We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Gold Pouring”
Review of The Perth Mint

The Perth Mint
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.64*
and up
The Perth Mint: Guided Heritage Tour and Gold Pour
Ranked #4 of 164 things to do in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Perth Mint Gold Exhibition has recently undergone a major renovation to upgrade the visitor experience. One of Western Australia's leading tourist attractions, The Perth Mint offers a unique combination of activities, exhibitions and demonstrations, enabling visiting to experience the astonishing allure of gold.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting Gold Pouring”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I went during the renovation period, which is only $5 entry. You got to hear the history of finding gold in WA and also see how gold is poured and molded. Quite interesting.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    969
    758
    222
    32
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
212 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A good history lesson”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We visited The Perth Mint during renovations and were disappointed that there was nowhere to get a coffee and something to eat. We paid to go on a tour of the mint and watch how the gold was poured and made into ingots. The presentation was very enjoyable and informative with a bit of humour thrown in, but there was a bit of waiting around. At one point the groupof us were left to find their own way and had to hang around not knowing what to do. It would be better to assign someone to stay with the group whilst the presenter goes to prepare for the gold pour.
Worth the visit just to here about the history of the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank coopsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,439 reviews
850 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 606 helpful votes
“Entertaining and Educational”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Naturally there is a large shop selling the coins and medals minted on site but the tour is a must and very entertaining. The presentation starts on the half hour from 09.30am and the guide for the first part, Chris gave an amusing but very informative talk on the history of the first discoveries that started the gold rush using "golden" reproductions. Then on the hour we moved into the area where an excellent presentation by Bryce resulted in a genuine gold bar being produced before our very eyes. We will not spoil the secret of what happens to the bar after the tour ends! The Mint gardens and statues make an attractive setting and there are clean toilet facilities on site

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bsandrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Liquid gold-oh my”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was the most fascinating tour I have ever taken. The supporting exhibits are nice but the highlight is the actual tour inside the old mint room. They describe the process of what went on making gold bars in this historic room and then they do it right in front of you. As he wears tons of protective gear the guide walks us through the process and then before our very eyes pours the liquid gold into the form and in a minute or so, it was in his bare hands. Fascinating process!!! And my oh my, how pretty liquid gold looks. I would do this tour again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SFLollyPopCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“interesting place”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I visited the Perth Mint early morning as it was just less 15 minutes walking from where I stay. This place is small, quite and well maintained. You can see the current minting operations through some windows. There is a big shop, you can purchase gold, silver, platinum etc and speciality coins, also your will find a lots of lovely souvenir there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Perth Mint also viewed

 

Been to The Perth Mint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing