We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,579)
Filter reviews
1,579 results
Traveler rating
484
645
270
101
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
645
270
101
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo bedroom apartmentfree red cat buseast perthsecure parkingperth mintwashing machinecity centreacross the roadfree busesbuffet breakfastswan riverwacaroomylaundrysupermarketdryeraustralia
Filter
Updating list...
1,362 - 1,367 of 1,579 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights on a business trip.I was reassured by the previous reviews that said renovations were now complete, plus the pricing while we were there was pretty reasonable. Not cheap but not the most expensive either - Perth can be a very difficult place to get a hotel room at a reasonable price. We had a two bed apartment, plenty of room for two people, for sure. Decent balcony too. Looks like all the walls have been repainted but you can see some of the original wear showing on door frames skirting etc. Must have been pretty shabby before so the renovations were definitely needed. New, fully equipped kitchen (very nice), bathroom looked like it had had a bit of a make-over but not new (good enough though), furniture looked "original" (OK). Carpet looked fairly new but had lots of bad staining - probably not bad enough to need replacing but it did let the room down a bit. Must have had some messy people in there previously. We requested and got a high floor room at the front looking out on Hay Street - the best I think. The back of the hotel faces over car-parks so the view is definitely not so good. While we were there, parking was absolutely no problem, plenty of spaces each night. Restaurant does a very good breakfast, don't know about dinner as we always cooked or went out but I'd think it would be pretty nice too. Staff were all pleasant and helpful. I'm giving it 4 out of 5, probably this is a bit more than it deserves but the large recently renovated apartment; and the competitive pricing gets it over the line. I gets the job done. The next time we go to Perth I'll consider it again, if I can get it a decent price we'll stay there.

Room Tip: High floor (6 - 8 floor), front of the hotel, on Hay Street have the best view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RocketRobin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear RocketRobin2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us here at Mantra On Hay, and it was excellent to read our refurbishment has made an improvement for our valued guests. We are focussed on providing a quality product for our guests and appreciative constructive feedback for this purpose.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra On Hay in the future.

Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This hotel was chosen for us by our travel agents. We stayed here for for 2 nights. We arrived very late and at first sight was not overly impressed. The smell of paint was very strong. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a balcony which was adequate for our stay. The one bedroom had twin beds and the other a king size. We had breakfast in the restaurant which was not over priced and had a good choice. Not a particularly attractive location but fairly central. The swimming pool is a bit on the small side and is on the top floor but not in the open. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Can't say really as we only saw the apartment.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuenBrianSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear SuenBrianSolihull

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us here at Mantra On Hay, and I am sorry to hear of the strong paint smell from our refurbishment upon your arrival.
I am pleased our selection for buffet breakfast was suitable for you and not over priced.

I am delighted to pass on your positive feedback to our staff.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra On Hay in the future.

Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Renovation is fully completed at time i checked in march 2014. so was much at ease after reading the negative reviews. stayed in two bedroom apartment and moved to a hotel room after friends left. - renovations is not much to wow about and good for now while it is still new. quality of materials does not seem to be able to last a couple of years.
- two bedroom apartment a lot more spacious than the hotel room which was very cramp with oversized sofa and lack of space to put two pieces of luggage comfortably. living room with flat screen and balcony. view was ok.
- hotel room only has a king bed, no separate twin or double. for the apt, there was a queen in one room and two twins in the other room. mattresses were creaky and sleep was not that great for me but my room mates have no problem. personally i prefer firmer mattresses.
- service is perfunctory and is not bad, nor particularly good. ok i suppose. perhaps could be a bit more friendly. but were helpful with information nonetheless.
- stayed at frasers suite a few months ago and for the price paid, it was much more value for money in terms of quality, amenities, service and views. But the location of mantra is a lot more convenient. hard to find eating places around frasers.
- had no problems with parking as it was low season
- location is good as there are plenty of eating places although very quiet at night
- can take the free cat bus just a few metros away to cbd and hay street area. but returning cat is a walk up the street.
- cafe on site was good. enjoyed the italian cafe down the street and also the restaurant across (comfort hotel)

would i stay there again? maybe. for the convenience but not really for enjoyment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazylion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear crazylion1

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us here at Mantra On Hay. We always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us maintain and improve our standards, as well as meet and exceed guest’s expectations.
Thank you for bringing to our attention some concerns within the rooms and the service standard received. I will be raising these concerns with our team to ensure we provide exceptional service at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra On Hay in the future.

Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

At first sight this hotel was not spectacular and from the smell of paint it was going through a refurbishment program. Our apartment was huge, well furnished and clean and the restaurant for breakfast and dinner very good and not overly expensive. The location is not particularly attractive but ideal for the free bus service into Perth, try to visit the Perth Mint which is within walking distance. The reception service was efficient and friendly, all in all we were very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a refurbished room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear keeling883

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us here at Mantra On Hay and I am pleased you found the apartment to be well furnished and clean. Our apartments are a large and spacious to suit all your travel needs.
It's great to read you enjoyed our restaurant, Cornerstone, for breakfast and dinner. I'm delighted you were able to utilise the free Perth CAT bus service and experience the local attractions just a short walk away.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra On Hay next time your travel plans bring you to Perth.

Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here three times in the last year and must say ive enjoyed it more and more each stay. My first stay almost put me off forever with cleanliness way below satisfactory. This was dealt with in a professional manner. Service and staff are generally very good and friendly. Latest refurbishment makes a big difference, the new kitchens are great and we'll equipped. Only a shame to have replaced the stove top with only two small hot plates, but I can work around that. Breakfast downstairs is good but I wouldn't both again with dinner in the restaurant. Cafe ittalia up the road a little on the left is good meal. Good serviced apartments in a good location.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian E, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear C W

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent business trip here at Mantra On Hay. I am delighted to hear your experience improves each time you visit Perth.
I am pleased our newly refurbished apartments make a big difference and are well equipped for your needs.
It's disappointing to hear you would not bother with our restaurant, Cornerstone and encourage you to contact me directly to discuss what we can do to enhance the dining experience for our guests and visitors.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra On Hay in the future.

Kind regards
Gillian Edwards
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews