We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff, bathroom door offers no privacy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Perth
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

When checking into the hotel the lady who checked us in had a very strong accent and was speaking quite fast so I couldn't quite undetstand her. She was very rude and condescending when I asked if she could please repeat what she had said, not a good start to the trip at all. The rooms were lovely and modern however the bathroom door offers no privacy at all! After the rude welcome we received and then no privacy to the bathroom, we would not stay here again, and would not recomend this hotel unless you are travelling alone and privacy is not an issue.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dardy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPerth, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Perth, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Dardy91
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at Four Points by Sheraton Perth. We were very sorry to hear that the check in associate did not make you feel welcome and we agree that this would not have been a good start to you stay. It was definitely not the arrival experience we aim to provide our guests. Please be assured your feedback will be shared with the Front Office team so they can learn how their actions and manner can impact our guests stay. Rest assured we are currently aware of the implications our bathroom design may cause our guests travelling with companions, as such we are revising our bathroom design and hope to resolve this in the near future. We understand that you have a choice of hotels when travelling to Perth, and whilst we cannot turn back the clock we do hope we have an opportunity to change your perception of our hotel in the future.
Yours sincerely
Sean Raine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the hotel. The rooms are huge and immaculately clean. Quiet on the third floor and view of the new arena of Perth. Staff were friendly but did not any information on the hotel at all on check in. It's the only the I was disappointed with. I think a little information in breakfast and the bar would have been great.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vessie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPerth, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Perth, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear vessie73
Thank you for providing your feedback online. We were very pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed our comfortable rooms, and your overall experience at Four Points Perth. Please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of communication at check-in, we are unsure as to why this information was not communicated to you as this is usually included in our check-in procedure. Rest assured we have communicated this to the department for future knowledge. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Perth.
Yours sincerely
Sean Raine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My Husband and I stay often in Perth as we often travel from down south to visit family.
We have tried a lot of different hotels and Four Points has become a solid "go to" for us.
We have stayed here a few times now.
We choose this hotel because it is:
* reasonably priced
* in a good location
* the rooms are spacious & immaculately clean
* King sized beds are available and are made with fresh linen and fresh doona covers
( This is an important point for me personally as I hate those bed covers that are never washed at other hotels)
* The staff are very diligent
* Valet Parking is available - it's a bit expensive at $40 per night - but this is average in Perth
There is no mini bar in the rooms - some may find this annoying.
All in all - I have been very happy when staying at Four Points and we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a King size delux room. If you are noise sensitive - ask for a room not facing the street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soopoo1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPerth, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Perth, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Soopoo1982
We would like to thank you for providing your wonderful feedback online. We were delighted to hear you enjoy experiencing our overall product at Four Points Perth, and believe it great value. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Perth stay.
Yours sincerely
Sean Raine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Four Points is very fancy looking hotel. The rooms are wonderfully decorated and clean, although if the modern-looking bathroom is very low on privacy (only a glass door that does not even technically close). Unfortunately, the bed was overly soft and saggy. Otherwise, the food served at the buffet was good if expensive (i.e. $33/person for breakfast). For a $300/night you would expect to get access to their WiFi for free, but instead, you had to buy access and it was expensive too! If you wanted to use the internet for free, you would only get access in the lobby, for one hour for one machine (you have to ask for access codes at the front office), and I prefer to use my phone, tablet and laptop at the same time. This was very inconvenient especially since we were there for business, which is ironic since Four Points is supposed to be a business hotel, increasing my feeling that they should offer their WiFi for free. Also, the minibar was empty and if you wanted anything for in the minibar, it would cost $5 to have it delivered. In any case, though, the staff was nice and helpful.

During our stay, we had a rental car and had to park it around the hotel. As One Direction was playing at the Arena at the time, two nights in a row, parking was highly inconvenient - it would take us up to an hour to find a parking spot. Parking in the area is generally very expensive. However, there is a train station nearby if you would be inclined to use public transportation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k2881q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPerth, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Perth, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear k2881q
Thank you for your online feedback. We were pleased to hear our associates provided you with friendly and efficient service during this stay, and whilst you appreciated much of your experience we were disappointed to hear not all aspects of our hotel met your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for this. In regards to the condition of your bed, we do apologise the bed was not to your satisfaction, rest assured we will be upgrading our beds on our superior level floors in the coming months to our signature Four Comfort Bed. Also, we are currently in the process of substantially upgrading our Internet service, these improvements will make it one of the strongest platforms in Perth and will improve the ease of access for our guests on multiple devices. We understand for those guests, especially those away on business, this is of integral importance. In regards to the mini-bar, this was removed from our Superior rooms based on feedback from our guests. We found that only 4% of our guests were utilising the mini-bar and preferred the extra fridge space for their personal purchases. We do still have the mini-bar available in our Deluxe rooms and are currently reviewing this situation for our Premium rooms. We were sorry to hear you had difficulty finding parking during the event at the Arena, whilst we do not operate our own carpark, we do have access to the CPP parking located close by to the hotel, and as such we offer a valet service for our guests at the price CPP sets for us to utilise the facility. Once again we thank you for your feedback, we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Four Points Perth in the near future.
Yours sincerely
Sean Raine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We ended up at Four Points by default after our plane was delayed and we ended up missing our connecting flight. Qantas arranged for us to stay here, and what a great place! Although the kids fold out sofabed wasn't made up when we arrived, housekeeping quickly came and organised that. The hotel is nicely renovated and the beds (king and sofabed) were super comfy. The bathroom worried me a bit, as it was quite open and not much privacy when sharing with a group of 4! The free bottled water was a nice surprise. The hotel is nice and close to the Arena. There was a concert on the evening of our stay, so the parking was a bit of a nightmare out the front, and our taxi driver had a few problems trying to get us to the front door. Check in was simple enough, Qantas had obviously rung ahead and they were expecting us. Qantas had also provided us with credit to use for food, so we dined at the hotels restaurant. It was a buffet style, and was very nice with lots of choice. There was a large tour group there as well, but the food was plentiful. Not sure about value for money as we didn't have to pay. We did get woken up in the middle of the night by some concert goers returning, but once they were in their room we couldn't hear them. Checkout was simple, and the staff had arranged a taxi for us to return to the airport. Staff all seemed very police and genuinely enthusiastic.
So although I was initially cranky about our delayed flight and missing the first day of our holiday, as well as forfeiting a nights accomodation at our destination, we were certainly looked after at Four Points Perth. Well done!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPerth, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Perth, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Sue A
Thank you for providing your feedback online, we were delighted to hear you were pleasantly surprised by your unplanned stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unmade sofa bed upon arrival, although we were pleased to hear our housekeeping team was quick to respond once they were informed. We also apologise for the noise disturbance you experienced through the night, but were glad to hear this was resolved. We were very happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at The Eatery whilst here and despite the high occupancy we were experiencing the quality was great and food remained plentiful. In regards to the bathroom privacy, this is something we are currently reviewing for improvements, as we are aware it is not always appropriate or convenient for guests travelling together. Rest assured your kind comments regarding our associates have been forwarded to the rest of our team for their encouragement and recognition of their efforts. Thank you again for your valuable feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel on your next visit to Perth.
Yours sincerely
Sean Raine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here when we went to a concert at the Arena. The positives are that it is across the road from the Arena. The rooms are nicely refurbished and the staff were all lovely, helpful and efficient.
But....this is the first time we have ever stayed in a hotel where there was no mini bar, not even complimentary bottled water. We live regional and after our long drive and getting to the room, we really wanted a drink. We had to then wait for room service. The walls were so thin that we were woken numerous times in the night by the talking of people in adjoining rooms. As we were attending a concert we chose to eat in the hotel, the 'Eatery' this was nothing but a cafeteria. Our table was so close to the next one, we were bumping elbows and could hear everyones conversations. The smorgasbord meal was very average. We booked on line for $239 a night. We are due to attend the Leonard Cohen concert in two weeks but will not be staying here for that one. There is better value to be had elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patti6281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPerth, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Perth, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Patti6281
Thank you for your online feedback. We were disappointed to hear your experience at our hotel fell well short of your expectations, please accept our sincere apologies for this. Recently we have made changes to the mini-bar facility as only 4% of our guests were utilising mini-bar in our superior rooms, and through removing this facility we find our guests prefer to utilise the extra fridge space for their own purchases. We do still have the mini-bar available in our Deluxe rooms and are currently reviewing this situation for our Premium rooms, furthermore we have also introduced mini-bar snack packs, available upon request from In-Room Dining and Reception. We also apologise we were unable to provide complimentary water in room on your stay. Unfortunately this is not an inclusion to our superior guest rooms, however we do have complimentary water available for collection from concierge throughout the day. We were also sorry to hear you experienced noise disturbances from surrounding rooms. Unfortunately this is not always under our control, however we do our best to minimise the implications when informed of noise disturbances. We understand that The Eatery currently doesn’t meet all the requirements of our guests, The Eatery is meant to be a vibrant colourful space for our guests and embodies the Four Points brand. To counter this we are undergoing a refurbishment of The Best Brew in January, this will hopefully create a more intimate dining experience for our guests whilst also allowing them to dine in larger social groups should they please. Whilst I cannot turn back the clock, I certainly hope we have an opportunity to renew your faith in our hotel.
Yours sincerely
Sean Raine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

At last good service! Excellent from the moment my taxi pulled up to this hotel. An early check in was no trouble at all and the king deluxe room on the sixth floor was fresh, modern and roomy.
We had room service which was lovely and again excellent service by staff. I have stayed in many of the supposedly up market hotels in Perth and the service has been disappointing but The Four points did not disappoint.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsPerth, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Perth, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear WaCal
Thank you for providing your wonderful feedback online. We were delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in a King Deluxe Room. We were also very pleased to hear all aspects of our hotel, from decor to service, satisfied your needs as a home away from home. We have shared your feedback with our associates in recognition of all their great efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back at Four Points Perth in the near future.
Yours sincerely
Sean Raine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,440 reviews
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Hyatt Regency Perth
#21 of 66 in Perth
2,532 reviews
Mercure Perth
#27 of 66 in Perth
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Perth

Address: 707 Wellington Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#21 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $95 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Perth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Perth offers a great location in the Central Business District. We are close to the heart of the city and its many popular tourist attractions, parks, and sporting events. Perth's airports are within 30 minutes by car, and our location provides direct freeway access. SPG Members receive complimentary in-room internet when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Perth Hotel Perth
Citigate Hotel Perth
Perth Citigate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing