We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking Distance To Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Perth
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Windang, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Walking Distance To Everything”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Simple, Basic and has everything you need for a carefree holiday, walking distance to perth malls, the train station and the WACA oval. Been there 3 times, and willing to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnknownViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    524
    138
    29
    15
See reviews for
109
488
222
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

The rooms are decent and the location is excellent. Right smack in the middle of CBD Perth. Stayed for 2 nights and overall experience was good.

Took a cab from the International airport to Aaron's hotel, costed us exactly AUD 45.00.

Overall - pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YEWJIN2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batbee123, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear YEWJIN2000,

We are very pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to sharing an even better experience when you return to our newly refurbished rooms which will be finished midyear in 2012. You are absolutely correct, the hotel is right in the middle of the city and central enough that shopping, restaurants and nightlife are a short walk away. You may wish to try the Connect Shuttle from the airport next time you stay as it does offer better rates than a taxi, and our staff can also assist you to book it for you return to the airport.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engadine, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

This is certainly not a luxury resort hotel and is said to be 3 star but was better than some 4 star hotels, in which we have stayed in Europe. Very well located in Perth CBD and handy to tourist spots and main train station. Restaurant had reasonable meals and breakfasts. Breakfast is cheaper,if bought online, when booking. Rooms are said to be small - we had a "de-luxe double room", which is probably larger than some others and was adequate for my better half and I - after all we were only in the room to sleep. We were told by a cabbie that the hotel was a former "women's refuge", thus the small rooms. Reception staff were First Class.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batbee123, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear adshare

Thank-you for your comments, they are most appreciated! As you mentioned we are a 3 star hotel and do not offer as many services as a 4 star but our staff do try their best to go that extra step and help out our guests in whatever way they can. Whether that be helping you book your tours, giving you hints on sights to see, or helping you check-in to your flights on-line, our staff will do whatever they can to ensure your stay is as enjoyable and relaxing as possible.

The hotel itself is centrally located as you found during your stay and does have some interesting and intriguing history. We do recommend that guests staying for a longer period, or who will be staying in their rooms a large amount of their stay, opt for our larger and more commodious deluxe double and premium double rooms. Guests who are spending their days sight-seeing, with us for short stays or working to a budget, have found that our petite and classic double rooms have met their needs quite well.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Booked aarons hotel due to its excellent location to city centre vincinity. Took cab from airport at around aud40+. Bought 2 day trips to mandurah to see dolphin and see fruitfarms, not forgetting the famous caversham wildlife zoo. Overall excellent experience. Note no free parking for this hotel! Outside u can go cafe for full bacon b/f at aud 10

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammie_lee_kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batbee123, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear Sammie_lee_kw

We are glad you enjoyed your experience of Perth whilst staying with our hotel. Our location is certainly central to everything and makes getting around very easy, whether you are seeing local city-bound sights, or sights further afield. We are very close to the main Perth Train Station and only a short walk to the Barrack Street Jetty where you can jump on a ferry to the local zoo or Rottnest Island. Whilst most hotels in the CBD, including ourselves, don’t offer free parking there is plentiful public parking available in secure multi-storey carparks within close proximity to our hotel. The rates for these carparks are similar, and in some cases better, than those offered by hotels and our friendly staff would be more than happy to explain all options available to you.

Warm Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed here basically because there was no place else to stay, due to CHOGM and the Queen's visit. It, like everything else in Perth during that time, was ridiculously expensive. The location was fine, but other than that, there is nothing redeeming to this hotel. Shabby, small rooms and a noisy bar on the ground level. The front desk staff was nice but I felt a little icked out the whole time we were there. You must be able to get more for your money in Perth. Or skip Perth entirely and go straight to Margaret River, where we found a wonderful, deluxe place for the same price as Aarons in Perth.

Room Tip: If you do stay there, try to make sure you are up away from the bar if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MayWhentee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batbee123, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Dear MayWhentee,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are disappointed that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We are pleased to announce that a full refurbishment of the hotel has commenced with the first floor already completed at the end of November. As you have mentioned Perth was extremely busy over CHOGM and all hotel rates reflected this however if you book well in advance you can secure some great deals.

Should you choose to travel to Perth again in the near future, I would love to be given the opportunity to offer you a complimentary upgrade to a newly refurbished Deluxe Room and personally ensure that your second stay is both enjoyable and comfortable.


Kind Regards,
Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I booked this hotel purely for the fact that i wanted somewhere close to walk to NIB Stadium on short notice.
We got there at 8am, after a long overnight flight from Hong Kong. They would not check us into the hotel until around 2pm.
We were sooo tired. They are currently doing refurbishments at the moment and boy they need it!
Our room was crap for the amount we paid.
It was old, a big aircon shoved in the window, the curtains didnt close properly and let all this light. Picture on wall - the glass was cracked and broken, no mini bar, no telephone. had a wake up call by someone knocking on the door. The elevator looks so bad with holes patched up by tape..
yep not good, lets hope the refurb goes well because the location is excellent and the staff are quite friendly too.
But Im sure there is alot better places out there to stay in perth,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batbee123, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Dear Karching,

Thanks for you feedback. We are pleased you found the location of the hotel to be central and close to everything you needed.

We will always endeavour to ensure our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay and I apologise that this was not the case on this occasion. We would have certainly found an alternative solution had we been made aware at the time of your stay.

The refurbishment of the hotel is going extremely well with 1 floor already completed. The elevator you refer to has protective covers installed during the refurbishment and is being used by the contractors. This may look a little out of place but is not the norm and we have notices up explaining this.

I will certainly pass your kind words onto the team and we wold love to welcome you back to experience our new and improved hotel on a future occasion.

Kind Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

A last minute decision to stay in the city, we booked in to Aarons at about 8pm, we chose the Premium King room, Aarons website states the full rate is $310, we were charged $235 (not including breakfast) but even at that price it was way overpriced. Very much a budget hotel definately in need of the renovations they are doing. The shower was broken which was only evident once you got in there (the next morning) so was too late by then to do anything about it, the water only came out in two streams. We advised the staff about the shower when we were checking out, he couldnt have appeared less interested. The room had a small bar fridge but only thing in it was two bottles of water, for a Premium room you would at least expect a couple of juices, softdrinks etc if not a full mini bar. We were woken at about 5am by rubbish trucks and a sea shipping container being unloaded right under our window making it impossible to sleep, we checked out at 7am and went home very disappointed with our stay - we have stayed in much better hotels for less $ (directly across the road Seasons of Perth is a much better choice for less money)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaPerthWA-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batbee123, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Perth, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Dear LisaPerth-11,

It is regrettable that you found your recent stay with us unsatisfactory and we would like to sincerely apologise for this. The service you experienced is not the usual service our guests have come to enjoy.

We would love to welcome you back to experience the new and improved hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Brett Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Perth

Property: Pensione Hotel Perth
Address: 70 Pier St | Cnr of Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly The Pensione Hotel )
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Perth
#4 Business Hotel in Perth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#9 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaming on the corner of Pier and bustling Murray Street is an attractively refurbished 98 room gem on the doorstep of the best that Perth has to offer. You’ll find the free central bus, Perth station, streets lined full of shops for retail therapy and endless dining options at your fingertips – so you can make the most out of your trip.The Pensione Hotel has undergone an extensive refurbishment stamping it with the fresh signature style you’d expect to see from the Pensione brand. Warm white walls, tufted leather headboard, soft neutral carpet, luxuriously thick curtains, crisp white linen and exceptionally comfortable pillow-top mattresses will turn your room into a cosy oasis for the frequent corporate traveller, quick getaway or adventurous holiday.Equipped with your everyday in-room necessities, you also have full access to the independently owned My Place Bar and Restaurant menu serving all your favourite dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Pensione team are at your every beck and call to offer you the personalised and professional service we know you’d love see and expect from a boutique property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pensione Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aarons Hotel Perth - By 8 Perth
Perth Aarons Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing