We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Perth
Ranked #19 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

My wife and I visited as part of our honeymoon. Now I have to preface this with that we used points to stay at this hotel, so price wasn't an issue. Therefore it's very hard to factor in value. However, the hotel was very clean and comfortable. Some of the other reviews had mentioned that it was a bit outdated, but I have to agree that it isn't the newest of facilities.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindycityMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    805
    344
    128
    68
See reviews for
251
879
139
680
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

Other reviews of the Perth Hyatt have it right, this hotel is not up to the 5 star level due to the tired rooms needing refurbishment. However the level of service and the public facilities together with the great views of the Swan River and the location still make this a terrific place to stay in Perth.
My wife and i recently stayed on two separate nights either end of a trip to Margaret River and each time we loved the welcome, level of service in all areas of the hotel and the view from our Deluxe River view room.
Both times we enjoyed the 3 station buffet dinner and breakfast offerings and found the quality of the food to be good value. The knowledgable waiter provided great conversation about the wines we enjoyed over dinner too.
The best aspect of the stay on both occasions was the excellent service provided by the Conceierge who was the most friendly and helpful we had meet at a hotel in may years. His advice was always spot on and very generous.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macOceanGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

I sent a Saturday night at the Hyatt with my partner, celebrating his birthday. The staff were exceptional, the hotel was stylish and the room was spacious, with a great view.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dingbat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

Hyatt Perth rooms are a little tired compared to other Hyatts but staff service and restaurants/room service were great. Love the lobby and lounge area when you walk in, great place for a vino.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelismint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

I stayed at the Hyatt over the weekend with my lady, and was extremely impressed with the fantastic service and prompt, efficient staff!! The Hyatt surprised me by having some of the best room service food I've ever had, and we loved having drinks at the lobby cocktail lounge, listening to live music. Great night!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheZooPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

What a blemish this hotel is on the Hyatt brand! I stay in Hyatt hotels the world over and have generally come to expect excellent service and very pleasant accommodation at every property, but judged by those criteria the Hyatt Regency in Perth seems to be part of the Hyatt brand only in name.

What looked like a student gala was in full swing with seriously drunk and very raucous guests standing outside the entry, making it difficult to enter. Hotel cannot be blamed for such behaviour but doormen could perhaps have tried to keep the entry free. Checked in just past midnight after a long flight from Hong Kong and was received by sullen reception staff who seemed intent on exchanging as few words as possible. Changed my room after an hour of non-stop and extremely loud mechanical noises coming from room next door.

On first morning I noticed that the room was in a far from acceptable state of maintenance, with furniture showing serious signs of damage and carpets stained to the point where I had unconsciously thought it had a pattern, downright stinky and soiled curtains. The bathroom was no better, with numerous cracked tiles and missing portions filled in clumsily with filler. Water cooker had serious discoloration on the inside. Room generally smelled stale and musty.

Getting out of the shower I noticed that not only were the towels extremely threadbare but contained big holes (image posted on this site). Deposited towels at reception where a staff member took little notice of it, stating they will be replaced and walking off. Next morning, whadyaknow, another towel every bit as threadbare and holes again! Come on, how difficult is it to inspect towels beforehand? Depositing the towels at reception got the same indifferent reaction. Inquiries re Perth (e.g. cellphone repair shop, transport options to Fremantle, route to convention center, etc.) could only be answered in part by reception staff and later proved to be incorrect on several points.

Breakfast in the executive lounge was pleasant with a more than sufficient spread and very friendly staff. Buffet dinner in the restaurant was fine but should have been vastly cheaper for the quality. Friendly staff in restaurant. Learning of my experiences my lunch guest - a Perth native - told me that the hotel has a deservedly bad reputation in town and is generally not advised to corporate travelers.

Checked out a day early due to a change in business itinerary and left in a very cheerful mood, glad at the prospect of not having to stay another night at the this hotel. Perth is a lovely city I very much would like to return to but no chance whatsoever that it will be to the same hotel. It is at very best a 3-star hotel and should charge accordingly. This hotel not only diminishes the Hyatt brand but is a disgrace to Perth.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FDanvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

Oh come on, how can this hotel call itself a Hyatt! I travel alot of work and normally stay at Hyatt Hotels throughout Australia. I stay there because of the service, the decor and the reputation of being one of the best hotel chains in the world. Hyatt in Melbourne (Fantastic) Hyatt in Canberra (the best thing about Canberra!). Hyatt in Perth is woeful. Let's start with the foyer area - no, it's not amazing it's outlandish and looks like it has come from the set of a cheap 80's movie.

Now the rooms, tired? The room needed a nap about 10 years ago. Paint peeling, dirty curtains, wood chipped cabinets, the flusher on the toilet needed a body builder to press to work. The TV is old, how much is a plasma these days - not much. The breakfast is good, coffee is cold, service is attentive, gym is SMALL, pool is nice.

This is a 5 star hotel (or so they like to call themselves), please Hyatt Perth how can this be justified? My advice, close down for 6 months do a complete refurb and stop ripping people off by claiming to be a Hyatt.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyGirlSydneyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duxton Hotel
#15 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Perth

Property: Hyatt Regency Perth
Address: 99 Adelaide Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Family Hotel in Perth
#7 Business Hotel in Perth
#18 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the banks of the Swan River, on the eastern edge of Perth's central business district and shopping precinct. Hyatt Regency Perth Hotel is convenient to arts, parks, entertainment and convention centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Perth Hotel Perth
Perth Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing