We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parmelia Hilton Perth
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average Hotel, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in January. Firstly, the lady at the check in desk was fantastic. She was efficient and extremely helpful and friendly.

The hotel is in a good location, making it easy to get to the main shopping and entertainment areas.

I would say that this hotel is very dated and could do with modernisation. Having stayed in numerous Hilton Hotels, I would say the presentation of this hotel and the rooms, is basic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidhunt32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Davidhunt32

Thank you very much for your review.

I’m delighted to hear what a great check in experience you had and that you really enjoyed the Hotel’s convenient location.

We are updating guest rooms currently, replacing all furniture to provide a more contemporary feel. We hope you will be returning in the future to enjoy these changes.

Thanks again for taking the time share your experience. Safe travels.

David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    795
    395
    134
    53
See reviews for
198
786
178
753
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is not a new hotel by any means and some aspects of the design of the place could be described as quirky...or dated or both. So don't expect sweeping foyers and sleek modern finishes - it is not that kind of hotel. What it is though is a comfortable, traditional style hotel in an excellent location. If you are going to the convention centre or downtown CBD, this is the place to stay.

I was upgraded to a small suite which was very comfortable, as was the bed. No view to speak of, but very quiet. Trouble with wifi. Breakfast was excellent.

Of course this bent Perth you can expect to pay staggering rates during peak periods and very high rates do make you question the value proposition.

Room Tip: Book in advance to try and get better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Ashley G

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and appreciated the Hotel’s convenient location in the Perth CBD.

Whilst some parts of the Hotel still offer traditional décor, we are in the process of replacing all guest room furnishings to provide a more contemporary feel and we are sure you will appreciate the changes. Four levels have been completed so far with the remainder due in the coming months. The Adelphi Grill also received a major renovation at the beginning of last year and boasts a relaxed contemporary décor to complement the very popular breakfast, lunch and dinner menus.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you soon.

David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Arrived about 3:30pm to check in on Australia Day. No doorman or valet to greet us at front door - yes it was busy but 3 staff were all at the Valet parking desk. Asked about the valet parking only to be told there was no parking available. Used the Perth Convention Centre carpark instead which was only 75 metres away so no big deal and it only cost $30 for the night instead of the $50 charged by the hotel. The king deluxe room had a lovely comfy bed and pillows. Room and bathroom great size. Unfortunately the sofa and chair in the sitting area had very worn padding and was not really comfortable to sit on at all. Bathroom had separate shower and lots of towels. What was missing was toothbrushes and a comfort pack (cotton buds etc). I have stayed at hotels all around the world and in Australia and I was pretty surprised to have to ask for toothbrushes at a Hilton hotel. The staff at the front desk did supply them on request without a problem. The air con is a noisy as it turns on and off throughout the night. Pity there was no top sheet supplied. Breakfast was included and was varied and plentiful - hooray for a pot of tea that was drawn properly. We enjoyed our stay and could not fault the check in or check out process - considering it was a really busy day in the city. But there should have been staff out the front directing cars and advising the car park was full. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BatyPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear BatyPerthWA

Thanks very much for staying with us over Australia Day weekend; it’s fantastic to see that overall you had a very comfortable stay despite a couple of little things.

I’m very sorry you were not greeted at the door; this is certainly not the first impression we hope to promote. Please also accept my apologies that our parking facility was at capacity due to the high occupancy in the Hotel that day. I’m pleased you were able to find a space at the Perth Convention Centre.

Please let us know your preference for a top sheet and toothbrush next time you book and we will happily supply these.

Great to hear you enjoyed your breakfast experience in the Adelphi Grill and especially appreciated your pot of tea!

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stay at this hotel at least twice a year, and value its location. This stay was in one of the refurbished rooms and these are really an improvement. Clean lines and better use of the space make a real difference in the standard rooms. I thought that the service at front of house was much stronger this stay than previously. However, some aspects of the hotel still need some work. The housekeeping was very inconsistent (my robe disappeared after the first night and was not replaced, and the same with the room service menu), as was the room service (two orders of porridge in two days, a pretty simple order, both orders accompanied by crunchy brown sugar!). The internet costs are just silly, but the location is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, some are adjacent noisy venues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneBookGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear MelbourneBookGirl

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

So glad your experience of our newly refreshed guest room was such a great success. The contemporary transformation is receiving some very positive feedback. With four levels already completed, the remainder will be our focus over the balance of this year.

Please accept my apologies for the housekeeping and room service shortfall which have been addressed for retraining.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks again!

David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
674 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights
Well located in cbd
Pleasant staff
Lovely rooms
Good beds
Swimming pool if desired
No breakfast included
Wifi in room extra
Didn't work in lobby despite being free
Good range of tv channels
Book ahead for good rate
Rates vary dramatically
Recommended
Restaurant not too bad
But like all australia overpriced
Beware of scam in the airport by customs where if you have more then 60 cigarettes they will charge you outrageous duty or if you don't declare it
They will find them on X-ray and fine you 300 dollars and then charge you duty
Outrageous in a developed country where the limit is usually 200

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank samboDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear samboDublin

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay although I’m sorry for any issue with the free WiFi.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you visit Perth.

David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

The staff at check in were very efficient , we opted for Valet parking $50. quite a steep price but it was handy having our car brought to the front when required. No security for key handover though we just jumped in and drove away. Same in the morning at check out our car was sitting there and had to go back in and ask for the keys. Different person and again did not even ask for ID
The room was a good size the bed was HUGE!! We had free internet use so that was very nice. The air con was VERY noisy had to turn it off to sleep. No view but looked at the office block next door. The furniture in the room was lovely antique but def needs and upgrade for the upholstery, it was dirty, worn and very lumpy, did not even want to sit on it. (room 429).Very close to city, Very short walk through the arcade across the road to the city, dining and Theatre. Might go back again if I got another good deal through Wotif.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, King bed and free WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSIAEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear MSIAEA

Thanks very much for your sharing your experience.

I’m very happy to learn you enjoyed all aspects of your stay although I’m sorry there were some issues that need attention.

Your comments have been reviewed with Concierge concerning valet parking; there is a procedure in place to ensure security and immediate retraining has taken place as a result.

All furnishings in every guest room are being replaced currently, with four levels already completed. The new presentation is fresh and contemporary and we are sure you will appreciate the changes.

We hope this first stay at the Parmelia Hilton will be one of many more to come. Thanks again!

David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Wherever we visited Perth, we always stay here. The location is great, shops and bars minutes walk away. The hotel has been refurbished since our last visit but hasn't changed its style, which is great apart from the new restaurant which is very reasonably priced and does not feel like your typical hotel restaurant and offers a good choice of steaks. The pool area is spacious and comfortable with a good selection of seating. The majority of the staff were very helpful apart from one jobs worth, but this was soon shorted out by a very efficient duty manager. We will definitely return as its still a firm favourite of ours.

Room Tip: Try the restaurant for dinner, it serves great food at a reasonable price and has a lot more atmosph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, Director of Operations at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Sharon B

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighted you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and especially appreciated the Hotel’s convenient location.

It’s great to hear the Hotel is a favourite of yours; we hope to see you again soon.

Gearoid Lyons
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parmelia Hilton Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parmelia Hilton Perth

Property: Parmelia Hilton Perth
Address: 14 Mill Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly Parmelia Hilton)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Perth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#16 Business Hotel in Perth
#17 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Parmelia Hilton Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parmelia Hilton Perth is the city's most centrally located luxury hotel, in the heart of the CBD, across the road from the Perth Convention Centre and close to excellent shopping, restaurants and bars. Just a short stroll to beautiful Kings Park and the stunning Swan River. From guest rooms to deluxe plus rooms and suites, all rooms at the Parmelia Hilton feature Hilton Serenity beds, high-speed internet (charges apply) and LCD TVs with complimentary cable and Foxtel channels. Relax by the outdoor swimming pool or work out in the fully equipped 24 hour gym. For a sizzling steak or a boutique beer on tap, enjoy the Adelphi Grill & Bar. The hotel's meetings and events floor with state of the art audio visual and lighting technology offers a choice of ten venues for 5-500, a 24 hour business centre and wireless internet access. The hotel's $55 per 24 hour valet parking service offers secure, under cover parking with the convenience of having your car brought to the hotel driveway as often as required. Valet parking is limited and space may not always be available, maximum height of vehicles is 1.9 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parmelia Hilton Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parmelia Hilton Hotel Perth
Hilton International Perth
Hilton Perth
Perth Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing