We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done”
Review of The Perth Mint

The Perth Mint
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.47*
and up
The Perth Mint: Guided Heritage Tour and Gold Pour
Ranked #4 of 167 things to do in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Perth Mint Gold Exhibition has recently undergone a major renovation to upgrade the visitor experience. One of Western Australia's leading tourist attractions, The Perth Mint offers a unique combination of activities, exhibitions and demonstrations, enabling visiting to experience the astonishing allure of gold.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well done”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is not your average attraction. No rides, no big views or concerts, just gold. I'm interested in gold as value and as jewelry (of course!). The lecture was interesting and seeing how gold stored and cared for. Unless you are Scrooge Mc Duck (Donald's uncle) seeing those gold bars is not all that exciting, but it was pretty cool just to look at all that money in one place. Do pick up the gold bar. It is heavier than I expected.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spotlightonyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    989
    771
    224
    32
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hold a $200,000 gold bar”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

One of the coolest things they have on display in the vaults of the Perth Mint is an actual gold bar reportedly worth $200,000. It's of course locked inside a high-security glass case, but there is a small hole where you can slide your arm inside to have a go at lifting the 12.5kg golden wonder. It's worth visiting for this experience alone.

Touchable bullion aside, there's an abundance of nuggets, coins, medals and other such sparkly ornamentals available for your viewing pleasure on the tour, which I would highly recommend. I visited during a period of renovation but they offered a discounted tour price to make up for the inconvenience. It turned out to be more interesting than I thought. Included in the tour price was a brief talk about the history of the building, followed by a self-guided tour of the vaults and then a fascinating gold-pouring presentation in the old furnace room.

Following the tour there is the opportunity to browse through the on-site jewellers where you can consider purchasing a glimmer of Perth-Minted gold for yourself.

It would be nice to see the exhibition after the renovations are complete, but don't let that stop you. You won't be disappointed :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank danschaumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing great”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The exhibition area is free to view but you need to pay for the guided tour, which includes a demonstration in the melt house. The tour begins with a short lecture on the history of mining in Australia, followed by a visit to a mock-up of an old gold-prospecting site which depicts a tattered tent, the rudimentary tools which were used in the old days, and models of giant gold nuggets which have been discovered in the country. This is the only place inside the building where you can take photos, nowhere else. Gold nuggets are displayed in glass enclosures in rooms nearby.

I found the experience mildly interesting in parts (the lecture and the demo in the melt house) but quite dull on the whole. I guess it just depends on your interests. I suggest that you first walk around the exhibition area (which is free) and then decide if you want to pay for the tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Horned-Owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

As there is not alot of tourist Destinations in Perth, we decided to drag our jet lagged selves to the Perth Mint. The demonstration about making a gold bar was interesting, although the man looked board as he did it 6 times a day. There were many gold bars on show, however these were in small rooms- not big enough to fit everyone in without a bit of a squeeze.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HELIBREW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well kept and so interesting”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

If it wasn't for the rain we would never have gone here. So glad that we did. It is in pristine condition and was SO interesting. Definitely recommend it !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Perth Mint also viewed

 

Been to The Perth Mint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing