We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Central
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not impressive”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My company booked me in here for 3 nights for a conference nearby. First impression wasn't great, my colleague saw a rat run past the entrance to the hotel (not the hotel's fault though) and then there was only one girl on reception who was flat out. We asked if we could check in and leave our bags to be taken up to our rooms as we had dinner plans. We were told they can't do this do to lack of staffing and we had to be back by 11pm to collect our bags. The furnishings were ok (clearly a refurb of a very old hotel), my window faced a brick wall. The bed had the previous guest's hair all through it, the next night the sheets had blood stains on them (not my blood) - I asked to get them changed which they did promptly. Do yourself a favour and stroll down to The Terrace Hotel for a decent brekkie as the buffet brekkie wasn't great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    425
    199
    94
    46
See reviews for
128
350
82
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I am one fussy traveller and was very worried when my company booked me into the Rendezvous due to the rating on Trip Advisor. However, what I did not realise is that the poor ratings were submitted prior to the hotel being renovated.

The room I received was tasteful: I especially liked the cute carpet and the stylish furnishing. Despite my window facing a wall, the room was light and airy.

As others have said, the room service was not particularly exciting: and as the hotel could is around the corner from Hay St, Shafto Lane and King Street (great spots for chic dining and shopping) I'd probably go out more next time.

Upon arrival I had some difficulty parking my car and had to ask the Concierge to drive it into a better spot in the car park for me (long story, but let's just say I'm not the best driver).

The lobby contained some great brochures for travellers including Urban Walkabout which I loved.

Some minor maintenance was needed but despite this I will be requesting that my company book me into the Rendezvous next time,

Room Tip: I think id prefer facing a brick wall to the highway as it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nova F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for business for two weeks. Room was ok, but not great. Had an intimate view of a wall! Had problems with people in room floors below smoking which polluted my room. Underground parking is free, but can be tricky to fit into. Steak in restaurant is surprisingly good. I recommend the VIP Package which gives you free wifi and a shirt laundered each day.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Carotheexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMgrRSPER, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Central, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for your comments. The room has been designed with the Perth Corporate Market in mind and unfortunately not all rooms have a view of the Swan river or up to Kings Park - but let reception know next time and we can try to move you if the view isn't to your liking. As for the smell of smoke - unfortunately, not all our guests adhere to the No Smoking policy of the hotel and we do everything possible that we can to stop them, appologies if this disturbed your stay. Free Parking ? I'll assume the reception staff forgot to invoice you as we charge $25 per night and yes, the area is small with only 20 bays available, but offers piece of mind with security lock up. Finally and most pleasingly, I'll pass on your comments to the chef regarding your meal.

Regards
Chris Archer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel doesn't have much character. The front desk staff range dramatically from friendly to hostile. Housekeeping is poor. The towels smelled musty, and the room was always missing toiletries from shampoo to soap. Rooms will not be serviced unless you hang the sign on the door requesting service. Room service and the restaurant close at 9:00pm. The breakfast is good, but service is very slow. Service in the bar is very slow (I got a drink free because it didn't arrive for 25minutes). The location of the hotel is good. Quiet rooms. Rooms are large, but quite stark.

Room Tip: The first floor is noisy because the centre of the floor is open to the lobby and bar below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug13Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
344 reviews
330 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I spent several days at the Rendezvous during a recent business trip to Perth. I had a great stay and was really pleased with the rooms as well as the location of the hotel. It is right on the edge of the inner city, meaning you can pretty much walk anywhere downtown in about 5-20min. Also it is only a few 100 meters to Kings Park, where there are amazing opportunities for running, walking, and enjoying the views over the city center. The waterfront is also only about 5min walk away.

The rooms are quite comfortable, with separate living area and bedroom, almost a 1-bedroom apartment, and a small kitchenette area. Although close to the motorway, the rooms are very well sound insulated and there was absolutely no external noise. The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable and I had a great night’s sleep. Internet is available in the rooms, however you do have to pay a bit extra for it. The elevators could do with some maintenance. They shudder, shake, and jolt all the way to your floor – quite alarming on your first ride, but you get used to it.

The buffet breakfasts are fairly average – poor selection and there always seems to be a shortage of food in the buffet line. Definitely not worth the exorbitant $29. The basement gym is small but decent, only able to handle a few people at a time. There are 3 medium quality cardio machines (treadmill, elliptical, bike), a very small selection of dumbbells (only up to 10kg), and a reasonably new multi-gym. Good enough for basic workouts.

I thought that the hotel was good value and I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again. Recommended to all travelers who need a reasonably priced place in the city center.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Recently stayed at the newly renovated Rendezvous Studio Hotel...Monday the 7th. I thought it was fantastic... the rooms were very well done and very comfortable. the overall look and feel of the hotel was really well done and modern. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly, especially our server Matt, we even made a point to thank the Head Chef for the food as it was fantastic! we shared the buffalo chicken wings... OH... MY...GOD... AWESOME!! The ribs werer amazing and my partner had the eye fillet, very good...thanks to Katherine for making our checking out a smooth one. we loved our stay so much were are going to book again for Australia day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Had a function south of the river and didn't want to travel all the way north after a night out. This hotel has all you need to crash for the night. Staff seemed unorganised upon arrival I guess can be forgiven as I had only put the watif.com booking through an hour before. Also when asking for a toothbrush they seemed hesitant to bring it up to the room.

Breakfast was great when you ask for a big breakfast you get a BIG BREAKFAST very nice and piping hot.

Another few small issue was that there were mosquitoes in my room. I am sure I could have been moved but I really couldn't be bothered. I also heard a slamming door all night, wasn't sure if this was another room or the service door. Possibly management could look into replacing the strips surrounding the doors so it is not such a loud blunt slam.

Room Tip: Great business hotel, seek a hotel with a pool if you want to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDLEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perth
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Perth Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Perth Central

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Perth Central
Address: 24 Mount St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rendezvous Hotel Perth Central 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Studio Hotel Perth Central is a modern 103 room, fully renovated urban hotel conveniently located on the western edge of Perth’s central business district. Adjacent Kings Park and 5 minutes walk to the main shopping district of Hay and Murray Street Malls. The hotel is ideally located to access both the major freeway north towards Broome and South to the Margaret River. The Perth Exhibition Centre is within 2 minutes walk, and Perth's Entertainment Arena in just 5 where many of the latest concerts are held. The hotel also offers 5 conference and event spaces from 6 to 200 persons, which are well catered to by our dedicated C&E Team Select from the 103 spacious guest rooms including deluxe / executive deluxe and 2 bedroom suites. Enjoy our smart accommodation that has been designed with the modern traveller in mind. The stylish Straits Cafe and The Lobby Bar are the perfect location to enjoy our urban food offering, a cold beer, WA wines or fabulous cocktails, all presented by our talented and dedicated team. Or you can take advantage of our in-room entertainment and 24 hour in-room dining menus. You can expect a delightful stay be it for business or pleasure and make use of our high speed internet access, gym, sauna & onsite car parking (this is limited) but there plenty of secure car parking within 300 meters of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Toga Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Perth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Perth
Clarion Perth
Clarion Marque Hotel Perth
Perth Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing