We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for business traveller”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra on Hay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on Hay
Ranked #29 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect for business traveller”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

As with all the Mantra suites I have stayed in, the rooms were clean, spacious and well presented. Good quality toiletries provided (I love the lemongrass soaps). Well equipped kitchen, so great for extended stays. Location suited me well because I like a decent walk but it is about 15 minutes brisk walk to the Mall. Check in was adequate. The reception staff were not particularly helpful and did not explain the property facilities.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Kim R

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Mantra On Hay, I'm delighted to hear you find our suites clean, spacious and well equipped. it is great to hear you have stayed in other Mantra suites and find them all of a good standard.
I'm sorry to hear of the service you received on your arrival, this is something I will be raising with our Front Office Manager and team, to ensure a high standard of service is provided to all our valued guests.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra On Hay in the future.

Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    381
    179
    69
    52
See reviews for
303
242
44
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

Whether single with friends or a family this is a great location in Perth to stay. I had an apartment as I was visiting family and it made it possible for them to come into the city and stay with me. Besides that you can walk everywhere, if you like walking, in this beautiful clean city. The river is close by which is a great location to walk along and will take you to the bell tower and ferries to South Perth. Or you can stroll into the city and along the way see lots of little restaurants where you can stop for breakfast, lunch or dinner or just a coffee.

The apartments are very well spaced and extremely clean with a fully functional kitchen and small laundry. Great if you are staying for awhile and don't always want to go out for meals. There is a 24/7 supermarket around the corner on St George's Terrace (turn left outside and then left again at Bennett St) and an IGA further along Hay street (again turning left outside the hotel) towards the city. In the city itself are two Woolworth supermarkets if you really want to stock up big. Across the road and also if you turn left down Hay once you are outside the hotel are a couple of great little cafes which serve delicious coffee. The restaurant in the hotel seems ok but if you are adventurous go out and enjoy the many places to eat and drink nearby.

Tip for those who don't feel like walking there is a red cat bus (free) which takes you into the city. When you are on Hay street turn left and cross Bennett street and you will find the bus stop for the red cat bus.

Room Tip: If you are just after a hotel room make sure that they do not put you on the ground floor. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Cea L

Thank you for writing such a detailed and positive review on your recent stay with us here at Mantra On Hay, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and were able to have family visit in our spacious apartments.
It's fantastic to read your experience of our great city and how our location assisted in the ease of getting around.
Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra On Hay and Perth in the near future.

Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Well located hotel in the city close to restaurants, shopping and on the CAT bus route. The room was clean, although nothing special and the staff on site were friendly. Would stay again due to the good central location.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Trevor9000

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us here at Mantra On Hay, I am delighted to hear you found our location handy to all the fantastic local restaurants and on the free CAT route through the city.
I'm pleased to read your room was clean and our staff friendly, I will be sure to pass this feedback on to our teams.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Go elsewhere! Not sure if it's just Perth but customer service at the mantra Perth is non existent.
Girls on reception just rude- no explanation on services and couldn't really care.
Got kicked out if the bar at 9pm but all I was after was a cold beer after a long flight. No snacks at bar, that was just too hard as well.
No wifi either.
Over priced and over rated !!
Room was ok.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank NeverBloodyHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear NeverBloodyHome

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay here at Mantra On Hay, and I am truly disappointed you did not enjoy your time with us.
I encourage you to contact me directly to discuss in further detail your experience so I can address team members both on the front desk and in our restaurant regarding this.

I look forward to hearing from you and hopefully have the chance to welcome you back to Mantra On Hay to provide you with the service all our valued guests should receive.

Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laverton, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed here for a week whilst visiting family in Perth. The room was nice. The gym was really good. The open shower was an issue due to water getting everywhere and not really draining properly. Our bed was not made up correctly as the sheet finished 60 cms before the end of the bed and our feet were on mattress protector. despite letting reception know about it housekeeping did not correct the problem until we rang again to have it corrected. Also had to use street parking one night as the secure parking was full despite us paying $25 a day for parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
"Dear Chelsea H
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay with us here at Mantra On Hay in July, I'm sorry to hear of your experience with the shower and sheeting issues. I assure you this will be passed on to our housekeeping team to ensure it does not happen in the future.
I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your room and were able to take advantage of our rooftop gym facilities.
It's unfortunate that you were unable to park your car for one night due to availability and I hope our team assisted by advising the closest parking areas or other options.
Thank you again for your feedback, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra On Hay in the future.

Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Some what disappointing. Although the guest book advise all rooms are serviced daily and every third day a full service is undertaken.....two days without the basic service is unacceptable.

On the occasions I went to breakfast at the hotel, they were often cold.

Location is good. I did not use the Wi-Fi due to the cost and easy availability of free Wi-Fi at other venues close by.

Room is reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Kevin R

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us here at Mantra On Hay, it's regrettable to hear you did not enjoy some aspects of your stay.
I'm sorry to hear your room was not serviced for two days as it is our policy to service daily. Please be assured I will be investigating this with our Housekeeping Department.
I encourage you to contact me directly to discuss your concerns.
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra On Hay for any future visits.

Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Welcome to perths accomodation where everything is what i call "miners priced", staff are generally well behaved and well mannerd and beds and all that important stuff are generally sleepable if thats even a word. Pros of mantra on hay-
We stayed in a bdrm apartment room on the ground floor it was pleasant.
-kitchen clean and well kept
-bedding was well kept and comfy
Appliances handy
-staff presentable and welcoming alsp helpful

Cons-
-small tv but really? Is that even a con this is perth not dubai.
-couches uncomfortable.. And again is that even a real con considering my couch at home isnt too comfy either.
-parking we justt only just got a parking underneath

All in all id reccomend a stay here wether for a long haul or a short day stay. Mantra on hay is value for its buck. "This is perth" people! Its never been fancy in the accom department.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaos03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Kaos03
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us here at Mantra On Hay, I'm delighted to hear you would recommend us for a long haul or short stay.
Our recently refurbished apartments are spacious and well equipped for all your needs and it's great to hear you found the apartment clean and comfy.
We will continue to ensure our apartments meet and exceed our guest expectations and thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Mantra on Murray
#27 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Crowne Plaza Perth
#21 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Hay

Property: Mantra on Hay
Address: 201 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Perth
#28 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Hay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the eastern side of Perth's CBD, perfect for business and leisure travellers alike. Located on the eastern side of Perth's CBD, Mantra on Hay Perth is close to several of the city's major local attractions. Mantra on Hay Perth offers guests Hotel Rooms and 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all stylish and well-appointed with some featuring private balconies. Apartments have fully-equipped kitchens, bathroom and laundry facilities, lounge and dining areas. Guests will enjoy the on-site leisure facilities including a rooftop swimming pool and gym equipment. Cornerstone Bar & Kitchen is conveniently located onsite and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. If multicultural cuisine and vibrant bar and nightlife are on your wish list, you will also find Perth's burgeoning dining precinct a short stroll away. Mantra on Hay Perth is an ideal base for business and leisure travellers visiting the lively city of Perth. Haig Park, the WACA cricket ground, Gloucester Park, Burswood Casino, the sparkling Swan River and lush Queens Gardens are all within easy reach as are Wellington Square and a host of boutique stores for premier shopping. Ideally located near Perth's CBD and tourist attractions, Mantra on Hay Perth is the perfect place to spend a relaxing break away or convenient base for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Hay Perth
Mantra On Hay Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing