We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service never fails”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Perth
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“great service never fails”
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Hyatt Perth rooms are a little tired compared to other Hyatts but staff service and restaurants/room service were great. Love the lobby and lounge area when you walk in, great place for a vino.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelismint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    848
    364
    135
    74
See reviews for
273
922
138
727
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2010

I stayed at the Hyatt over the weekend with my lady, and was extremely impressed with the fantastic service and prompt, efficient staff!! The Hyatt surprised me by having some of the best room service food I've ever had, and we loved having drinks at the lobby cocktail lounge, listening to live music. Great night!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheZooPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

What a blemish this hotel is on the Hyatt brand! I stay in Hyatt hotels the world over and have generally come to expect excellent service and very pleasant accommodation at every property, but judged by those criteria the Hyatt Regency in Perth seems to be part of the Hyatt brand only in name.

What looked like a student gala was in full swing with seriously drunk and very raucous guests standing outside the entry, making it difficult to enter. Hotel cannot be blamed for such behaviour but doormen could perhaps have tried to keep the entry free. Checked in just past midnight after a long flight from Hong Kong and was received by sullen reception staff who seemed intent on exchanging as few words as possible. Changed my room after an hour of non-stop and extremely loud mechanical noises coming from room next door.

On first morning I noticed that the room was in a far from acceptable state of maintenance, with furniture showing serious signs of damage and carpets stained to the point where I had unconsciously thought it had a pattern, downright stinky and soiled curtains. The bathroom was no better, with numerous cracked tiles and missing portions filled in clumsily with filler. Water cooker had serious discoloration on the inside. Room generally smelled stale and musty.

Getting out of the shower I noticed that not only were the towels extremely threadbare but contained big holes (image posted on this site). Deposited towels at reception where a staff member took little notice of it, stating they will be replaced and walking off. Next morning, whadyaknow, another towel every bit as threadbare and holes again! Come on, how difficult is it to inspect towels beforehand? Depositing the towels at reception got the same indifferent reaction. Inquiries re Perth (e.g. cellphone repair shop, transport options to Fremantle, route to convention center, etc.) could only be answered in part by reception staff and later proved to be incorrect on several points.

Breakfast in the executive lounge was pleasant with a more than sufficient spread and very friendly staff. Buffet dinner in the restaurant was fine but should have been vastly cheaper for the quality. Friendly staff in restaurant. Learning of my experiences my lunch guest - a Perth native - told me that the hotel has a deservedly bad reputation in town and is generally not advised to corporate travelers.

Checked out a day early due to a change in business itinerary and left in a very cheerful mood, glad at the prospect of not having to stay another night at the this hotel. Perth is a lovely city I very much would like to return to but no chance whatsoever that it will be to the same hotel. It is at very best a 3-star hotel and should charge accordingly. This hotel not only diminishes the Hyatt brand but is a disgrace to Perth.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FDanvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Oh come on, how can this hotel call itself a Hyatt! I travel alot of work and normally stay at Hyatt Hotels throughout Australia. I stay there because of the service, the decor and the reputation of being one of the best hotel chains in the world. Hyatt in Melbourne (Fantastic) Hyatt in Canberra (the best thing about Canberra!). Hyatt in Perth is woeful. Let's start with the foyer area - no, it's not amazing it's outlandish and looks like it has come from the set of a cheap 80's movie.

Now the rooms, tired? The room needed a nap about 10 years ago. Paint peeling, dirty curtains, wood chipped cabinets, the flusher on the toilet needed a body builder to press to work. The TV is old, how much is a plasma these days - not much. The breakfast is good, coffee is cold, service is attentive, gym is SMALL, pool is nice.

This is a 5 star hotel (or so they like to call themselves), please Hyatt Perth how can this be justified? My advice, close down for 6 months do a complete refurb and stop ripping people off by claiming to be a Hyatt.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyGirlSydneyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

when we booked our room we specifically request for a family with 2 young girls, yet upon arrival we were given a room where there were continual banging, hammering & drilling all around us. Either the reservation staff are brainless or they dun value family vacation. We are very dissappointed with such high class reputable 5-star international hotel. We prefer Intercontinental Hotel 100 times more than Hyatt since this event.

Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielOon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

First impression: very nice and stylish lobby. Second impression, apart from the lobby everything else looked a little old and tired but not too tired. The room was clean but you can tell it was old, especially the bathroom. Peeled paint and old tiles. The water pressure was great and there were plenty of plush towels as well as bathrobes and sleepers.
The big, big shocker was the price list from the minibar. The water bottle on the table (1L of Evian) was, are you ready for it....the price for it was $9. I kid you not. A can of 330ml from the minibar was $7 and a beer also cost a whopping $9. Buffet breakfast was $36. The buffet breakfast was decent except for the ultra dried tomatoes which were meant to be semi dried .
The pool was nice, but there was no spa. Just a pool and a sauna. The mini gym seemed decent enough as well.
The advertised turndown is only available until about 8pm but they only tell you this after you ring them and you ask for it. I asked for a kingsize room and they gave me two single beds stuck together (these are not the single beds with a kingsize mattress on top). Being late I didn't bother asking for a proper king size bed but in the morning when I brought it to their attention they promptly moved me to another identical room on the same floor but this room although it had a proper king size bed, it didn't have a desk lamp like the previous room and it had one chair less. Also in the morning instead of a telephone wake up call I get a knock on the door: "Hi sir, you asked for a wake up call." Oh well, this is a first. I thought there was something wrong when I heard the knock on the door.
The location was ok but for the price (I can't get over the $9 water and the $7 for a Coke part) I will not stay again at this hotel. Despite the very nice lobby, the rooms are just a little too old for my taste (still have the old style TV) so I will not be returning anytime soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Appreci8life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We booked through wotif.com and got the FLAMING HOT DEAL which for $219 we got a king size room overlooking the south side of the building, valet parking and buffet breakfast for two in the cafe. Fabulous staff, all polite, and genuinely courteous. Nice bed, very clean room. Only negatives would be the table which has been stained over time from drinks and is probably ready to be replaced. It would be nice to have a light up digital clock bedside rather than the battery operated basic style and oh the price of the water.....$9 a bottle!!!
But back to the positives... the breakfast was absolutely the best ever! Who cares if you wait while its cooked? At least it hasnt been stewing away in a bain marie for hours.
Service staff fantastic and kitchen staff brilliant under pressure.
This place is a decent hike into town if you are wearing heels but they do provide a drop off service at particular times during the day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eskimojoePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 65 in Perth
1,561 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 65 in Perth
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duxton Hotel
#14 of 65 in Perth
1,100 reviews
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 65 in Perth
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Perth

Property: Hyatt Regency Perth
Address: 99 Adelaide Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Perth
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#18 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the banks of the Swan River, on the eastern edge of Perth's central business district and shopping precinct. Hyatt Regency Perth Hotel is convenient to the new Perth Stadium, arts, parks, entertainment and convention centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Perth Hotel Perth
Perth Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing