We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Room, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parmelia Hilton Perth
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We recently stayed here for one night. We were upgraded to a King Suite - marvellous. We found the Hotel quiet and comfortable. We had a problem with our Airport transfer but the Concierge and Reception staff came to our aid. The help they gave us was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,272)
There are newer reviews for Parmelia Hilton Perth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,103 - 2,109 of 2,272 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2009

LOCATION:
It's just off one of the main thoroughfares in Perth, St. Georges Terrace, but on a side street so it's not so difficult driving in or out. It's close to the bus routes and not far from the wharf or train service either if using them. Whether for business or shopping, it's likely to be close to whatever you need in downtown Perth. Note however that many restaurants close in the evenings, particularly on weekends.

FRONT OF HOUSE SERVICE:
Staff throughout the hotel were very pleasant and helpful. At check-in, the front desk staff members used your name and took care of things professionally. Although the room was not ready on arrival, we were told we could use it and drop our luggage there, and housekeeping would prepare the extra bed by the evening. Subsequent times through they continued to acknowledge and greet us, and were very willing to help with any questions or issues that arose.

The great service level carried through to housekeeping staff who were always pleasant, polite, respectful and helpful.

ROOMS:
We had a standard room facing the side street/main entry side, although it was well covered by curtains, had a fairly high window and there wasn't much to see. The room wasn't what you would call spacious, but everything fit in (just). It had a queen bed, quality manchester, choice of pillows if you have a preference, 2 chairs, table, desk, wardrobe, luggage stand and an LCD television. Channel choice was reasonable but not extensive.

The bathroom had a bath, shower, vanity and toilet in the classical marble/brass finish. The shower head was an adequate height.

AMENITIES:
Unfortunately the swimming pool was not heated so couldn't be used. A gym is also available, although fairly small, but both are well maintained.

DINING: We tried the associated restaurant (Adelphi, not the buffet room). It's more a steakhouse/semi-casual centre. The service was professional although there was a minor issue. The overall food package is good mid-range style and should be reliable not to disappoint. Pricing isn't moderate though; the breakfast in the buffet was $35 a head.

OVERALL:
A pleasant experience, nothing flash, but nothing disappointed either. Definitely worth considering.

Booking Note: Although the Hilton web site says there are no rooms available if you try to book more than 2 i.e.. with Children, they do have cots available and can take such bookings by telephone.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OdysseusTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

The hotel public areas are fine, but the rooms are a little tired but clean

Would reccommend you do not get a room at the back of the hotel unless you want to watch a building site and hear the accompanying noise. The outside of the buidling is honestly quite hideous.

Which leaves you with a room facing the main street of the side street, both busy.

Not good value for the A$255 we were being charged. It is living on the Hilton name.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baggywrinkle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

My daughter and I recently had to stay two Friday nights in a row up in Perth due to specialist appointments. We booked the $99 Friday night special both times at Parmelia Hilton. Both times we had a twin room and it was more than adequate. The rooms were clean and had every amenity we needed. The second time we stayed we did get a much bigger twin room and the bathroom had twin vanities, full bath and separate shower. The beds were super comfy and there is a pillow selection. The rooms have large LCD screens and although the decor could be considered "dated" it was all clean and in good condition - and went with the theme of the room. We did not get to have breakfast due to our early starts each day. We received a free newspaper each morning. Parking was about $35 per night. I would happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabbo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We were upgraded to a suite so can't comment on other rooms. They definately look after hilton honors guests as we were staying with our rewards. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived as we were early for check in but they gave us free drinks vouchers while we waited and the room was ready within 10 mins. That's service!

The suites are amazing, lots of rooms and big beds! very comfortable, and also great to share with someone rather than on your own if you are away for business. The outdoor pool was adequate although it had a very small gym. The location is great for the Perth CBD although a fair walk away from the Central train station. As we were sightseeing we ended up going other places than Perth but the Hotel was a great base. The staff are Very friendly and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spudgt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

I recently stayed in a twin room with my 2 teenagers(extra rollaway for 12yo). The room was spacious, light and all amenities were great. From the reception desk staff to the restaurant staff at the Globe ( fab food for dinner and excellent buffet breakfast), we experienced the best customer service I have had in ANY 5 star hotel in Perth. The gym and the pool were great and well maintained. We were spoilt and this will be our future first choice for family/friends/visitors to Perth.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilcoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Chose to stay here on a five day holiday to Perth because I knew it was centrally located and of my HHonors status alone.

BOOKING/CHECK-IN:
Booked online through Hilton Honors and chose the best room on their website, which was a top floor executive suite with a river view. Also arranged to have a rental car dropped off at the hotel prior to our arrival. Since I know Perth well, I opted not to have a hotel transfer as I figured a cap would be much cheaper. Unfortunately the queue at the airport was RIDICULOUS and i regretted not getting that transport. At check-in the staff were friendly to the point of scary, mentioning several times my "Hilton status". When the girl gave my room key, she mentioned we upgraded you to the "best room in the entire hotel", an executive suite. When I replied half jokingly, "I thought that is what I booked", she looked confused and stammered, uh....well, this one has a river view. When I smiled and said, I was pretty sure I booked that too, she was lost for words and said....well, we upgraded you to the "best room in the hotel". So I said, thanks and we headed up to our room. It wasnt a big deal to me and was kind of laughing in the elevator about them trying to lie about upgrading us just to make us happy. This of course back-fired and made me think them as shady, they would have done better than to say nothing. The icing on the cake is that we were staying beside, NOT IN, a huge room named "PENTHOUSE" and that our room's river view was through ongoing construction. Nicest room indeed.

LOCATION:
For staying in Perth on business or for shopping. The location is ideal. We were using it as a base for some trips further afield so it worked well in that sense as well. it's right downtown, just off St. Georges Tce. Plenty of dining, nightlife and shopping options all within a quick walk.

ROOMS:
Our room was huge. there is no doubt about that. It was the first thing to catch your eye. Obviously it used to be two larger rooms converted into one. The living area itself housed a couch and chair, a dining table for six, and a computer desk. there was also a full bathroom, complete with shower, at the entrance of the sitting area. The bedroom, although smaller, was also spacious and would be considered a large hotel room in itself. Surprisingly, the main bathroom for such a large room was rather small and incongruent. The second thing to catch my eye was the furniture from BEFORE I WAS BORN. To me, one of the telling things about any luxury hotel in this day and age is the lack of a flat screen TV. It just seems a basic piece of furniture IMO, this room had a TV that was easily 15 - 20 years old. However; the rest of the furnitre was older. I think the attempt was to fashion some colonial type antiquey sort of room but if you don't actually use luxury antiques, the rusty and stained trays and the velour cushions come across as garage sale, or grandma edith's house.

FOOD:
The breakfasts were the only thing about this hotel that was typically Hilton. (Read: high quality). There was plenty of fresh selections and shockingly a wide array of international options. They even had Nasi Lemak one of the mornings. We never actually ate in the either of the restaurants outside of breakfast since there are great options in Perth.

SERVICE:
The "fake upgrade" at the beginning of the stay kind of put a sour taste in my mouth and given the nonchalance to any guest at the front desk after that initial check in, I guessed that overt friendliness on arrival was an expression of guilt as they knew they were just BSing us. Although quite friendly, the jockey service can be painfully slow, sometimes taking 20 minutes to get your car brought up.

OVERALL:
Have stayed in quite a few Hilton branded hotels, and this is by far the worst I've stayed. It's not that we had a terrible stay, but if you are expecting Hilton calibre, you will be disappointed. but that could be said about a lot of Perth hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faithful_Suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 65 in Perth
1,256 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 65 in Perth
1,592 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 65 in Perth
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 65 in Perth
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parmelia Hilton Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parmelia Hilton Perth

Address: 14 Mill Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly Parmelia Hilton)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Perth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#13 Business Hotel in Perth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $81 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Parmelia Hilton Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parmelia Hilton Perth is the city's most centrally located luxury hotel, in the heart of the CBD, across the road from the Perth Convention Centre and close to excellent shopping, restaurants and bars. Just a short stroll to beautiful Kings Park and the stunning Elizabeth Quay on the Swan River. All rooms at the Parmelia Hilton feature Hilton Serenity beds, high-speed internet (charges apply) and LCD TVs with complimentary cable and Foxtel channels. Relax by the outdoor swimming pool or work out in the fully equipped 24 hour gym. For a sizzling steak or a boutique beer on tap, enjoy the Adelphi Grill & Bar. Adelphi Grill will be closed for a refresh from 2 January, re-opening on 16 January, 2018. The hotel's $55 per 24 hour valet parking service offers secure, under cover parking with the convenience of having your car brought to the hotel driveway as often as required. Valet parking is limited and space may not always be available, maximum height of vehicles is 1.9 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parmelia Hilton Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parmelia Hilton Hotel Perth
Hilton International Perth
Hilton Perth
Perth Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing