend, i always stay here. Great little hotel, staff are very friendly. Rooms are great, yes the decor may be a little dated but it has every thing you need. Room service is also quiet exceptional just wish it was open for a little longer. People are only complaining about the hotel because they never did their research before they chose to stay.

Look forward to my next visit in June :)

Room Tip: Corporate rooms are the best size wise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yhpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Seasons of Perth
#47 of 64 in Perth
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#33 of 64 in Perth
294 reviews
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth

Property: Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth
Address: 196 Adelaide Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia (Formerly Perth Ambassador Hotel)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3.5 Star award-winning Perth Ambassador Hotel, centrally located in the Perth CBD, offers 170 well-appointed rooms and suites. All feature free Wi-Fi internet access, flatscreen television with Foxtel (cable TV) and movies-on-demand, ensuite with separate bath and shower, air-conditioning/heating, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, mini-fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a daily housekeeping service. Facilities include a restaurant and bar open daily for breakfast and dinner, gymnasium, sauna, 24-hour reception, tour desk, safety deposit box at reception, in-house self service laundry, dry cleaning service, plus on-site car parking at great rates. Just minutes to the vibrant array of shopping, dining, entertainment, nightlife, cultural and historical experiences that Perth City has to offer. The Swan River, WACA sporting ground, Crown Perth Casino, Perth Convention & Exhibition Centre, Kings Park and tourist attractions are close by. Short walk to the city centre or hop on the free transit bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing