We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel in heart of city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Perth
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in heart of city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was in Perth for one night and the Pensione was perfect. Walking distance to everything I needed (shops, bus/train). The room was very clean and tidy, very simple modern fit out. Small room but wasn't a concern as I wasn't spending much time in the room. Staff were friendly and helpful. It's not a hotel with all of the extras but perfect for the one night stay.

Room Tip: Higher floor should have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear stephsydney,

Thanks for your review.

I am pleased you found our hotel perfect for you needs.

Should you be returning to Perth in the future we would love welcome you back and please
keep in mind our larger Deluxe Corporate or Premium rooms which are perfect for longer stays.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    508
    136
    29
    15
See reviews for
101
472
220
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Location, cleanliness, service and room size were all perfect. Only problem was that our room had a continual and strong smell of cooking oil which ended up permeating my clothes. If it weren't for this smell (which I suspect is from their kitchen) I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigail36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Abigail36,

Thanks you so much for your feedback.

I am delighted that you found our location, cleanliness, service and room size perfect however I would like to sincerely apologise for the cooking smell you experienced in your room. This issue is currently being investigated and is isolated to only 2 rooms which have now been placed out of order. Our friendly team at reception would have been more than happy to move you to another room if available and I apologise for any inconvenience this caused you during your stay.

We would love to accommodate you again in the future so please contact me directly so I can ensure your next stay is 100% perfect.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at the Pensione on an overnight stay, as I had to leave early next morning. It was so good I stayed there again on my return. It was a very pleasing experience. The staff were ever so friendly, and genuinely caring. Since it has been renovated it has a modern flair, which is refreshing, since a lot of places are still dull and old. The restaurant meals were excellent, my serves were generous, and the presentation was superb.
Overall it is a place that displays presentation, presentation, presentation and friendly,caring service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Maree G,

Thank you for reviewing our Hotel.

I am thrilled that your first stay was so good that you had to come back for some more of our genuine and friendly service and modern flair!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Perth.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I booked this hotel based on other reviews on tripadvisor. This hotel has many good and not so good points. But my overall experience means I will not be booking this hotel again. I'll share my experience and you decide for yourself based on what is important to you.
Pros: Great location - close to public transport, restaurants, all city highlights. The rooms are clean and modern. They are also very quiet (considering it is located next to a pub) and pillows are just right (not massively high/fluffy) . Staff are also friendly. And the price is good considering other prices in Perth CBD.
Cons: bed really needs to be rotated or replaced. I was literally clinging to the side so I didn't keep rolling into the dip. It was so uncomfortable and left me quite stiff and sore. The room we had was TINY - I am surprised not more people have mentioned this but I suspect there are bigger rooms if you pay a bit more. There is no space for your luggage so it is on the ground and blocks entrance to one side of the bed. There is about 1m of space around the bed. The TV also needs to be replaced as the speakers have been damaged. It was ok when the TV was quiet but whenever there was an 'action' scene or loud ads, the speakers cut out or became crackly. And lastly water poured out of the shower recess so that we had to mop it up and wring out a towel several times.
My suggestion is this place would be good for 1 night but not really any more. There are also a few things that could be replaced/repaired in room 610.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muppet_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Muppet_82,

Thank you for providing such a comprehensive review.

I am pleased that you found our location, service, cleanliness and value to be great however I am disappointed you would not consider us for your future accommodation requirements.

If made aware of any concerns a guest may have during their stay we will always try and find a suitable solution. In this instance our Maintenance Manager could have rectified a majority of the items listed in your review and if not a room move could have been provided to you and I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.

We would have welcomed the opportunity to show you our larger Deluxe Corporate and Premium rooms which provide additional space and facilities as these would have been more suitable for your needs.

We would love the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future so please contact the hotel directly so we can ensure the most suitable room is reserved for you.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I was treated to this lovely hotel so I can't really comment on value for money but it is very central to all if Perth' s city attractions and the hotel is small and very welcoming. However I have never stayed in such a small room. So small in fact I could not open my rather large double opening suitcase without impeding my path to the bathroom. Perhaps they cater for people with no luggage but having said that I have never slept in such a luxurious, comfortable bed! I would recommend this hotel but perhaps think twice about which size suitcase you intend to bring.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussieinrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Aussieinrome,

I am delighted that you found the hotel central and your bed luxurious and comfortable. Our standard rooms are indeed cosy and compact and are perfect for the solo traveller for 1 to 2 nights. We recommend our larger Deluxe Corporate and Premium rooms for longer stays or corporate guests as these rooms feature more space, larger working areas and additional storage for luggage.

We would love to welcome you back to the hotel in the future so please don’t hesitate to contact the hotel directly.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Service was friendly & very helpful in organising our tours throughout Perth. It was nice returning to our room that had been cleaned & bed made. Perfect location for our day tripping. The convenience of Rest/Bar was appreciated after a big day out. Food and service was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Carolyn B,

Thanks you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is fantastic that you found the location perfect for you to explore the city and that our friendly and helpful team were able to assist with booking some tours.

We would love to welcome you back when you next return to Perth.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

First time to Perth and couldn't have picked a better location. The restaurant next door closes at 9 and I was in my PJs and was still hungry. Called reception who gave me a few options but my response was I just feel like garlic bread. She said she'll call Pizza Hut and organise it and said I'm happy to pick it up at the lobby. Within 5-7 minutes she went outside, picked the garlic bread, paid for it, brought it up to my room and charged it to my room. Talk about service!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gyney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Gyney,

Thanks for your review.

I am pleased we were able to abate your hunger by organising a late night snack for you. We can certainly relate to relaxing in your PJ’s and not wanting to go anywhere!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Perth

Property: Pensione Hotel Perth
Address: 70 Pier St | Cnr of Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly The Pensione Hotel )
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Perth
#5 Business Hotel in Perth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#11 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaming on the corner of Pier and bustling Murray Street is an attractively refurbished 98 room gem on the doorstep of the best that Perth has to offer. You’ll find the free central bus, Perth station, streets lined full of shops for retail therapy and endless dining options at your fingertips – so you can make the most out of your trip.The Pensione Hotel has undergone an extensive refurbishment stamping it with the fresh signature style you’d expect to see from the Pensione brand. Warm white walls, tufted leather headboard, soft neutral carpet, luxuriously thick curtains, crisp white linen and exceptionally comfortable pillow-top mattresses will turn your room into a cosy oasis for the frequent corporate traveller, quick getaway or adventurous holiday.Equipped with your everyday in-room necessities, you also have full access to the independently owned My Place Bar and Restaurant menu serving all your favourite dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Pensione team are at your every beck and call to offer you the personalised and professional service we know you’d love see and expect from a boutique property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pensione Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aarons Hotel Perth - By 8 Perth
Perth Aarons Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing