We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place where modern and ancient history displayed perfectly.”

Western Australian Museum - Perth
Ranked #33 of 164 things to do in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The main attraction is the museum's extensive collection of Aboriginal artifacts, but yes, there's a dinosaur gallery for the kids, too. *The Perth site will temporarily close from June 2016 to re-open in 2020.
Kuta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A place where modern and ancient history displayed perfectly.”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I spent my last days in Perth visiting the Western Australia Museum. I already planed this museum as one of must visit place while in Perth, as i love museum and learn about old and new history plus the cultures. The museum has 3 levels : ground level that has discovery center, old gaol, museum shop, temporary exhibitions gallery, museum grounds, muse cafe and museum courtyard. Level 1 will take you to WA land and people, an amazing archipelago gallery,butterfly gallery, mammal gallery, bird gallery and Katta Djinoong-first people of WA, and level 2 has Mezzanine floor and Diamonds to dinosaurs. You can get the map and informations of the museum on ground level, infront of the entrance gate. There will be an information desk, you can ask the nice lady for the map and the informations. When i was there last week, there was Dinasour exhibitions, and SASR special exhibitons. I didnt spent my time on dinosaur exhibitions as you have to pay some cash to view it, so i choose to spent my time on SASR out of the shadow exhibition, which is more interesting and moving for me. The letter from the soldier love one is what moving me so much, even shed a tears. The WA museum is located on convinience locations,you can simpy take blue CAT as it stop right on the museum. There is no admin fee, but donations are welcome. if you love cultures and history of the place you visit then you have to spend a bit of your time here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    120
    62
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Quick visit over a couple of hours. Best display of the natural history of the world since the Big Bang I have seen. Amusing gimmick at the end of the timeline I won't spoil. Very good special exhibition right now about the Stolen Children. Very moving and worthwhile display of this important chapter in Australian social history.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nudelmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A wonderful family outing.”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

As grandparents from Eastern Australia we took great pleasure in taking our daughter and our 4 granddaughters to the Western Australian Museum. There was a Dinosaur Display which was spectacular, intriguing and educational on as well. Granddad forked out lots of money for us to see the exhibition which was well worthwhile. A delightful day for all of us ages 70 down to 8!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonah, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“New and ancient history side by side”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The museum can be easily found by catching a blue CAT bus. Entry is free though they would appreciate a $5 donation. There is a wonderful exhibit on the Aborigines of Western Australia. I loved the drawers in the education centre that you could pull out and discover new things. Kids would love this. the buildings are a mix of old and new but very interesting architecture in the older parts.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Great exhibits and lovely cafe”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I visited this museum in 2010 while my husband was in Perth for a conference. I was lucky enough to be in Perth at the same time as the special exhibit of Pompei. Although there was a charge to visit this, the rest of the museum was free to explore after. I stopped for morning tea at the lovely café and continued throughout the museum. The Pompei exhibit was so interesting and informative. Congratulations to the museum for displaying such a wonderful exhibit!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Just-Julie-Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Australian Museum - Perth also viewed

 

Been to Western Australian Museum - Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing