We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic”
Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Perth Hotel
Ranked #58 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed March 31, 2014

One of the worst hotels I have stayed in. The electricals inside the room are all outdated with knobs and switches that hardly worked. The TV looks like a computer monitor with unclear channels. Worst of all was the bathroom floor which was slimy and unkempt. In short, not an ideal place.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank RenishMathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 416 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

It's a few minutes walk to the main shopping area and fast food restaurants, food courts, supermarkets and restaurants are all within walking distances but the noise that we have to endure during the night and early morning nearly wipe out the good part. Despite staying on the 8th floor, we were still able to hear the traffic and the wall was so thin that we could hear those next door. The most unbearable was the noise from the water pipes, we got to know exactly what time our neighbours were up. The wifi also left us frustrated, real slow and hard to connect. Breakfast was a so-so affair. The wall tiles in the shower were quite dirty looking, maybe because of the color. The thing that i like most in the room was the mini boxes of tea bags, they were really cute looking. Staff at front desk was helpful too. Avoid at all cost if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grayee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Excellent location. Good service, organised a shuttle to the airport, held our bags behind reception on our final day. A little reluctant to issue additional tea bags, but can't have everything.
Excellent Breakfast buffet.
The hotel had a little big of a dated feel to it, perhaps a little past its best rather than anything else. Our room featured some sort of 1980's all singing and dancing control unit built into the bed - apparently controlling lights, alarm, radio, air con, tv. None of it worked of course, but it was like being in an aeroplane cockpit. Vrooooom.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirTravelsAlot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Kings Perth Hotel is situated in the central.. easily reached from Perth International Airport within 20-30 mins. And a very central location to most of the tourist attractions.
Had my experience with Kings Perth 14 years back during my holiday to Perth and did not make a mistake in choosing them once again.
Thou the Hotel is credited with 3 stars, the rooms are sufficiently equipped (but furniture are little old).
The best criteria which made me go back to them.. are the friendly staff who are always welcoming and helpful.
Shortcomings that may be looked into, as mentioned re-furnishing would be good to keep up with time/trend. Thou breakfast buffet was good, might consider having a variety or change in menu more regularly (had same dishes for all 7 breakfast except for the main course which was different daily).
And lastly some improvement to the WIFI connection which was very weak thou was available everywhere (lobby/restaurant/rooms).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParamesRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Kings Perth hotel lovely central for everything Train station and to my husband's delight 10 mins from Wicca cricket ground so we saw England Australia The staff at hotel were excellent lovely time great memories Must get back

Room Tip: All good rooms de luxe can't be beaten
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sthelens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had a "deluxe" balcony room which was quite a good size with partial river view bed was comfy but the decor was very 80s and in need of a upgrade. We were on 9th floor so was quiet. Buffet breakfast was ok nothing special.
we were only there one night en rout home.
wifi very very slow almost un useable

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Was initially a little dubious booking Kings Hotel given it was priced a lot less than other hotels in Perth city. We got in late and were pleasantly surprised with what seemed like a renovated room with a very comfortable bed. The Teadrop teas were a very nice touch both in the hotel room and at breakfast. Breakfast which came with the price of the room was a very decent spread including freshly cut fruit. I would have no hesitation staying at Kings Hotel for my next Perth trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nantsa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#57 of 66 in Perth
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
East Perth
Comfort Hotel Perth City
Perth CBD
ibis Perth
ibis Perth
#31 of 66 in Perth
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Perth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Perth Hotel

Address: 525 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Perth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Perth Hotel is one of Perth’s most centrally located 3 star AAA rated hotel properties. Take advantage of the CBD location whatever your agenda, whether it is work, sightseeing and experiencing Perth, shopping on the popular Hay Street Mall or the exclusive shopping precedent "King Street". The convenience of the property being so close to many attractions offers you many opportunities with things to see, do and experience in Perth. The next major factor for your comfort is the spaciousness of all the 116 accommodation rooms. Some are big enough to accommodate 4 persons (maximum of 4 persons per accommodation room) and there are some interconnected rooms (available on prior request and subject to availability). All accommodation rooms feature a new LCD flat screen TV and Movie channel. The hotel features the Kings cafe, which has fantastic view of Hay and Pier streets so you can sit back with your morning breakfast light lunch or drink at the end of the day and watch the hustle and bustle happen right in front of you. Take up the opportunity to be in the alfresco area Or have the comfort of dining inside. There is a Full Buffet Breakfast or continental suitable for any morning appetite. Lunch and Dinner is a European style menu with other Asian Delicacies to compliment your palate taste. Private Petty Sessions Lounge Bar is open Monday to Saturday from 5pm to 10pm, this is a great choice to unwind after a long day of meetings, catching up with friends from the office or for a pre-dinner drink before dining in the Kings cafe. Just minutes from the hotel is the Hay Street shopping mall along with a huge choice of restaurants, clubs and theatres. A short stroll away is Barrack Street Jetty for Swan River sightseeing tours to Fremantle, Rottnest or Swan Valley wineries. Also nearby are the many walking and cycling trails of King’s Park and Perth’s liveliest nightlife at Northbridge and Perth’s spectacular white sand beaches such as at Scarborough and Cottesloe are only a 15-20 minute drive by car. The Kings Perth Hotel complex also houses a 370 bay public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Perth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Perth
Perth Kings Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing