We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location, friendly staff”
Review of Mercure Perth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Perth
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is best for business stays. The company i work for preferred Mercure for Board Meetings and they give a good service. The rooms are always nice, well maintained, clean and reasonably big.

My family of 3 (bub is about 2y/o), stayed here for a 5 night stay as well. It is reasonable and my bub seemed to enjoy her stay although the room is a bit small for families so I recommend this hotel for business travellers. :)

Another thing, when we had our meeting at Mercure mid-2013 the food they served for that meeting was average and didnt expect they will serve chicorolls in the menu...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,864)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Perth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

925 - 931 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were in Perth for a conference and as a jumping-off point for a SE Asia trip. Conference was at the Mercure, so that's where we stayed. First impressions were that it was a bit dated, but clean and adequate. We were advised that we had been upgraded. Other conference delegates remarked that our room was better then theirs, so i guess we actually were upgraded. One delegate was lucky enough to get a still better room with capsule coffee maker and other mod cons. Pity she wasn't a coffee drinker, but it did make me a little envious.

The Mercure is ideally located on the corner of Irwin and Hay streets, just a couple of hundred metres or so from the Hay St mall, so it's close to shopping and the pedestrian precinct. The Red Cat free bus service runs past the hotel, with a stop close by. Perth suburban train station is an easy walk away.

The hotel itself is a little tired and dated, but still refined. It has aged gracefully. The staff were absolutely magnificent. Nothing was too much trouble: even down to finding a local doctor to issue prescriptions for a couple of items that somehow missed our suitcases, and excellent recommendations for meals. Room was very comfortable, but the over-the-bath shower was missing one glass door, making it a delicate operation to avoid flooding the bathroom.

Breakfast let them down badly. I've never been a great fan of bain-marie style food gently stewing away all morning, and this one was no better than most. Their coffee however was wonderful.

We spent four nights here, and you left feeling that while it was adequate and comfortable enough, it certainly wasn't outstanding: except for those staff.

Room Tip: Rooms off Hay St are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westendgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Mercure reception staff kindly gave us an upgrade, apparently this means a pod style coffee machine, evian water and chocolates. The room was big enough, bathroom was OK except that one panel on the shower door was missing (and I've now read another trip advisor review which also mentions a missing panel - I did mention it on checkout but am now wondering if it's done on purpose? Perhaps Mercure could advise, but I've never struck this before). Anyhow, apart from this no real complaints, the bed was good and the 12th floor seems to be OK for noise. Location is close to the Concert Hall and the hospital, and only a few minutes from the malls. The hotel charges $35 per day for vehicles to be parked in their basement, so you have to factor this cost in. The food choices in the restaurant were a bit limited, and whilst the sign at the restaurant says "open till late", if you arrive at 9.20 pm (even on a Friday night) don't expect a warm welcome from the wait staff, so my recommendation would be to eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshwoodSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were a family of 3 who booked a suite for 2 nights. The rooms had a lot of amenities (bathrobe, slippers, expresso machine, hot choc sachets, etc) but quite frankly, i would rather they get the basics right and leave these amenities out.
The shower cubicle had a 3-panel glass door with 1 panel missing. Needless to say, the outside area got wet. One had to be conscious the whole time during the shower to ensure it didn't get too wet which meant I didn't get a satisfying shower as I had to be alert. The track for these panels was also badly corroded.
The kingsized mattress sagged quite badly and we didn't get a comforter cover. The bare comforter was simply sandwiched between 2 flat sheets. By morning, the sheets and comforter were all over the place.
I reported the missing shower panel to the reception after the 1st night. I didn't expect instant rectification but I did at the very least expect an apology or an explanatory note of sorts. We got nothing. No call, no message, nothing. There probably was a good reason why they didn't replace the panel (could be waiting for delivery or something) but I wouldn't have expected the hotel to sell the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crew80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Samatswindn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank gandj59
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 65 in Perth
1,254 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duxton Hotel
#15 of 65 in Perth
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Perth

Address: 10 Irwin St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Perth
#14 Family Hotel in Perth
#18 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#23 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $105 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Perth 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Perth Central Business District, Mercure Hotel Perth is close to shopping, restaurants and nightlife. Just a short stroll from the Swan River, Perth Mint and Supreme Court Gardens; you'll find many of Perth’s attractions nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Perth Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing