We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs an update to justify the pricing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parmelia Hilton Perth
Ranked #17 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Needs an update to justify the pricing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

Well located hotel in cbd. However for the prices charged this does not compare well with Hiltons in Sydney and Melbourne with similar CBD locations. In those cities the Hilton experience is much better and of decent value.
Per other comments, rooms in Perth are from the 1980's and need refurbishing/reworking to justify the cost.
I did not eat at the hotel, found the service at reception quite good, and room was serviced ok.
As a Hilton HHonors member with status, i do prefer to stay at Hiltons where possible. I would most likely stay elsewhere when next in Perth on business.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cromson656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    790
    394
    134
    52
See reviews for
198
784
177
750
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
albany, WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

I stayed at the Parmelia for 2 nights with my husband. The service from reception to the restaurant staff could not be faulted and was of a very high standard. Breakfast was wonderful, and if anything wasn't there you just needed to ask the chef to cook it for you. We stayed in a queen bed room which was tiny. There wasn't much room around the bed and the bathroom was tiny. Yes, it did have a bath but the shower was over the bath and the bath would only be suitable for a child. The carpet looked like it could do with a makeover and was lifting which would have been a falls risk for older people. There were also no extras in the room such as something little to nibble on with coffee, or chocolates etc. There was the mini bar of course, which we left well alone. I am glad we got the hotel through a very good internet deal because I would have been disappointed had we paid the regular price. For the normal price I would have expected more from the rooms. Position is great as it is walking distance to the CBD.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

I stayed here for a conference and selected the hotel based on its proximity to the venue. As with most conference 'deals' the rate was crap and did not include breakfast.

I was going to share with a friend who ended up cancelling due to health issues. I rang them 2 weeks out to (a) let them know and see if I could change to a double rather than twin and (b) to let them know my HiltonsHonours number. Was told a room type change unlikely which I did understand.

Arrived and did not have my HH details on record and took 10 minutes to find them. Lobby is quite small and it is a busy hotel. Was told no room change and none of the little 'extras' I am used to with HH offered. My room was quiet, located a long way from the lift which did not worry me but would be a problem for older guests.

The rooms are small. Other friends who were sharing were very squished so glad to be on my own! Rooms older but in good condition, older style luxury hotels from the 80's. The room had a damp smell that remained for the 6 days I was there.

Older style bathroom too with dreaded shower over bath. Yuk. Crabtree and Evelyn amenties which were well replenished. Room was cleaned well each day.

No free internet or computers to access internet on. Not a biggie with an iPhone but is handy when away. Lucky I had access in the conference at a stand.

Close to CBD for shops and whatever else you are after. Loads of cheap but good breakfast places nearby so did not have to eat there for breakfast.

Staff in lobby helpful with directions and maps.

Would probably not stay here again in Perth unless I got it really cheap.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flipfeet11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

Nice hotel, stayed there a few years ago but it doesn't look like much has been changed in the years since. Rooms are nice and comfy, breakfast is really varied (but expensive!), service is great from all staff. The hotel looks a little dated though, not run down at all, but they could do with updating the hotel to make it look a bit more modern. The hotels Globe Restaurant and Bar is a great example of what they should do to the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agent_anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

Nice hotel in downtown and near to Hay Street via King Street, where there are ample cafes around the corner. Across the road, there is a Croissant Express, with good range of pastries.
Room looks tired but is clean.

Bathroom needs a make over. Nice bed and pillows which are very comfortable. There is street parking by meter and also down the road, there is a public car park at the Convention Centre. The best is the breakfast buffet - delicious selection of western and mixture of asian food.

However, construction of an office block back the hotel is really disturbing with their loud noises early in the morning and it will go on till end of the day.

Special mention to Alex for quick check-in early in the morning and Yo Hei for great service in the cafe.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night after arriving from Europe. Reception staff was very friendly and even called to check that we were happy with our rooms. We had 2 standard rooms which were spacious, clean with comfortable beds (choice of pillows available). Bathroom could get a makeover soon but was very clean. A good 4-star hotel for a short stay close to CBD with very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonmatDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

I recently stayed at the Hilton for a couple of nights and was very pleased with the choice of accommodation. The room was spacious with very comfortable twin beds, clean and was very tastefully decorated. I appreciated the solid walls - it's not everyday I come across a room with good soundproofing! It certainly added to a good night's rest.

I got a second floor without a view but this was ok since I was only in my room in the evenings. I didn't have any problems with noise from the constructions nearby either.

The hotel was also only a few minutes walk to Central Perth train station and even closer to the Jetty where I caught the ferry to Fremantle. It was an ideal base for exploring the city.

The staff were generally friendly, the most friendly of all being the gentleman who helped me out of the taxi and carried my bags to my room.

There's a taxi rank just outside the main entrance so there was no need to book a cab on the morning I had to get to the airport.

I would gladly stay at The Hilton again next time I am in Perth.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuktuujaartuq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parmelia Hilton Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parmelia Hilton Perth

Property: Parmelia Hilton Perth
Address: 14 Mill Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly Parmelia Hilton)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Perth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#16 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Parmelia Hilton Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parmelia Hilton Perth is the city's most centrally located luxury hotel, in the heart of the CBD, across the road from the Perth Convention Centre and close to excellent shopping, restaurants and bars. Just a short stroll to beautiful Kings Park and the stunning Swan River. From guest rooms to deluxe plus rooms and suites, all rooms at the Parmelia Hilton feature Hilton Serenity beds, high-speed internet (charges apply) and LCD TVs with complimentary cable and Foxtel channels. Relax by the outdoor swimming pool or work out in the fully equipped 24 hour gym. For a sizzling steak or a boutique beer on tap, enjoy the Adelphi Grill & Bar. The hotel's meetings and events floor with state of the art audio visual and lighting technology offers a choice of ten venues for 5-500, a 24 hour business centre and wireless internet access. The hotel's $55 per 24 hour valet parking service offers secure, under cover parking with the convenience of having your car brought to the hotel driveway as often as required. Valet parking is limited and space may not always be available, maximum height of vehicles is 1.9 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parmelia Hilton Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parmelia Hilton Hotel Perth
Hilton International Perth
Hilton Perth
Perth Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing