We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect visit to Perth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Perth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Ranked #31 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Bridgetown WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect visit to Perth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We live in Rural WA and decided on a few days in Perth with 15yo son and his mate. The connecting rooms were lovely. Beautiful view of Cathedral. Great location for city activities and public transport all over Perth. Staff were very friendly and helpful to the boys and to me. Rooms delightful, scrupulously clean, bright and airy. No air-con noise (YAY!) Curtains cut morning light and enabled sleep ins. Restaurant was great for drinks and meals. Boys loved the Schnitzel night and the cakes. Nothing was too much trouble for any staff. Gym was well equipped too.

Room Tip: We were up high on East side. Good views and good curtains blocked morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaBridgetownWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Bristowe, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Perth, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear LindaBridgetownWA,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
The team and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much!
Our interconnecting rooms off the perfect solution to families looking for decent reasonably priced accommodation in the city.
Our Thursday Schnitzel night has been a huge success since we implemented it and all the feedback for both it and our Armada bar & restaurant has been great!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Travelodge Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    719
    325
    93
    43
See reviews for
204
527
188
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
china
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Although at the quieter end of city centre, still a good location, walkable to ANYWHERE. Room is spacious with an excellent view of St Mary's Church. Only complaint is that the room has a faint smell of tobacco, even though it is a nonsmoking room.

Staff are friendly and helpful. Dinner was good at the restaurant, especially loved the homemade dips with sour bread. Breakfast is a bit expensive, but there are plenty of cafes just down the road on the left.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkchouchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Bristowe, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Perth, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear pinkchouchong,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
The team and I are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our location so convenient.
Please accept my apologies for the tobacco smell in the room. All our rooms are non-smoking so please be assured that it was just a one off occurrence.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
Travelodge Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had to stay in this hotel due to our original hotel we stayed in was fully booked. We stay at the Travelodge hotel Perth for a week and we booked two rooms which interconnecting. The receptionists staff we met every time regardless what time during the day are terrible. They are so unprofessional and rude!! There were a few times when we had to ask them to do some photocopy & scanning documents for us, their response was " It is going to cost $0.25 each!!". I was like sure, i didn't say i wasn't going to pay for it. There are better way to tell your hotel guests about the cost of photocopy & scanning other than raising your eyebrow and talk as if you get so hard done by! I couldn't believe how rude and unprofessional the customer service of the reception staff are. This all can be improved by better training and manager's expectation of the staff performance. I would be truly disappointed if i were the hotel owner seeing all these staff we hired has such a terrible attitude towards the paying guests. I don't think i would ever return to this hotel or recommend this hotel to any of my family & friends. None of my family & friends deserve to be treated this way after paying so much for the hotel room & service. It's a totally non-enjoyable and definitely a memorable one which we would continue telling all our friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Withlovexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Perth, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Kwi S,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Please accept my sincere apologies if the service you received was not up to our usually very high standards.
We always verbally advise all guests of the price of all of our services before they use them. We only do so because we want to make sure guests are fully aware of all the charges going on their accounts. It is never because we do not think they will not pay for it, we just like to keep them informed of the costs.
I am very surprised by your comments regarding our reception team, all the other feedback I have received as well as the other reviews on Tripadvisor, all speak very highly of our reception team. I will be sharing your comments with the reception team who I am sure will be disappointed to hear of your experience.
If you would like to speak with me regarding your stay, please feel free to contact me at jbristowe@travelodge.com.au
Kind Regards,
John Bristowe
Hotel Manger
Travelodge Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

First two caveats about Perth. First, like Canberra, it is a business city, not a tourism city, so hotels (and meals) are expensive for what you get. Just accept it. Second, if I ever came back on a holiday I'd stay in Freemantle (30 minute train ride) because the CBD is set up for business, not tourism.

Overall I was very happy with my stay at the Travelodge - not a luxury hotel by any means but clean, comfortable and friendly. I stayed in a Queen balcony room.

Pros: The service was excellent. When my in-wall hair dryer wasn't working they sent one up and sent someone to repair the old one. I was even asked whether I was happy with the cleaning of my room during a random room survey.

The balcony rooms have a lovely view and the rooms are very spacious. The TVs have lots of channels (useful on a boring weekday night), the breakfast is decent and so is the dinner menu. Nice touch with the breakfast is that you can pay for either just toast and coffee, just continental, or the hot breakfast.

Cons: The mattress is pretty firm, which some people will like but I prefer a softer bed. The bathroom sink is rather small if you had 2 people using it but I was alone so it didn't bother me. And you have to pay for internet access - $50 for a 3-night package. It's certainly not the only hotel that does this but really, it's 2012, when are hotels going to stop considering internet an overpriced 'added extra'?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Perth, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Alexa_Melbourne,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the hair dryer not working. I’m glad we were able to rectify it so quickly for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels in the near future.
Kind Regards,
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
jbristowe@travelodge.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights before a 3 month trip around OZ in a campervan. I found it clean and comfortable with all the usual amenities. The breakfast was very good. Lots of choice and plenty of it. Set me up for a day's sightseeing. Convenient for walking around the city. The staff were all helpful and friendly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oggysouthpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Perth, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear oggysouthpark,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for your recommendation.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels in the near future.
Kind Regards,
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
jbristowe@travelodge.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Ok, so for Perth it's great, any other city and I would say it needs a little tlc.

The cleaning staff were lovey, the only problem I had was with one particular receptionist. I locked my key in my room, when I went to ask for a new key she made me feel like I was the stupidest guest she had ever seen, later that morning when I glwent back to my room the key didn't work. I returned to reception and explained that it wasn't working. I was totally calm and polite, (I would admit if it was my negativity, however it wasn't), she said "what's wrong with it?" I had to explain again that it's "not working". Again she
Made me feel sub human over a silly key! I understand she may have had a bad day, however most of us a respectful and polite to our paying customers.

On another note, the food was great at the restaurant for dinner, breakfast is an average hotel breakfast.

However, I do recommend they clean the reception area of the restaurant (where they make coffee and have cakes etc". The floor is discusting, I had the privilege of sitting by the window looking directly into that area and there were old take away coffee cups on the floor and months worth of dirt. Look I stay in hotels every week, I'm picky when it comes to cleanliness and friendliness.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabian1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Perth, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear fabian1982,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Please accept my apolgies if the service you received from any of our team was not up to our usually very high standards that are often commented on. I will be passing your feedback on to our entire team to help them better improve upon thier service.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the food in Armada restaurant and thank you for the feedback regarding the cofffee station, I have raised this issue with our cleaners.

Kind Regards,

John Bristowe
Hotel Manager
jbristowe@travelodge.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Perth
#29 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Perth

Property: Travelodge Hotel Perth
Address: 417 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Perth
#17 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#21 Business Hotel in Perth
#29 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Perth 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new generation 4 Star Travelodge Perth is ideally situated in Perth's CBD, a short stroll from City Malls, Swan River, Perth Concert Hall, with a free city CAT bus stop at the footsteps of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Perth Hotel Perth
Travel Lodge Perth
Perth Travel Lodge
Perth Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing