We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central located Aparthotel”
Review of Mantra on Hay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra on Hay
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Manta on Hay is a centrally located Aparthotel, we had a two bed suite, it was very clean (cleaners came in daily) although it coulds have done with some updating it had everything we needed for our 7 day stay and was clean which was the main thing.
The kitchenette was fully equiped and we cooked meals a few times without any problems, also had a washing machine which as we were doing a lot of travelling was very important to us.
The view from our balcony was onto a court yard, would have been nicer to have had a street view, but as we were out all day it wasn't a problem, but if you are there for a while it would be annoying looking onto a windowless wall..
Mantra had all the usual facilities gym, swimming pool - which we used on a few occassions and found it to be perfect, although the hotel was very quiet when we were there it could be noisy if the hotel was busy as its not a very big area, but we found no problems and it was clean as were the sunbeds and surrounding areas.
The reception staff were lovely,very friendly and helpfull and will answer any questions you have about the area etc.
There is a supermarkert about 5 mins walk away and a small parade of shops with chemist,bottle shop, post office, appx 20 mins walk down the road is the Queen Elizabeth gardens and the waca ground.
It is an appx 20mins pleasant walk to the centre either along the main road and shops or through the gardens by the side of the Swan river.
There are cat bus stops outside the hotel.
The hop on off bus tour is good value for money and if your only in Perth for a short time its the best way to see the city.
A visit to the spectacular Kings Park is a must, a visit at night time to see Perth lit up is even better, then enjoy a drink/meal in the Last Shag bar overlooking the Swan river- perfect end to a long day.
Catch the boat down the Swan river to Freenmantle, visit the prison and do the tour (appx 1 hour) very interesting, stroll around market street then down to the harbour front and have fish and chips then on to the micro brewery for a drink overlooking the river, return back to Perth by train, it is so easy to get around by yourself no need to book excursions and is a lot cheaper and more exiciting.
A visit to Rotness Island is a full day out catch the ferry by the Bell Tower, best to book in advance including any visits or activities, the gun and tunnell tour is interesting.
The Grosvenor about a 5 mins walk fron Mantra is very good for meals well worth a visit.
Perth is a lovely clean safe city lots and lots to do ( depending on how long you are staying), could be worthwhile hireing a car to go to Scarboro', theRock Wave, Monkey Mia etc.
** If you are a senior citizen bus pass holder in England ( over 60.s) take your bus pass with you as you can use it on transport in Perth and also are entitled to the same senior citizens discounts as Australian senior citizens**

Room Tip: When on arrival ask if you can have a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nellie027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed you stay here at Mantra on Hay and hope that we are able to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,174 - 1,180 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed in a two bedroom apartment style room. The space is pretty good, but I thought their furnishings was outdated. The bathroom needs some fixing as I can see mold building up. There is an occasional strand of hair that can be found from previous visitors, but this place didn't seem as dirty as what the previous reviews had mentioned. The beds were comfy so no real complaints here.

I thought the location was too far from the city since you need to walk 15 minutes to get into the main city.

The service was okay as well, though I thought that it was strange that they don't have a luggage room or won't store your luggage for the day securely in a room after check out unlike other hotels I've stayed at previously.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misselaineous1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.
Please accept my apologies that the service you were provided during your stay was inconsistent as we do have storage facilities for guest luggage. The issue has been raised with the respective manager to ensure information is being corresponded correctly.
In relation to the CBD it also disappoints me to hear that you were not notified of the cat bus system which allows free travel to the CBD and back should you decide the walk is not favourable.
Once again my apologies and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed for business. Able to book in early, which was most welcome after an early morning flight from Darwin. Unfortunately, the room had a very bad smell. Tried to open window but could not. Tried the aircon but the remote control was missing. I reported it to the front desk and left for a meeting. Upon return there was still no remote control. Phoned front desk and told maintenance person would be on the way (again). I turned the TV on while I waited only to find that it did not work. Requested a change of room, which to the credit of the staff happened very quickly. New room did not have a desk lamp which made working in the room somewhat uncomfortable. Not a great start to the stay. However, the room was clean and the staff friendly. Some very good eateries close by - Try Mai's Vietnamese and Caffe Italia, both about two minutes walk away. CAT bus stop one minute away so good for getting in and out of the city - also walkable distance.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonandTracyBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the standard of the room that you were allocated. The apartments are currently scheduled for a refurbishment; this will enhance the overall presentation of the rooms and also the guest experience. This being said it does not excuse us of the shortcomings regarding your requests and experience.
I hope that we are able to better meet your requirements on your next visit.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on June 25th and again on July 1st. Everything was meeting our expectation. We booked the room and only bothered to check with the comments in Trip Advisor after. Was so worried as all the feedbacks are mostly negactive, especially when smell was highlighted. We are very particular about cleaniness. So, the whole time, we were all anxious and are almost prepared to live with the reported conditions as we have paid up all the rental.

To our surprise, in fact a very pleasant surprise, our apartment is clean (no unpleasant smell), the toilets are clean (no molds spotted) and the kitchen has no slimy floor, and is quite equipped. We cooked every night during our stay there. No issue with the hot/cold water, which was so important to us during the winter stay. We are so happy to see the condition of the room. TV was a flat screen one and the beds/ linens are clean/ odourless.

The 2 issues we had was the heater, which failed to work on our first night of stay but the reception addressed it immediately. Second was the noises from next door apartment which sounded so closeby to our unit, as though I could hear them from my room. Otherwise, perfect....we have had a happy stay.

Oh yes, a special mention to the receptionist who has attended to us on June 25th (in the morning) and again on July 1st and 2nd. She was lovely and professional!

I will certaily recommend this hotel to my friends who wish to visit Perth in future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sawancourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Simon Ruri
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

They tick most of the boxes just. Nil atmosphere and the hot water is constantly tepid. High price for what you gety - but that's Perth. Have to pay for internet f course $25 per day. Such a ripoff

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank myNameHasBeenUsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, General Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. I have reported this issue to my Maintenance Manager who will address this matter to ensure it is not a reoccurring issue for future guests.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra on Hay.

Regards
Simon Ruri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.. but dont be fooled by the glossy brochures, this place is a dump. Room smelt like vomit , Kitchen floor was slimmey, bathroom was mouldy and not enough towels , toilet cistern was dusty, curtains were stained and ripped. No opening windows and no screen door on to balcony, very noisy air conditionor..
Seriously overpriced for what you get !!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue0617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, General Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I was surprised and disappointed to hear of your experience. Cleanliness is of utmost importance to us and we clearly failed to deliver our usual high standards. I would like to offer my sincere apologies.

We do operate a system that calls for all rooms to be checked for quality and cleanliness before our guests arrive however we have let ourselves down on this occasion. I would also like to reassure you that, based on your feedback, we are taking every possible step to improve our service procedures to ensure that future stays with us will be memorable for the right reasons. I assure you that this is not our usual standard of service and I am confident that if you should choose to join us again you will experience the quality service that Mantra Hotels are renowned for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Things went wrong from the start! Couldn't get my car in to the carpark as it bottomed out on the incline so had to park on the street, we were missing an arm chair, there were no oven trays in the oven and then they charged us for ice. Came back from a night out to find the people above us had the music blaring at 3am! Complained to reception 3 times and in the end slept on the couch to get some peace.
We've stayed here before and it was ok, but its best to get a room up high with a balcony - our balcony overlooked the carpark and was almost on the ground floor so it did not feel very luxurious - more like we were poor cousins!

Room Tip: Request a room up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kardykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRuri201, General Manager at Mantra on Hay, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. In regards to the incline of the driveway we are aware that this is a problem for some vehicles and is something we are looking to rectify. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra on Hay.

Regards
Simon Ruri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Mantra on Murray
#25 of 66 in Perth
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#31 of 66 in Perth
320 reviews
Mercure Perth
#26 of 66 in Perth
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Hay

Address: 201 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Perth
#28 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $95 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Hay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the eastern side of Perth's CBD, perfect for business and leisure travellers alike, Mantra on Hay offers guests Hotel Rooms and 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all stylish and well-appointed with some featuring private balconies, with fully-equipped kitchens, bathroom and laundry facilities, lounge and dining areas. Guests will enjoy the on-site leisure facilities including a rooftop swimming pool and gym equipment. Cornerstone Bar & Kitchen is conveniently located onsite and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Mantra on Hay Perth is an ideal base for business and leisure travellers visiting the lively city of Perth. Haig Park, the WACA cricket ground, Gloucester Park, Burswood Casino, the sparkling Swan River and lush Queens Gardens are all within easy reach as are Wellington Square and a host of boutique stores for premier shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Hay Perth
Mantra On Hay Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing