We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”
Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Perth Hotel
Ranked #54 of 64 Hotels in Perth
gold coast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great value”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is my second stay at Kings in 12 months. The fact that I came back for a second visit must say something. I booked a deluxe balcony room 2 night weekend special (sat & sun night) for $117p/n. I realize the price is not always so low but anything under $150p/n is exceptional value and up to $200 is reasonable.

The deluxe room is clean with mini bar, hair drier, toiletries (no toothbrush & paste), good sized towels, air con. good lighting & flat screen tv. The bed and pillows were comfortable.

The deluxe rooms are newly renovated and a little more expensive than the older style superior rooms. There won't be much view from the balcony rooms except for the amazing light display from the council building. And a glimpse of the river.

If you want shiny new minimal style decor this is probably not the hotel for you. If you are not so worried or actually enjoy the old style then you will feel comfortable here. Older does not mean dirty or broken.

The front desk staff are helpful and efficient. The dining room and bar are cosy and the dining room staff are extremely welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. I recommend including breakfast as it is buffet style and consistently good although doesn't change much from day to day so you may get a little bored if you are there for more than a few days.

Overall, it's hard to fault for the price. A little old style gem in a location surrounded by more opulent but highly priced fashionable "brand" hotels.

Room Tip: If you like fresh air choose a balcony room on 8th or 9th floor. Deluxe rooms are renovated. Superi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psygram9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    130
    116
    58
    83
See reviews for
55
125
55
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Clean and convenient. Great shower except it floods bathroom floor due to lack of shower screen.
My biggest complaint was not being able to reduce room temperature- found out air - con only operating as heater at present. At least they had a blanket in the room so we could lose the Doona. What is it with hotels and Doonas? A bit more light in the room would also be good. We booked online for a room with a double and single bed but didn't get one and hotel full.
Breakfast was very good.
Pretty good value for Perth

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGalahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here fairly late during recent storms in perth, where our house sounded like it was going to collapse and we needed to stay elsewhere. we checked in after 10pm and It was a straight forward check in and friendly staff. Room was bigger than expected- we booked a double but the room had a double and a single bed. Bathroom was a good size, shower had good pressure and the whole room was very clean, beds had quality linen. More importantly we had a really good sleep which was desperately needed :) really good value for the $108 we paid. Would use again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie101photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I was a bit cautious about the Kings agree readingreviews here but I think some of the negative reviews here are overly harsh.
The rooms are good sized, we had a double plus single with plenty of room to stretch out. The air fresheners and cleaners used don't smell fantastic but a stint with the aircon fixed that.
The whole hotel is a touch tired but I have paid more for less, especially during finals football.
The breakfast was excellent and drinks vouchers appreciated. The staff were pleasant and the hotel is superbly located.
My chief criticism is the thin walls, so best hope for peaceful neighbours but as a budget hotel it's pretty darn good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel room was very spacious, although room became uncomfortably hot. When concerns with our aircon blowing out hot air were discussed with staff, they porter brought us up fans in a very timely and friendly manner.
Free breakfast was excellent- particularly considering the $100 rate of the room! :)
Excellent location- right in the centre of Perth.
Car park was a great rate, although single-entry was a bit limiting.

Otherwise room very clean and adequate, although slightly outdated.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dori_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My Friend & I Stayed Here On The 7th September 2013.

Never Again Will We Stay Here !! The Price Is Cheap Because The Hotel Is CHEAP & Nasty. The PHOTO'S Are VERY VERY Mis Leading , Very Old 'Out-Dated' Hotel and Rooms.

Radio's Does NOT Work , When We Asked We Were Told ' It Doesn't State Working Radio's On The Site So Their For They Don't Need To Work. Very Very Shocked. Advised Only Their For The Clock. We Got Given Another Radio That Also Did Not Work.

Mini Bar/ Fridge - Empty , And You Bust Your Knuckles / Nails Trying To Open It.

Chipped Furniture. Attention To Detail , Their Is None. No Tissue Boxes, So Wipe Your Nose Ect On Toilet Paper.

The Inside Of The Hotel Outside The Elevators Smell Worse Than An Old Persons Home , Needs Major Ventilation Through Out Or Some Air Fresheners.

You Get Two Welcome Drinks On Arrival Which We Were Surprised About So Something Positive Also Breakfast Wasn't Bad Either.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

clean comfortable hotel, 2 double beds in room, large bathroom, handy to city ,pleasant staff and good bar staff. we got voucher for 2 welcome drinks. There is good parking next door which you pay $15 per night.

Room Tip: we were on the 9th floor so didn't hear a lot of street noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dora554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#53 of 64 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Seasons of Perth
#46 of 64 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#32 of 64 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Perth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Perth Hotel

Property: Kings Perth Hotel
Address: 525 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Perth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Perth Hotel is one of Perth’s most centrally located 3 star AAA rated hotel properties. Take advantage of the CBD location whatever your agenda, whether it is work, sightseeing and experiencing Perth, shopping on the popular Hay Street Mall or the exclusive shopping precedent "King Street". The convenience of the property being so close to many attractions offers you many opportunities with things to see, do and experience in Perth. The next major factor for your comfort is the spaciousness of all the 116 accommodation rooms. Some are big enough to accommodate 4 persons (maximum of 4 persons per accommodation room) and there are some interconnected rooms (available on prior request and subject to availability). All accommodation rooms feature a new LCD flat screen TV and Movie channel. The hotel features the Kings cafe, which has fantastic view of Hay and Pier streets so you can sit back with your morning breakfast light lunch or drink at the end of the day and watch the hustle and bustle happen right in front of you. Take up the opportunity to be in the alfresco area Or have the comfort of dining inside. There is a Full Buffet Breakfast or continental suitable for any morning appetite. Lunch and Dinner is a European style menu with other Asian Delicacies to compliment your palate taste. Private Petty Sessions Lounge Bar is open Monday to Saturday from 5pm to 10pm, this is a great choice to unwind after a long day of meetings, catching up with friends from the office or for a pre-dinner drink before dining in the Kings cafe. Just minutes from the hotel is the Hay Street shopping mall along with a huge choice of restaurants, clubs and theatres. A short stroll away is Barrack Street Jetty for Swan River sightseeing tours to Fremantle, Rottnest or Swan Valley wineries. Also nearby are the many walking and cycling trails of King’s Park and Perth’s liveliest nightlife at Northbridge and Perth’s spectacular white sand beaches such as at Scarborough and Cottesloe are only a 15-20 minute drive by car. The Kings Perth Hotel complex also houses a 370 bay public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Perth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Perth
Perth Kings Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing