We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pan Pacific Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
$161
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sullivans Hotel(Perth)(Great Value!)
$83
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parmelia Hilton Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
$96
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel(Perth)(Great Value!)
$95
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fraser Suites Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
$117
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Miss Maud Hotel(Perth)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Duxton Hotel(Perth)(Great Value!)
$163
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pensione Hotel Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
$69
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Four Points by Sheraton Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
$108
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,543)
Filter reviews
1,543 results
Traveler rating
470
632
264
100
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
632
264
100
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo bedroom apartmentfree red cat buseast perthfull kitchensecure parkingperth mintwashing machine and dryercity centreacross the roadfree busesbuffet breakfastpublic transportswan riverwacaroomysupermarketlaundry
Filter
Updating list...
1,420 - 1,425 of 1,543 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2012

A/c filter was filthy. A/c so noisy it you could hardly hear tv at full volume, no way could you sleep through the noise and it has been over 30 degrees each day. Cutlery was dirty, dryer did not work, shower walls mouldy, hole in wall and noticeable patching throughout bathroom. Oven took 1hr to warm up, no oven trays in room. Outdoor table and chairs filthy. Tv reception poor, no freeview. Reported all issues to reception, friendly but no remedy to core a/c issue or other less critical issues. Unfortunatley still here for another 2 nights if anyone from management are interested feel free to do something more than just respond to this posting.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jbdb2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Hi Jbdb2006

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the delayed response as it was not intentional.

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. We do have a scheduled maintenance programme in place and it was unfortunate that we had not completed your room prior to your arrival.

I have spoken with the respective managers regarding the points made by you, who will ensure action and additional training take place.

Jbdb2006, I hope that we will be able to accommodate you in the future and provide the experience that meets your expectations.

Regards

Simon Ruri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We recently stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment after researching and reading many reviews I was pleasantly surprised and happy with our choice. The beds were very comfortable, the apartment was quiet and clean, facilities were very good, swimming pool very inviting and staff were very helpful and friendly, I would definitely stay again and reccommend this establishment to my friends.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms reccommended
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reduja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Hi Reduja

Thank you for taking the time to express your gratitude with regards to your recent stay with us here at Mantra on Hay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This was our first accommodation on a trip around western australia and the most expensive and easily the worst. Staff friendly enough but room dreadful. Oddly tucked away behind a set of other doors that were being painted whilst we were there, it was more like a closet. Watching out for the wet paint the room was small and dark. It had a little window at the end looking over some roofs with just enough room for a bed. Very basic all round including bathroom and all very dingy. Breakfast was poor with not much on offer although they did rustle up an espresso. At the end of the trip stayed at the Seasons of Perth which was far superior all round and just over half the price. Go for Seasons - or Rydges which is good - and avoid the Mantra to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy121066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Andy121066

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. As an older 4.5 star property some of our facilities and fixtures are a few years old, however clean and in good working order, therefore I regret the shortcomings in not meeting your expectations. As mentioned in other responses we are progressing through scheduled maintenance to enhance the overall presentation of our property. I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

very helpful staff here at this well situated apartment hotel, but the room was disappointingly shabby and the kitchen and bathroom needed an update. We would have liked to have been able to open the window in the bedroom and a flyscreen on the balcony door. Also, it's irritating to have the fridge stuffed full with minibar things which I had to remove to put my stuff in. The bathroom light needs a new bulb and the shower is a farce in this day and age. But overall we had a good stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannybHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

grannybHertfordshire

I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the standard of the room that you were allocated. The apartments are currently scheduled for a refurbishment; this will enhance the overall presentation of the rooms and also the guest experience.

I understand your frustrations in regards to the minibar items. This is a brand standard offering and should you return our staff are more than willing to remove these items for your convenience.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 couples and were willing to pay average of $400 a night for a four night stay. We expected better value for what we received. Pat Rafter's Mate's Rates - I don't think so! What a joke.

The room was tired and we were informed by staff that this room had been listed as in need of refurbishment. Burn holes on the kitchen bench, very noisy plumbing in the kitchen with undrinkable rusty water, lack of overhead lighting, poor lighting in the bathroom, a lamp without light globes, dryer would not work unless you propped the door shut and bathroom tiles in need of replacement.

We found the staff to be helpful, courteous and friendly.

On check-out beware of the 2% surchage for payment by means of any credit card.
When we arrived home and checked our account an incorrect amount had been debited to our credit card and after a number of emails this was rectified.

I think we will give any Mantra hotel a big miss in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

Hi Sarts

I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the standard of the room that you were allocated. As mentioned in past reviews the apartments are currently scheduled for a refurbishment; this will enhance the overall presentation of the rooms and also the guest experience.

On a positive note, it is pleasing to hear that the staff professionalism and general helpfulness was delivered to you during yourt stay.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews