We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Mercure Perth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Perth
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Perth
A TripAdvisor Member
“great location”
Reviewed February 17, 2011

great location in the heart of city.friendly staff,definately recommend

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    834
    432
    117
    39
See reviews for
418
650
188
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Large but sparsely furnished room, with a fair sized bathroom (but with a silly, square-shaped washbasin) (see pictures). Also, the sliding door panels into the shower were broken (see picture), but despite requesting repairs in the early evening, by the time I returned late the next afternoon absolutely nothing had been done. So I complained again, and a short time later someone from reception came to the room, and after fiddling with the shower doors for about 5 mins, he agreed with me - they were broken! I checked-out the next morning, so I don't know if/when they were eventually replaced. Limited selection of TV channels and no international news channels. Room was on the third floor and view from window was of an office building across the street. Poor sound insulation - I heard people talking in the next room, and all night long there were strange creaking noises as the building seems to expand/contract with the changing outside temperatures, but not enough to keep a sleepy person awake! A fair selection of hot and cold food for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arandale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Comfortable not luxurious; breakfast & dinner very good; staff obliging.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Your staff - Kim at the reception is very helping for me to get direction to the place that I want to visit. She is very friendly and caring.

This is a accident that happen to the hairdryer in the room toilet of my room 802.

The hairdryer is burning with flame at the time my son using it. It is lucky that my son holding dryer is not toward his head or face. Otherwise....you can imagine. It is surprise that no one from the management address this as an EHS issue. May be you can check whether this case had been report

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercurePerth, Front Office Manager at Mercure Perth, responded to this review, February 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Perth.

We are very pleased to hear your great feedback in regards to Kim. We will ensure this feedback is passed onto her.

We thank you for reporting the maintenance issue in room 802. This matter has been addressed by our maintenance department to prevent a future occurence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Mercure Perth. the staff were friendly, helpful, and did their best to make our stay worthwhile. We had our grandson with us and they managed to put in a rollaway bed into the room where still had comfortable space. The only downside was there was no bath....I love a good soak after lots of walking.
The restaurant food was very good, particularly the beef pie on the evening menu.
From that hotel we could walk anywhere ...to the Hay Street Mall and shopping precinct and to the River where we saw the Skyshow. Although the Skyshow was very disappointing as where we live ( in Townsville), the Skyshow is a real event involving military and civil aircraft.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 65 in Perth
1,212 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 65 in Perth
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Perth

Property: Mercure Perth
Address: 10 Irwin St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Perth
#14 Business Hotel in Perth
#18 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#24 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Perth 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Perth Central Business District, Mercure Hotel Perth is close to shopping, restaurants and nightlife. Just a short stroll from the Swan River, Perth Mint and Supreme Court Gardens; you'll find many of Perth’s attractions nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Perth Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing