We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Perth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Perth
Ranked #28 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    812
    421
    115
    39
See reviews for
409
632
183
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I have been keen to stay at the Mercure for some time as I had heard good reports from several colleagues. I knew that this wasn't a high end hotel so my expectations weren't set too high. I found it a very clean and comfortable place with very accommodating staff. The cafe/bar in the foyer was very convenient and serviced by very capable staff who were good with the finer touches.
Good value for money and will definitely return.
The only criticism is the price for internet access. This seems to be endemic in hotel chains and is disproportionate when compared to IP rates.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hermanmw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Recently had a three night stay and found staff extremely helpful in all aspects, whether it be to find a location or to book a taxi. The rooms were quite spacious, probably would've enjoyed a queen size bed instead of a double, but it was clean and comfortable. There was plenty of food to select for breakfast and once again staff extremely pleasant and ready to assist. Pool was utilised with spectacular views over the city, maybe some sort of shade could be incorporated up there.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Recently stayed here for a week & overall it was reasonable. Internet rates are very expensive compared to other hotels in the area.
I have booked a cheap room and it was close to the lifts. It was very noisy all night.
I dont think i would stay there next time. I will try another place.
But if you are on a tight budget, the overall expeience was ok.

Room Tip: Stay away form the rooms near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Check-in

The polite gent who checked me in couldn’t have been more helpful and friendly. I arrived at around 10.00am and even though official check-in is only slated for 2.00pm, I was allowed to go to my room immediately. That was a pleasure after an early morning start and a long flight from Sydney and I was grateful to them for being so flexible.

Room

Large and comfortable but old fashioned with an aging bed and low drawer storage arrangements underneath the suitcase rest. Watch your back here as you’ll be doing plenty of bending. Adequate storage though in the cupboard, but limited hangars of the type that I loathe where the hook is affixed to the rail. An easy to use safe was useful for storing valuables. The handy tea and coffee making facilities were a pleasure. My room (627) faced an ugly abandoned building across the road but was quiet with little street noise. That was probably because of the high level that we were on and also Perth being the kind of small city where most activity ceases at around 9.00pm. The window glass is thick and it may even be double glazed but I couldn’t say for sure. There’s plenty of lights but all in the wrong places and not of the kind as to make reading or computer use easy. The room had a handy desk and comfortable office chair, useful for writing reviews on your laptop. I liked the supersized Samsung TV with the usual array of local channels, especially well positioned for easy viewing while lying in bed. It lacked the cable news channels though like BBC and Al Jazeera and I found the remote control slow to respond to commands.

Bathroom

Large and adequate but dated and there was rust around the door frame. Water pressure in the basin is so bad that if you’re planning on filling it up to shave, set the taps running then make yourself a cup of coffee and by the time you’ve finished your drink the basin may be full. Very stiff tap as well. But my wife appreciated the bath. There’s no dry storage but the shelf is large enough to hold all your toiletries and keep them away from the basin. The shower cubicle is an awful old-style one with a thick, solid, but rusting handrail of the type you’d see in nursing homes, so I wonder why they decided to add that, but there’s no storage shelf for your shower essentials like shampoo and body wash, only a small and ancient receptacle for the soap bar. At least the water is contained within the cubicle, so there’s no spillage onto the floor and there’s a solid locking door for privacy. Again we see features of old hotels that we like, mainly size and proper provision for privacy and water containment.

Location

Perth CBD is small by world standards – certainly a lot smaller than Sydney or Melbourne’s CBD, with just a few main streets in a condensed area. At the Mercure you’re about a 10min easy level walk to the centre of town, so you couldn’t ask for a better location. The taxi ride from the airport took less than 20mins in light, mid-morning traffic. Across the road from the hotel is the well-stocked IGA supermarket and liquor store, which we found handy for getting provisions. Just further along is Woolworths, David Jones, Myer, Target; pretty much all the major stores within a small radius. There are plenty of cafes, restaurants and bars in the near vicinity. We hired a car so had no need for buses but I saw them trawling around the city centre area, so I guess that would help those who need to rely on them.

Amenities

The hotel has the full suite of amenities you would expect from an upscale hotel in a prime CBD location. There’s a rooftop swimming pool which has expansive views of the city but unfortunately no shade, a serious oversight in a hot place like Perth. On the same level as the pool, is a gym and sauna. All are spotless and well maintained. There’s a handy guest laundry on level 3 of the west tower and two computers downstairs near reception where guests can access the internet for free. There’s also a bar, restaurant and cafe downstairs. The common areas of the hotel are large, airy and clean. You won’t find as much as a speck of dust anywhere and again full marks to the management and staff here for doing such a fabulous job in presenting a wholesome and welcoming place to visit. Every morning in the lounge area just behind the computers, the daily newspapers are neatly laid out for the benefit of guests. As an avid newspaper reader, I appreciated that gesture.

Parking

The only option that the hotel provides guests is valet parking. Now it’s useful to be able to simply park your car outside the front door of the hotel, run inside, hand your keys to the bell captain and have him take care of it for you from then on, but it comes at a hefty price of $35 a night. There’s a Wilson Car Park next door which is handy for weekend parking only but way too expensive any other time.

Service

This is where these guys excel. We found all the staff, from the front desk clerks, to the concierge, the housekeeper and cleaners to be friendly, efficient and polite. Every time you pass a staff member in the corridor they will greet you with a cheery “good morning” or “good afternoon”. We had cause on Saturday night to call down to reception to ask them to tell our next door neighbours to keep their noise levels down. I heard the clerk at the offender’s door within minutes and soon after that the noise ceased. These guys deserve credit and full marks for this aspect of the hotel. As a guest, I felt welcome and at home, knowing that staff are here to serve you and to make sure you have a comfortable and enjoyable time.

Best points

- Outstanding and professional customer service from all staff

- Large and comfy rooms

- Large bathroom with bath and enclosed shower cubicle

- Convenient location near the city centre

- Spotlessly clean and well maintained throughout from common areas, to corridors, lifts, rooms, bar and restaurant

- Free internet in lounge (two computers)

- Expansive views from the pool deck

- Handy coffee shop on the premises so even if you’re not booked in for bed and breakfast, breakfast is a breeze here and you don’t have to go far to find it

- Thick glass windows block out all street noise

- Carpeted throughout keeping internal noise to a minimum

- Convenient, easy valet parking

- Free newspapers every day

- Handy safe in the room

Worst points

- Dated interior, some rust in bathroom

- Parking overly expensive at $35 a night

- Weak water pressure in basin and shower

- Poor lighting in the room

- Old style clock radio impossible to figure out how to use, no instructions

Summary

Despite the few negatives mentioned, we still thoroughly enjoyed our six-night stay at the Mercure Perth. It met all our expectations and we wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again next time we’re in town.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Artfornodriving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Perth

Property: Mercure Perth
Address: 10 Irwin St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Perth
#17 Business Hotel in Perth
#20 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#27 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Perth 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Perth Central Business District, Mercure Hotel Perth is close to shopping, restaurants and nightlife. Just a short stroll from the Swan River, Perth Mint and Supreme Court Gardens; you'll find many of Perth’s attractions nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Perth Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing