We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed June 25, 2008

A nice play to stay. Easy to get to as the shuttle bus from the airport dropped me off right at the front door to this hotel. Additionally, a bus stop for the red 'cat' is also right outside the front of this hotel, which can take you all around the CBD and the other side of the city for free. A couple of small cafes down the road towards the CBD, but nothing too significant. As for the room itself, seemed clean with no problems. Not much of a view, as it simply overlooked a long courtyard with other buildings as well, but i wasn't really worried about this as I didn't spend much time in the room.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    759
    339
    98
    47
See reviews for
215
555
201
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

stayed here for total 3 nights-easy walking distance to Hay St. shopping-hotel average-mini fridge-no safe-balcony room $30 extra but worth it-nice bar area; locals hot spot; left luggage there when we rented a car and left for 3 nights-stayed one more night due to easy access to airport

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

This is a well sited hotel near the centre of Perth. The front of house staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was reasonably clean. However, there were a lot of small things which need addressed and cumulatively make this very much a 3 star hotel. Two pieces of furniture in my executive room were in need of repair. The bathroom needed repainted and was cramped and poorly laid out with a shower screen that did not stop the shower flooding the bathroom. There were loads of little areas which needed maintenance.
The other area they need to work on is customer experience. While staff were friendly and helpful they were unable to get a taxi for me on a Sunday evening and advised me to go to a bigger hotel nearby where i was more likely to get one. Many hotels have international adaptors which if you only need for a very short time you can borrow for a deposit but Travelodge Perth only have to sell.
Overall this hotel was reasonable value but there are a lot of hotels nearby and I did begin to wish I had stayed elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Level of service and standards of maintenance
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 246170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

I stayed at the Travelodge Perth for 3 nights in a balcony room on level 5. There was a slight mix up at check in (giving me a room that was already occupied) but as a result the front desk staff worked extra hard to make up for the error. The travelodge is located near a large number of other hotels, but you are limited in food/evening activities in the immediate area - more options are a decent 15 minute walk away.

I am uncertain about the non balcony rooms but as my room was quite noisy with the restaurant directly beneath. I would suggest if you are a light sleeper you may want to try a room with out a 'view'.

The balcony has a nice table & chairs and you could enjoy the evening but only for a short while (fairly small). The room was comfortable with a decent arm chair for watching TV. I could see signs that it had been refurbished but could not fault it.

The included breakfast was a little strange with many normal things missing but it was filling and worth the extra money.

Parking is a pain but assuming the hotel isn't full you should find a spot with in a block of the hotel (for free) or pay for the near by parking station. Just be aware of the trees and the nesting birds!

I'd recommend it over some of the other offerings.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brett-au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

i stayed at travelodge perth, at hay street for 3 nights
happy to say that it is a very reasonably priced hotel. i had a 3 year old with me, we requested for a king size bed and got that plus a single bed. The bathroom has modern fittings. The room was very spacious although we were on the 4th floor overlooking the airwell. We had the curtains closed anyway so it didnt bother us.
it's within walking distance from hay street mall, the park and there is a CAT bus-stop right in front.

my only complaints are that the electric kettle looked rusty on the inside and the hairdryer in the bathroom did not work. The latter was replaced but i did not ask for the kettle to be replaced.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lspsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungendore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2008

The room was fine - clean and in good condition, although due for a spruce up. I had a great view from my room. The breakfast that was included in the room price was good and the house wine we had using our free drink voucher was surprisingly good.

The hotel was advertised on a number of booking websites as having car parking. NOT SO! The staff at the front desk had a rather cavalier attitude to this misinformation. The options for car parking are on the street - very expensive, very short term meter parking but free between 5.30 pm and 8 am if you can get a space - not good for a leisurely start or finish to the day. Otherwise you must pay for overnight parking in a commercial car park - I think about $20 or thereabouts!!!! If considering this hotel, you should factor the cost of your car parking into what you will be paying for your night's accommodation.

I believe that parking in inner city Perth is generally an expensive hassle.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank motomoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, UK
Level Contributor
221 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2008

Travelodge is a growing group in Australia, and has nothing to do with Travelodge in the USA nor Travelodge in the UK, though all three were once members of the Forte hotel group.

In terms of market it occupies roughly the same position as its namesakes in the UK and USA - ie. inexpensively priced, offering relatively basic but comfortable accommodation. It's against this criterion that I judged it.

Firstly, it's only a few minutes walk from Perth city centre and from the banks of the Swan River, so it has an excellent location. Our bedroom was not exciting or grand, but adequate, clean and well-furnished, and the bathroom had a terrific shower. Out the front they have a deck for daytime or evening drinks, or breakfast, and this is a great benefit in a hot city centre, so we enjoyed some beer there in the evening and a good cooked buffet breakfast the next day. The big surprise, though - and this is where it differs from its former sister hotels in the UK and the USA - is that it has a restaurant and the dinner is of a high standard, not your basic stuff.

I was very happy with this Travelodge (and went on to stay at the one in Melbourne). No great surprises - except dinner - nothing grand or pretentious, but good honest hotel-keeping.

  • Liked — Functional and efficient
  • Disliked — No parking
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Mercure Perth
#22 of 64 in Perth
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,256 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Perth

Property: Travelodge Hotel Perth
Address: 417 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Perth
#7 Family Hotel in Perth
#16 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#17 Business Hotel in Perth
#23 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Perth 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new generation 4 Star Travelodge Perth is ideally situated in Perth's CBD, a short stroll from City Malls, Swan River, Perth Concert Hall, with a free city CAT bus stop at the footsteps of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Toga Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Perth Hotel Perth
Travel Lodge Perth
Perth Travelodge
Perth Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing