We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“12 hour visit was long enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth
Ranked #38 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed February 25, 2012

we arrived at midnight, and departed less than 12 hours later. that was long enough. hotel badly need renovation. overpriced. unfriendly front desk during check-in. stay elsewhere if possible. parking was $12aud.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 690 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

I was in Perth on business the week before CHOGM and I struggled to get a hotel room and got stuck in this dump. I was gob smacked that it was claiming to be 4 stars - it's not even 2! It was an unusually cold spell in late October and I froze in my room unable to heat the room I shivered as I sat at the desk to do work. Perth is not a 3rd world city but this hotel certainly is - although calling it a hotel is flattering.This tired, run down hovel was disgusting - business travellers should absolutely avoid this place. Lifts were slow, it was dirty, breakfast cold, nowhere in the lobby to meet guests and no soap - they have that terrible bottle system stuck to the wall - I hate these systems designed to save a few cents on toiletries - you know as soon as you this sytem the place knows nothing about hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We didn't pay very much for the hotel room, so I suppose we couldn't expect very much. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was quite large, with a refrigerator. But the carpet looked stained and worn. The bathroom also was old and slightly rusty. Despite that, everything seemed clean.

There is supposedly free broadband internet access--which requires an ethernet cable. Thankfully, the front desk will loan you a cable. But sadly, I couldn't get my computer to access the internet with the cable. I'm not sure why--since I was able to do it before. So, my guess is maybe there are some problems with the internet access in the room.

The location of the hotel is on the edge of the CBD. There is a free bus that does a loop around the CBD--which is about 2 blocks from the hotel. Generally, I think the location was fine and pretty quiet. If you want to be close to the train station, this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RagingTurnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

overnight stay, traveling further so had two cases and a laptop. Asked for help with my luggage and was directed to a trolley. Three goes to get it in the elevator, worse than a supermarket one. Elevator wouldn't react to button 7 until pushed over and over. Air-conditioning in room was so loud.I asked for a room change, denied, response was to keep it on low to avoid the noise. Bathroom was unclean, three pubic hairs in /near basin and loo. Dinner service was poor, food cold and overpriced. Staff didn't manage a smile at any interaction. I left a feedback sheet and complaint in writing and asked for contact by management, Now nearly two weeks on and none received, Valid email and ph left. so they obviously don't care.

Room Tip: Don't bother, there are better hotels and at competitive prices
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

It was very conveniently placed. A bus stop is just outside which takes you cheaply to the airport. The rooms are just OK but tired. There was no wifi. Check in and out were fine but we didn't use the bar or breakfast facilities as they didn't really attract us. The staff were helpful and it is a reasonable value hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chirosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Check in was hassle free and was able to place a wake up call and book a taxi to the airport with no hassle.

The room was well appointed and clean, with a large flat screen television with a refigrartor and tea/coffee making facilities. The air conditioning worked well and plenty of luggage storage within the room.

However, my room was facing St Georges Terrace and I found it a little difficult to get to sleep. The bath also had lots of rust round the plug hole, which wasn't particularly attractive, but thankfully the room also had a separate shower.

I didn't get the opportunity to sample the hotel restaurant due to having to catch an early morning flight.

Overall: a basic hotel with a very small gym and sauna, road traffic may be an issue if your room faces the road, and there was no hotel wifi, but there was wired broadband available. The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk into the main central business district. I would say the hotel is okay if staying for a few nights.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jcp744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and checked out early (5am) but the reception was always well staffed. The room was spacious and clean, although the bathroom looks dated. The breakfast was ok, included in some of the nights we stayed, not others. I wouldn't pay for it personally. Location is ok, we certainly had no problems with noise from the road or other guests. Would I stay here again? Yeah, why not.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denz_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 65 in Perth
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#33 of 65 in Perth
303 reviews
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#51 of 65 in Perth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth

Address: 196 Adelaide Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia (Formerly Perth Ambassador Hotel)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: $80 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3.5 Star award-winning Perth Ambassador Hotel, centrally located in the Perth CBD, offers 170 well-appointed rooms and suites. All feature free Wi-Fi internet access, flatscreen television with Foxtel (cable TV) and movies-on-demand, ensuite with separate bath and shower, air-conditioning/heating, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, mini-fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a daily housekeeping service. Facilities include a restaurant and bar open daily for breakfast and dinner, gymnasium, sauna, 24-hour reception, tour desk, safety deposit box at reception, in-house self service laundry, dry cleaning service, plus on-site car parking at great rates. Just minutes to the vibrant array of shopping, dining, entertainment, nightlife, cultural and historical experiences that Perth City has to offer. The Swan River, WACA sporting ground, Crown Perth Casino, Perth Convention & Exhibition Centre, Kings Park and tourist attractions are close by. Short walk to the city centre or hop on the free transit bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing