We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel has an indoor pool on the top floor”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra on Hay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on Hay
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This hotel has an indoor pool on the top floor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last night. The receptionist gave us a lovely welcome. We called to see if we could possible book in earlier than the usual 2pm time and it wasn't a problem. The temperature was a shocking 41deg, so we were looking forward to cooling of in the pool. It was indoors with windows all around on the upper floor. It wasn't humid, no chlorine smell and nice not to worry about sunscreen. Our room was a 1 bedroom nice, clean and modern. We actually only live a 10min drive away. We only booked it because we had Agoda points that were a day from expiring. But we loved our little break on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hi tony127

Thank you for sharing your experience whilst staying with us here at Mantra on Hay. Yes, our open aired rooftop pool is quite the treat on the sweltering days like we have just experienced. Being so close to the city we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future or maybe just to dine in our restaurant or a chilled beverage.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    382
    181
    69
    52
See reviews for
304
243
44
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Spent a night with another couple in a 2 bed 2 bath apartment. Spacious clean quiet and very helpful and friendly staff. Its all about expectations, and all of these were met, when considering price etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hi Nick M

Thank you for taking the time to convey your experience whilst staying with us here at Mantra on Hay. I am pleased to hear we met your expectationsand hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I recently holidayed in Australia where we stayed at this hotel in Perth. Generally we found the reception staff very helpful and eager to assist where they could. The breakfasts in the restaurant were very good and the food although buffet style was always hot and well presented.
We had a one bed roomed apartment in the hotel and although comfortable the decor needed updating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dws316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi dws316

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

10 days staying at the Mantra on Hay while here on work was a very good selection. From check in until departure the service was excellent. My bags delievered to my room, lights and cooling turned on for my return. Wake up calls and taxis booked for the requested time. Quiet and clean, and one of the few with a small veranda for sitting in the sun. 10-15 minute walk to the malls and just over a block to the Swan River. Mulitiple choices near by for dining or takeaway and close to a supermarket for items to cook my own. Short distance to the red cat bus (free).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi Fred007_11

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Arrived early, for one night. A young man was happy to come out with a trolley and keep our 6 bags until later. We returned at 2.30pm to check in, and were told our bags already in our room, waiting for us. (Not having the tip culture in Australia, he had been happy to put them in our room before we arrived.) Room 603 on Floor 6, (twin requested) turned out to be a 2-bedroom apartment with a superking and a queen, one shower room, open-plan lounge, full kitchen with dishwasher,etc, dining area with 4 chairs, balcony onto Hay St, with small table and 2 plastic chairs. Cupboard with a washer and drier, iron and ironing board. After settling in, we went to the rooftop pool on level 8. Quite small, but the 3 people who were in it all left after a wee while. 5 pieces of gym equipment at one end. Open to a small balcony, with great view over rooftop and of the jacaranda blossoms. Bed : Softer mattress than we are used to and firmer pillow. Noisy in night, mostly from the A/C on top of the Blue Rock Café, I think. It was quite hot and we had our own noisy A/C on for a while - and left the bedroom door open all night. Didn't sleep all that well, but otherwise more than satisfied with everything.

Room Tip: Higher than floor 6 might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hi eleanola

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the young man that assisted you.

We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment. Check in was quick and friendly. We booked the incorrect bed configuration and this was brought to our attention and another room providid at check in. Karen on reception is lovely, extremely personable. Breakfast was very average, as was the service that accompanied it. We stayed on the fourth floor, halls and room were musty. Beds were comfortable

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbell234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported from the restaurant and our Food & Beverage Manager will certainly address this with her staff.

On a positive note it pleases me to hear of your praises for Karen at reception of which I will ensure Karen receives.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Mantra on Murray
#28 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Crowne Plaza Perth
#20 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Hay

Property: Mantra on Hay
Address: 201 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Perth
#29 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Hay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the eastern side of Perth's CBD, perfect for business and leisure travellers alike. Located on the eastern side of Perth's CBD, Mantra on Hay Perth is close to several of the city's major local attractions. Mantra on Hay Perth offers guests Hotel Rooms and 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all stylish and well-appointed with some featuring private balconies. Apartments have fully-equipped kitchens, bathroom and laundry facilities, lounge and dining areas. Guests will enjoy the on-site leisure facilities including a rooftop swimming pool and gym equipment. Cornerstone Bar & Kitchen is conveniently located onsite and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. If multicultural cuisine and vibrant bar and nightlife are on your wish list, you will also find Perth's burgeoning dining precinct a short stroll away. Mantra on Hay Perth is an ideal base for business and leisure travellers visiting the lively city of Perth. Haig Park, the WACA cricket ground, Gloucester Park, Burswood Casino, the sparkling Swan River and lush Queens Gardens are all within easy reach as are Wellington Square and a host of boutique stores for premier shopping. Ideally located near Perth's CBD and tourist attractions, Mantra on Hay Perth is the perfect place to spend a relaxing break away or convenient base for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Hay Perth
Mantra On Hay Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing