We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent apartment, but there are better ones.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel
Ranked #30 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent apartment, but there are better ones.”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We chose this apartment because it was quite highly ranked in Tripadvisor. But I am really not too impressed. We stayed here twice throughout our trip to Perth, as we headed down to Margaret River in between.

The first time, we were given an apartment at the Waldorf building,with a view of the road and a duck pond opp. The furnishing is pretty alright and modern, the kitchen is fully equipped and the space is just about right. But other than that, I have nothing to rave about it.

The 2nd time was in the main building, and the apartment furnishing was a little more dated, and the space a little smaller. Cleanliness was about the same as the previous one.

The kitchen and toilet floor was sticky, and the baby cot they gave was a play pen/ portacot, with no mattress. Good thing was that they provided us with blankets to lay the bottom, so that it's more comfortable for our baby.

Location wise wasn't fantastic. It's quite a walk to the city, but there is a cat bus service that can shuttle you to the city.

We had breakfast once at the cafe, and that is actually probably the only thing that was good. The waitress was friendly and the food was actually really good.

It's alright for an apartment, but it's not a place I would return to. Service wasn't anything to rave about too, except for the friendly waitress and this great male front desk trainee from Malaysia.
It's great if you just want a fully equipped apartment, and you are intending to drive around perth anyway (they give you your own parking lot in the secured carpark area), and don't mind a backpackers standard kind of stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuneTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    211
    107
    27
    20
See reviews for
177
148
20
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Capel, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have previously stayed here and had no issue, unfortunately this time round wasn’t the case.
I booked an executive 1 bedroom apartment and was "upgraded" to standard 2 bed apartment.
Room was generally poor condition;
kitchen cupboard and kickboards very shabby and water damaged,
bathroom roof paint peeling and dropping whilst in shower,
king bed was 2 singles pushed together without additional bedding to avoid the gap/join, additional pillows in top of cupboard very dusty.
Staff were very friendly and tried to be accommodating.
Food also reasonably priced and tasty.
I have no issue with outdate décor, however this room clearly needed a little TLC to make it worth the $$ value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed for a night here recently and found the general standard of accommodation fine. Plenty of space and rooms were quiet. No amenities (soap, shampoo etc.) in either of the bathrooms though which was a bit inconvenient. This meant a trip to the handily placed convenience store next door.

Sadly though we would not consider staying here again as the w-fi internet access (surely an essential for most travellers these days) was charged for at outrageous prices - $25 dollars per day for a pretty low maximum data cap. I thought this sort of overcharging for internet use had died out.

So despite some good points, overall our impression was poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pomdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Despite taking what felt like forever to find it, I fell in love with this hotel, Perth and Australia moments within stepping inside.
Huge apartments ideal for familes, central location not far from shops etc, and only a very short walk up to the absolutley beautiful Kings Park.
If I am ever lucky enough to visit Australia again, I will defintley be staying here!
(Travelled in Oct 2011, wouldnt let me go that far back)

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kjduncan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you have a car and need to be close to the centre of Perth, these apartments are good value. It takes about 5 minutes to go to the City centre. The units are a bit aged and some furniture could be a bit cleaner, but it is still very good value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duststorm200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

After reading not so great reviews about hotels in Perth on Tripadvisor I came across this apartment hotel. The reviews were very good to excellent, so I booked for five nights while on a business trip.
The accommodation is excellent - and for Perth standards - absolutely value for money! I've booked an apartment on booking.com that turned out to be huge: two bedrooms (one with a king-sized bed, one with two single beds), a nice lounge, a full kitchen with microwave; a washing machine and dryer as well as a bathroom and a second toilet. Everything is clean and in good condition.
One can walk to town or use the free Blue Cat Bus. I ate at the restaurant only once and was happy with the quality of the food.
Very impressive: when I arrived the water in my toilet did not stop running. One call to reception, and a handyman was there withing 10 minutes and fixed the problem.
All in all an excellent place that is highly recommendable.

Room Tip: I asked for and enjoyed my apartment on the highest (5th) floor. Hardly any traffic noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bineK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

excellent PERTH central water front location, quite yet still very close to the city center.Modern 2 bedroom hotel apartment with kitchen & laundry.Great design, good service and very good value. we stay for a week based on a weekly discout rate which was a bargain for our family overseas holidy. Wis we had this type of family accommodation in the UK so we do not have to pay for 2 hotel rooms while travelling.VERY good facilities in this complex.nice breakfast and dinner service

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galousidora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Sullivans Hotel
#29 of 65 in Perth
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 65 in Perth
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel

Property: Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel
Address: Mounts Bay Waters 112 Mounts Bay Rd | Mounts Bay Village, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Perth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#13 Family Hotel in Perth
#28 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel is situated in the secluded Mounts Bay Village; a sanctuary of landscaped gardens complimented by swimming pools, tennis courts and furnished apartments. The village is located between Kings Park and the Swan River and is the perfect vantage point from where to base your stay in Perth. Located within the city's Free Transit Zone, this allows you the freedom to explore the City easily although for those who enjoy the walk, we are only ten minutes from the bustling CBD or five minutes from the Perth Convention Centre.This contemporary apartment Hotel comprises of one, two and three bedroom, fully self-contained apartments and penthouses which address most of our clients' needs so whether you are on vacation, relocation, a business trip or just a leisurely break from routine, Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel is your ideal accommodation choice when visiting Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mounts Bay Waters Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing