We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to spend our last night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Perth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kings Perth Hotel
Ranked #71 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place to spend our last night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We came to Perth up from the South West for the weekend, before my boyfriend flew back to the UK and after staying with friends for one night; decided that we'd book a hotel for his last night. I was a bit worried about finding somewhere decent to stay within our budget so last minute.

Having looked at a few, I decided to book Kings Perth as it was so centrally located, was a good price for a deluxe room and had breakfast, wifi and a drinks voucher included for 2 people and discounted parking next door - definitely had that air of offering added value.

Although the corridors to our room were looking a bit tired and outdated,the room itself had obviously been redecorated and it was lovely, clean and came with a very comfortable bed; good shower faclities, modern furnishings, toiletries and free movies on the tv too.

When we came back from our evening out with friends, we asked if we would be able to organise late check out for the following morning so we would be able to take our time before going to the airport; the lady on reception was so helpful checking if it was possible and organised it for us straight away, so I couldn't fault the service.

The breakfast choice was plentiful and had a wide selection. I'd definitely stay here again with friends, family and a partner as I think they have the ability to cater for all traveller requirements.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dingledangle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    130
    116
    58
    83
See reviews for
55
125
55
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very Central but we tried desperately to get a chest of drawers put into the room as we were there for 4 nights and had to live out of our suitcases even though we requested multiple people 5 times to please provide a chest of drawers in the very large but undecorated room. Rooms were very clean and hotel is in a brilliant area so close to all of Perth city's major attractions but frustrating to say the least.

Room Tip: Check that it has storage if you are staying for more than 1 night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hopstepandjump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is basically located in the centre of Perth; the rest i have to say is so so.
The elevator always felt like would collapse at any time; i think they should work this out. I never felt safe using their elevator.
Food was great though; i was surprised with the quality of their fried rice.
Reception staff could pay attention more to the guests; they ordered a wrong cab (should be maxi) when i have to go to the airport.
All in all it is an okay hotel; if you would stay for short period (business trip for myself - they provide free internet access in the room), this hotel could be your choice.

however i would not suggest this hotel for a long stay.
They really need to refurbish this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dciaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've always been a voyeur on Tripadvisor but this hotel has brought me in from the cold. I'm a very balanced person and sometimes think that reviews on TA can be over the top....not this hotel however its a shocker. For $200 plus a night you should expect a little more, certainly you wouldn't expect the 70's decor (and smell), like others I really didn't want to sit on the bed, the "sealed for your hygiene" toilet had a nice little "surprise" inside for me, the complimentary tap beer was only light beer, the TV wouldn't work until an obscure dial near the bed was turned on and then none of the other controls near the bed worked, the floor lights on the elevator didn't work...and on and on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Coonawarra, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed recently and I was a little worried after reading some reviews - however, although the hotel is quite tired and probably needs quite a bit of work done on it, our room had been renovated and was very nice. The staff were fantastic, especially at breakfast and I was allowed a late checkout after staying 3 nights. It is very centrally located which is always handy - you can walk almost anywhere. And the price was quite reasonable compared to most Perth hotels at the moment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJS10016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

There is a shortage of Hotel rooms in Perth - but that is no excuse for allowing such sub standard accomodation as the Kings Hotel to be offered at any price. The dark and dingy hallways lead to rooms which have not had a makoever in 40 years. The switches were missing from the 'air conditioner' and the air vent was caked in dust and lint. The carpet was threadbare and I didn't really want to sit down let alone sleep. If it hadn't been a coporate booking (I had words to the company who made the booking for me) I would not have stayed the 2 nights I did. I felt sorry for the oldies on there tour bus trip that they have to put up with this sort of accomodation just because they are at the budget end of the spectrum. My tips for cheaper accom in perth: The Travelodge (basic but newly renovated) or Sullivans Hotel (even more basic but in a nice location with renovated rooms). Only positive about the Kings hotel was the front desk staff who were very efficient and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beagle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed here for business recently. I was dreading it after reading the reviews on TA but was very pleasantly surprised. The staff were mostly friendly and helpful, especially SIska. I was given a free breakfast and a welcome drink voucher which has earned it 4 stars instead of 3 The rooms are straight out of the 70's and could be easily upgraded but I guess they've decided not to bother. It was so old it was kind of trendy, it's come full circle!. My room was clean and not full of dust as I have read in other reviews. Cons: VERY thin walls and some of the staff need to work on their people skills.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiepie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#70 of 81 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Seasons of Perth
#57 of 81 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#39 of 81 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Perth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Perth Hotel

Property: Kings Perth Hotel
Address: 525 Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Perth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Perth Hotel is one of Perth’s most centrally located 3 star AAA rated hotel properties. Take advantage of the CBD location whatever your agenda, whether it is work, sightseeing and experiencing Perth, shopping on the popular Hay Street Mall or the exclusive shopping precedent "King Street". The convenience of the property being so close to many attractions offers you many opportunities with things to see, do and experience in Perth. The next major factor for your comfort is the spaciousness of all the 116 accommodation rooms. Some are big enough to accommodate 4 persons (maximum of 4 persons per accommodation room) and there are some interconnected rooms (available on prior request and subject to availability). All accommodation rooms feature a new LCD flat screen TV and Movie channel. The hotel features the Kings cafe, which has fantastic view of Hay and Pier streets so you can sit back with your morning breakfast light lunch or drink at the end of the day and watch the hustle and bustle happen right in front of you. Take up the opportunity to be in the alfresco area Or have the comfort of dining inside. There is a Full Buffet Breakfast or continental suitable for any morning appetite. Lunch and Dinner is a European style menu with other Asian Delicacies to compliment your palate taste. Private Petty Sessions Lounge Bar is open Monday to Saturday from 5pm to 10pm, this is a great choice to unwind after a long day of meetings, catching up with friends from the office or for a pre-dinner drink before dining in the Kings cafe. Just minutes from the hotel is the Hay Street shopping mall along with a huge choice of restaurants, clubs and theatres. A short stroll away is Barrack Street Jetty for Swan River sightseeing tours to Fremantle, Rottnest or Swan Valley wineries. Also nearby are the many walking and cycling trails of King’s Park and Perth’s liveliest nightlife at Northbridge and Perth’s spectacular white sand beaches such as at Scarborough and Cottesloe are only a 15-20 minute drive by car. The Kings Perth Hotel complex also houses a 370 bay public car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kings Perth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Perth
Perth Kings Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing