We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth
Ranked #40 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overpriced and dated”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Perth: one of the only places that can get away with charging the amount the Ambassador does while providing a run down old hotel with zero frills. I needed to stay overnight for business and struggled to find a place in the city that wasn't over $300pn. Decided to give the Ambassador a go as it was just under budget.

Pros:
Room was big with decent size bed and space for laptop, luggage and hanging space.
Had a bar fridge
Had a TV
Tiny gym
Free Parking
Aircon - never figured out how to control it though
No street noise

Cons:
Way overpriced for what it is!!
Very run-down and dated
Bathroom was ok but because it is so old it almost feels dirty being in there
Gym was very small and poor equipment - don't expect much.
No atmosphere or friendly welcomes when arriving
In a dead part of the city, West Perth or Central are more lively

Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brians86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    280
    203
    78
    54
See reviews for
69
217
85
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney - Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This isn't the worst hotel I stay at in my travels; my room (705) was very large and quite comfortable, but for the equivalent of Melbourne/Sydney 4 1/2 star prices, it is very average... The foyer is dated, the rooms not well equipped and they have installed my pet hate in any hotel above a backpackers - liquid soap/shampoo dispenser in the shower and bathroom.
Compared to East Coast hotels its pretty poor and expensive: compared to other Perth hotels, its just like the restaurant scene here: overpriced mediocrity.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Work trip last minute so no say in it really.
What will I tell the travel agent? The truth of course.
Check in was OK and the staff member courteous - but thats where it ends. I was snapped at by the 'Australian' woman today for parking in the Thrify carpark because they'd barricaded there's shut (Les Miserables insert).
The room is ordinary and bathroom has those awful dispenser soap/shampoos of which mine were empty - and again night two.
Basic everything and at the dead end of town.
Bed was OK though and had a GREAT nights sleep so at the end of the day why carry on when thats what counts.
Free wi-fi in room works and the tapas bar a 15 minute walk away made the whole stay worthwhile

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by terms like 'deluxe'
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for a relaxing night away and the second for the night on the town! We got to our room after a long day of traveling got changed into our bed clothes and wanted to order a movie! Tried for hours before phoning reception to be told that we have to go down stairs and Pre pay for the movie biggest let down ever!!! Will not stay here again! The only people working were Chinese and i couldn't even understand them when I rang them!! Reception were useles!! Do not Reccommend!!!!! :(

Plus the aircon is controlled by reception and they wouldn't turn it down and we were freezing!!! Ridiculous!!!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mewo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Ambassador for a few nights to explore Perth between trips. We found the location suited us very well - there are a few blocks to walk into the very centre of the CBD but it was close to stops for Perth's free bus services and not too long a wander down to the jetty with ferries to Fremantle, Rotnest Island etc. Our room was quite large and the bathroom had a separate shower as well as a bath which we liked. Little things like a pull out washing line were useful. It was a bit 70's but none the worse for that except the air con was either fully on (antarctic conditions - the thermostat seemed to be just for decoration!) or off altogether. After a tiring day of travelling, we liked being able to phone down for a pizza to collect from the restaurant. BUT all of is was let down big time by reception staff who were abrupt to the point of rudeness (this is not just a one off observation). That's a shame as this would have been a higher rated review but for that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mesayingthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had a last minute trip to Perth for work & found the Ambassador hotel to be reasonably cheap in a quiet area of Perth.
Rooms are ok, can't really complain about anything.
Had free parking which was good.

Room Tip: Ask to be as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel in December 2012 and found it quite a good hotel which is quite different from the reviews that I've read. I asked for a triple-bedded room and was surprised to find that I got the size of 2 single rooms. One room has 2 single beds, a small dinning table with 3 chairs and a pantry with electric kettle (clean to use!) and a small fridge; the other room has a queen size bed with side table, a luggage stand and a television. The two rooms are separated by an adjoined door. We have more than 2 pillows in each single bed and 4 on the queen size bed and each bed has a comforter. This let us have a good rest after a day of walking. The only bad thing is that it is not near to shopping or restaurant, chioce of food is limited. For those who chose to stay in this hotel, my advise is to go to barrack street for food and shopping. You can go there by free bus outside the hotel. Overall, it's a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not next a laundry room or the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YL-SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Seasons of Perth
#47 of 64 in Perth
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#33 of 64 in Perth
292 reviews
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth

Property: Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth
Address: 196 Adelaide Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia (Formerly Perth Ambassador Hotel)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3.5 Star award-winning Perth Ambassador Hotel, centrally located in the Perth CBD, offers 170 well-appointed rooms and suites. All feature free Wi-Fi internet access, flatscreen television with Foxtel (cable TV) and movies-on-demand, ensuite with separate bath and shower, air-conditioning/heating, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, mini-fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a daily housekeeping service. Facilities include a restaurant and bar open daily for breakfast and dinner, gymnasium, sauna, 24-hour reception, tour desk, safety deposit box at reception, in-house self service laundry, dry cleaning service, plus on-site car parking at great rates. Just minutes to the vibrant array of shopping, dining, entertainment, nightlife, cultural and historical experiences that Perth City has to offer. The Swan River, WACA sporting ground, Crown Perth Casino, Perth Convention & Exhibition Centre, Kings Park and tourist attractions are close by. Short walk to the city centre or hop on the free transit bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing