We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Northbridge Apartments
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed Friday - Sunday it was 6 of us. We had the 3 bedroom apartment it was very comfortable everyone sleep well they all raved about the pillows they thought they were so soft. We went out to Northbridge so the location was perfect we walked down no need to drive and worry about parking. Staff are amazing so friendly and good to talk to. Actual apartment was amazing the decor is modern looks as if its been recently painted and renovated. Wifi didnt work but no biggy cause we didn't come for the wifi. Some of the tv channels didnt work but again we didn't come to watch tv either. A suggestion in the main bedroom might be good if there was a single chair or single seat arm chair to rest bag or clothes on in the corner could be handy.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 107 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

First, the good things - We stayed there for about 2 weeks, and found the service and help to be always friendly and polite. There was a breakfast place right next door, and one could get it delivered. The location was great, it was at the edge of Northbridge, but not quite in the midst of it; it can get pretty noisy and rowdy at night if you stayed any closer. Lots of eateries, as well as clubs and bars to be found within minutes' walk. The free blue-line bus was also right around the corner, and one could pop in it and get a free ride into the heart of town.

We were given a one-room apartment on the ground floor. The first impression: it was pretty shabby looking, with a television that has passed its used-by date and couldn't get half the channels. Air con was blasting noisily and dripping water. Carpet was threadbare, and walls were discoloured.

The bathroom was kept extremely clean, and the kitchenette had the essentials. We received a gift basket from one of our associates in Perth, but the staff got it mixed up and brought it into another room but fortunately it was retrieved in time before another guest signed into that room.

The manager and staff were extremely nice, but I think the entire place needs a makeover. Ah, and having massive roaches crawling around in the middle of the night wasn't fun, and looking at how the cleaner made up the bed the next day was disturbing - she dumped the sheets, duvet, pillows etc, all on the filthy carpet floor whilst setting the bed right, yes, same floor where the roaches had crawled about, and where people trudged about with dirty shoes.

Bed and pillows needed to be upgraded too, and wifi needs to be provided, or at least charge less for the slow broad band service.

Probably will not recommend this to friends, unless all the other hotels are booked!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dudsy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Cockroach infestation noted on entering kitchen and power fused in apartment withine first half hour. Reported roaches and was given own can of bug spray!!
Staff were pleasant and said would do something about roaches but no improvement. Walls dirty and patched, linen old,needs thorough makeover/ paint. Minimal servicing Of room. Spacious but would rather a clean small space.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keyless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here very recently for work in a 3bdrm apartment and to see comments that they have "refurbished" is obviously a complete fabrication! Horrible beds and linen, grotty pillows and poor room service. Rooms are very old and heavily used, that a if you make it to your room by surviving the derelict lift! Give this one a miss!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greentr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment which was extremely disappointing. The carpet was threadbare as you entered and on the stairs and the decor was extremely tired. The bathroom was not very clean and was chipped and damaged. The crockery was not clean when we arrived and all needed to be washed up before we were happy to use it. The kitchen was also dirty and tired. The furniture throughout the apartment was very tired and needed updating. The curtains were very damaged with holes throughout. Light switches on the landing also turned on lights in the upstairs bedroom and generally the light switches were not well placed and didn't seem logical in which lights they controlled - frustrating when a young child is up a lot earlier than other adults staying there!!
The 'servicing' of the apartment was also minimal - the only evidence of servicing was that the covers on the bed were pulled back over the bed - the beds were not made up fully at any point, and the bathroom and kitchen did not generally look like they had been touched.
When booking this accommodation we had been told it was luxury accommodation and would be a very high standard and it was extremely disappointing. We tried to find alternative accommodation but were unable to do so. When we mentioned our disappointment at the level of cleanliness and decor of the accommodation the Receptionist simply denied it!!
From other reports on here I assume not all apartments are as bad as ours, but I am surprised this has such a high rating for what we found to be extremely unpleasant accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gidin, General Manager at Best Western Northbridge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Quest on James is currently undergoing a full refurbishment and can confirm that all the issues raised by this reviewer have been rectified. It is 'extremely dissapointing' as an owner/operator that this reviewer stayed in August 2011 and only now decides to review my establishment which may give the impression to other readers that this is the current state of the apartments at Quest on James. The assesment of the whole property is understaken by the management on an ongoing basis. The issues relating to their stay were rectified in a pro active manner and not in responce to this reviewers comments. I'm not sure why this reveiwer would place such a belated review but I'm pleased to say that they apartment occupied by this guest has been renovated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

After the disaster of staying at the "Sunmoon Resort" in Scarborough in the Perth surburb, I'm moved my family to Quest on James. Clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff, great location. We stayed in a two bedroom self contained unit. Close to restaurants, cafes, and the city. Walking distant to the city or you can simply catch the free bus (blue CAT). It also had secure free parking. Complimentary free news papers, if you're early enough to wander down to reception.

Only one drawback. On weekends, loud techno music booms until early hours of the morning as the location is close to night clubs. So, take a pair of ear plugs. We stayed there about three weeks and I will stay there again if I'm in Perth.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed 5 nights, two adults three teens, 2 bdrm unit, home away from home . Staff were helpful, lots of restaurants to choose from. Loved the free bus service into the city, not too far from the hotel, used them everyday.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wai-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Perth CBD
Quest West End
Quest West End
#45 of 66 in Perth
49 reviews
West Perth
Sage Hotel West Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Northbridge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Northbridge Apartments

Address: 228 James St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia (Formerly Quest on James)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: $117 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Northbridge Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Northbridge Apartments in Perth (formerly Quest on James) offers visitors to Perth relaxed and comfortable serviced apartments, mere minutes from some of Perth's key entertainment establishments. Available to guests are modern one, two and three bedroom apartments that boast a fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities, private balcony or patio area and spacious lounge and dining areas. Onsite there is an outdoor pool and spa and guests also have access to an off-site gymnasium and local restaurant chargeback facilities. Make Best Western Northbridge Apartments your base from which to explore this cosmopolitan corner of the city. Northbridge is the heart of Perth's social scene and within a short distance of the hotel, guests are spoiled for choice with a variety of galleries, cafes, bars, nightclubs, markets and restaurants. The hotel is also close to the CAT, Perth's free local transport, as well as Perth Arena, Kings Park and other Perth attractions. We look forward to welcoming you to Best Western Northbridge Apartments and making your stay in Perth an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Northbridge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing