We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Perth
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The location was great, very central. We stayed three nights, including a Friday and Saturday night, and although the joint was jumping downstairs, it was quiet in the room. The bed was also very comfortable.

Close to shopping areas, ferries and Kings Park. Lovely and clean, and very friendly and helpful staff.

Great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebsHobart_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear DebsHobart_Australia,

Thank you for such a positive review on the hotel.

It is fantastic to see our guests enjoying the central location with shopping, transport and the beautiful king’s park all within a short distance from our front doors.

We are pleased to hear you were able to escape the downstairs noise and trust you had a pleasant sleep with the comfort of our beds and I have passed on your kind words regarding the team.

Please contact us directly when you next plan to visit Perth city as we love to welcome back return guests.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,332 - 1,338 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Our stay in this hotel was very good overall. We stayed from the 12th of December to the 16th. We had a few minor hiccups regarding a misunderstanding about room service and a couple of other very tiny quibbles but these were vastly outweighed by the good points of the Pensione Hotel.

We found the bed to be extremely comfortable and both of us slept soundly. The fact that 4 pillows were provided by default was great as one often has to ask for more than the standard two supplied in other hotels. The room was very tiny but with some creative juggling of our stuff we managed. The air conditioning was terrific, cooling the room in no time at all, much appreciated on the very warm days we experienced in Perth.

The bathroom was very clean and well ventilated with fans and the water pressure was excellent, making a refreshing shower there a happy experience. The bathroom mirror was nice and large and the toiletries provided (shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and cake soap) smelled beautiful, a lovely combo of eucalyptus and lemon grass. I could have done with a third towel when I washed my hair because the towels were a little small and quickly became very damp upon use. The towels were nice and soft and very clean though, which is very important.

The reception desk girls provided us with charming silver ice buckets on request and they were much appreciated as the fridge was very small and we could not fit much in there at all but adding ice to our drinks was just perfect.

Check in and check out was very smooth and took no time at all, both procedures accompanied with courtesy and smiles. Being able to leave our luggage at the hotel prior to flying out of Perth was very much appreciated as was being able to have our shuttle bus arranged for us by reception.

The room service menu was quite extensive but the food was a little disappointing in temperature and just a little on the bland side but this is only a very small quibble. There are plenty of eating places nearby to choose from, well within walking distance.

We spent 5 days and 4 nights in the Pensione and had a very nice time there. I would stay here again to enjoy the comfort and cheery reception service and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends. Perth is a lovely city and we look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGirlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear JGirlSydney,

Thank you very much for such a detailed review, it is comments such as these that reinforces our desire to provide the best possible guest experience and to also continually improve our product and services.

We are delighted you were able to enjoy a sound sleep and found the beds and extra pillows comforting, along with the air conditioning and amenities provided.

Thank you very much for the kind comments regarding our team. I am pleased we were able to assist with your onward travels and store your luggage before departing from Perth city.

I would like to sincerely apologise for your experience with room service. We generally receive positive comments about the food and are disappointed this was not the case on this occasion. I have addressed this with the restaurant owner to ensure this improves in the future.

It is wonderful to hear that you will be returning to stay with us on your next visit to Perth city. Please contact us directly when making your reservation as we would love to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Easy check in, nice staff. Room was small but super clean, good Internet and all the silly stuff like TV, bathroom features etc.
Don't understand how the water costs $7.50 a litre but this seems to be this hotels only negative.
Beds super comfortable.
Definitely a place I will reuse as work requires.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddyedward666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear teddyedward666,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

It’s so great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found it to be everything you need including a comfortable bed!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to our beautiful city.

Have a safe and enjoyable Christmas and New Year!

Warm regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Staying at this hotel. Have been here 4 nights already. Yes te rooms are small but as a solo traveller it's fine. Very comfortable beds. All very clean. Girls at the front desk have been lovely. Breakfast at Miss Maud's across the road is very good.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blakjassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Blakjassy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review while staying with us.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our beds very comfortable. We have had so many comments in regards to how wonderful they are and I am so pleased you got to experience them yourself.

I have passed your kind words onto the team. It’s great feedback like this that reinforces our desire to provide our guests with the best possible experience.

We hope you have a very merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Warm regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to going on a cruise.
We arrived at 2pm and our corporate room was ready. I had heard the rooms were small and had asked for a larger room as we had quite a lot of luggage. The room was quite adequate in size but not huge. We had 2 large single beds which were very comfortable.
The décor is modern and being newly refurbished everywhere was clean and fresh.
Location is excellent 2 minutes walk from the central Malls.
We paid for breakfast via the hotel which was across the road at Miss Mauds, the selection of food both hot and cold was excellent and we filled up each morning so we did not need to buy lunch.
Our room over looked the street and we did find it quite noisy, especially on Saturday night/Sunday morning when the night club across the road closed at 5 am.
We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this place to anyone. All the staff we spoke to were very, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindypopsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear lindypopsUK

Thank you so much for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the additional space that our Deluxe Corporate rooms provide was adequate for your needs.

Should you be returning to Perth in the future please contact the hotel directly as we would love to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights recently. Had a good rest and the room was clean and spotless. Though the room was smaller than most hotels, the location was a main plus point. Though no breakfast was provided, the hotel did offer a buffet breakfast at the famous Miss Maud Swedish Hotel at a discount. However, with the many eateries down the shopping street, it is not an issue for me.

The main complaint will be the bit of noise (could be heard from a room on the 3rd floor) from the pub-going crowd on weekends as the hotel is connected to a pub at the ground floor. Other than that, there is not much disturbance.

At times, the hotel seems short-handed but with a bit of patience, all is fine.

Room Tip: Take higher floors if noise is an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limkopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear limkopi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

It’s always great to hear our guest’s enjoying our central location which is so convenient to shopping, dining and transport. We are also delighted to hear that your room was clean and spotless and you were able to “recharge the batteries” while you were with us.

I can certainly appreciate your comments in regards to the noise from My Place Bar and Restaurant and I would like to sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Friday and Saturday nights can get quite busy however the team at reception are always happy to offer a room move away from this area and as you mentioned, we do suggest requesting a higher floor to help minimize any disturbance.

Please contact us directly on your next visit to Perth as we love to welcome back return guests.

Warm regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Our stay was not cheap but was certainly one of the cheapest options in the area. We arrived early morning from Singapore and, as the hotel was fully booked the previous night, had to wait to check in. However, we were given a room by 10.30am which was great and enjoyed a pleasant stay in a clean, modern room with a very comfy bed. There is a good pub next door to the hotel (great) but absolutely no audible pub noise reached our hotel room (even better). The hotel is located smack, bang in the centre of Perth and is a great choice at a very competitive price. Perth centre itself is a little soulless, apart from a few grand old pubs, but is pleasant enough for a few days stay when coupled with a train journey to Fremantle (to visit more old pubs and take in a tour of the old prison, which I would recommend). The train station is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. If you want to save the cost of a taxi or the special airport bus (which is pretty expensive), you can catch a normal bus which runs frequently from the city center to the domestic airport and costs under 5 dollars.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnny_5_bellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear johnny_5_bellys,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. You are definitely well travelled with 81 reviews in 65 cities and it is great to see 60 fellow travellers have found your reviews helpful.

We always strive to ensure every guests stay is as comfortable and care free as possible and I am delighted we were able to provide you with an early check in and you found your room to be clean, modern and the bed comfortable. Our location as you mentioned could not be any more central and thank you so much for sharing your transport tips.

We would love to welcome you back to the hotel should you return to Perth in the future so please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Miss Maud Hotel
#9 of 66 in Perth
938 reviews
Mercure Perth
#26 of 66 in Perth
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Perth CBD
ibis Perth
ibis Perth
#33 of 66 in Perth
1,290 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Perth

Address: 70 Pier Street | Cnr of Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly The Pensione Hotel )
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Perth
#4 Family Hotel in Perth
#4 Business Hotel in Perth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $67 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaming on the corner of Pier and bustling Murray Street is an attractively refurbished 98 room gem on the doorstep of the best that Perth has to offer. You’ll find the free central bus, Perth station, streets lined full of shops for retail therapy and endless dining options at your fingertips – so you can make the most out of your trip.The Pensione Hotel has undergone an extensive refurbishment stamping it with the fresh signature style you’d expect to see from the Pensione brand. Warm white walls, tufted leather headboard, soft neutral carpet, luxuriously thick curtains, crisp white linen and exceptionally comfortable pillow-top mattresses will turn your room into a cosy oasis for the frequent corporate traveller, quick getaway or adventurous holiday.Equipped with your everyday in-room necessities, you also have full access to the independently owned My Place Bar and Restaurant menu serving all your favourite dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Pensione team are at your every beck and call to offer you the personalised and professional service we know you’d love see and expect from a boutique property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pensione Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aarons Hotel Perth - By 8 Perth
Perth Aarons Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing