We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Hotel in the Heart of Perth”
Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Perth Hotel
Ranked #56 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Affordable Hotel in the Heart of Perth”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We needed a hotel in the heart of Perth before flying out early next day. It was so well situated that we did wish we had stayed longer. Breakfast was included and was very generous. Service was excellent. Rooms were tidy and serviceable.
We found the rooms very stuffy because the air conditioning seemed to go off at night and no windows could be opened.
The double bed was too small. We have come to expect a queen sized bed and were disappointed in that but all in all I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a room with a queen size bed if that is what you are used to. We found it very cram...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvertailvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    131
    117
    58
    83
See reviews for
55
125
55
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broome, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I regularly visit Perth for work. This hotel has become my place to stay when in town for business. Sure there are "prettier" places to stay but none that offer consistent great customer service, hygienic clean rooms, crisp bedding, free Internet, full buffet breakfast and a complimentary drink on arrival. Anywhere else in Perth is near twice the price and every time you sneeze they charge you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broome_Local66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Surprisingly we had a very good 2 night stay here. We booked the cheapest room available online, and ended up on the 5th floor in a pleasant room with crisp white sheets and pillows. The counter staff were helpful in giving bus directions to Freo (The Fremantle train line was not in service for those days).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivertC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Realtively good location, but that's it. Rooms are very old and dated. At least pretty clean. Reception staff is unfriendly and cannot be bothered to serve guests. Online photos are misleading as they show renovated club floor, standard rooms are very dated. Avoid this hotel if you can.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadtoholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Darwin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The lobby is really gloomy, looked more like a funeral parlour. We were booked on the 5th floor. The door of our room was right next to the fire exit stairs which is very dangerous. One wrong move in entering or leaving the room and we could easily fall off the stairs. The room is too dark, too musty smelling (and the scent of moth balls kept me up all night), the shower area is too dark and mouldy. The view is nothing but a car park, there are no block out curtains. The entire hotel needs a renovation (could not even walk with bare feet on the carpet and in the bathroom). On the 2 nights we stayed here, the other guests were so noisy on the same floor and when we complained about it, the receptionist who could barely speak in English told us "we can say what we want" in a very rude tone. NEVER GOING BACK.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Racquel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I travelled to Perth for the first time for work in August 2013. I don't book my corporate travel, so rocked up to the hotel not knowing much about it other than the name. I now wish I'd read these reviews before I left Sydney as I would have changed my booking, even if it cost more myself.

All the bad reviews you read here are true. The rooms smell, are so old and outdated, the doors don't actually have a lock so you can feel safe at night (there is a lock there but if you check it doesn't actually do anything it's just a handle), the water tastes bad even to brush your teeth and the buffet breakfast is so nasty even as hungry as I was, I didn't eat anything.

Just as an employer can give you a warning for bad performance, if I could give my company a warning for making me stay here, I would.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyKate08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here overnight in a refurbished room on the 9th floor. After reading the reviews here and finding the price for the best room at the Kings Perth is still cheaper than most other Perth hotels, I thought I'd give the $175 King Deluxe a try. I'm glad I did. Sure, the hotel is a bit tired in the lobby and hallways, but I'm not sleeping there.

Reception was helpful and efficient (although the TV didn't work properly and the porter who was promised to attend to it never showed) and combined with a voucher for the buffet breakfast (which was fine), I thought the hotel offered good value. Having spent a night the week before in a higher rated hotel in a basic room for $230 (which offered about the same level of room quality but with inept customer service by comparison), I would consider the Kings as a base for my next stay in Perth.

Room Tip: Opt for a more expensive room and you'll still get a better deal over most Perth hotels and thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandotcom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#55 of 64 in Perth
462 reviews
Seasons of Perth
#47 of 64 in Perth
363 reviews
Mercure Perth
#23 of 64 in Perth
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miss Maud Hotel
#8 of 64 in Perth
878 reviews
Duxton Hotel
#14 of 64 in Perth
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Perth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Perth Hotel

Property: Kings Perth Hotel
Address: 525 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Perth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Perth Hotel is one of Perth’s most centrally located 3 star AAA rated hotel properties. Take advantage of the CBD location whatever your agenda, whether it is work, sightseeing and experiencing Perth, shopping on the popular Hay Street Mall or the exclusive shopping precedent "King Street". The convenience of the property being so close to many attractions offers you many opportunities with things to see, do and experience in Perth. The next major factor for your comfort is the spaciousness of all the 116 accommodation rooms. Some are big enough to accommodate 4 persons (maximum of 4 persons per accommodation room) and there are some interconnected rooms (available on prior request and subject to availability). All accommodation rooms feature a new LCD flat screen TV and Movie channel. The hotel features the Kings cafe, which has fantastic view of Hay and Pier streets so you can sit back with your morning breakfast light lunch or drink at the end of the day and watch the hustle and bustle happen right in front of you. Take up the opportunity to be in the alfresco area Or have the comfort of dining inside. There is a Full Buffet Breakfast or continental suitable for any morning appetite. Lunch and Dinner is a European style menu with other Asian Delicacies to compliment your palate taste. Private Petty Sessions Lounge Bar is open Monday to Saturday from 5pm to 10pm, this is a great choice to unwind after a long day of meetings, catching up with friends from the office or for a pre-dinner drink before dining in the Kings cafe. Just minutes from the hotel is the Hay Street shopping mall along with a huge choice of restaurants, clubs and theatres. A short stroll away is Barrack Street Jetty for Swan River sightseeing tours to Fremantle, Rottnest or Swan Valley wineries. Also nearby are the many walking and cycling trails of King’s Park and Perth’s liveliest nightlife at Northbridge and Perth’s spectacular white sand beaches such as at Scarborough and Cottesloe are only a 15-20 minute drive by car. The Kings Perth Hotel complex also houses a 370 bay public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kings Perth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Perth
Perth Kings Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing