We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top marks to pool maintenance man”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parmelia Hilton Perth
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
wellington
1 review
“Top marks to pool maintenance man”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great hotel , very good service from all staff.
Was most impressed by the staff member who came to clean the pool.Complimentary bottled water was given to everyone then he went about his job without disterbing those enjoying the pool area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 83Bythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear KingiPetone

Thanks so much for your excellent review!

Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and that the Team looked after you so well.

I have shared your feedback with them all and especially our Engineering Team Member responsible for maintaining the Hotel’s swimming pool. He is so delighted you have made special mention of his efforts – thank you!

Safe travels. We hope to see you again next time you visit Perth.

Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    820
    402
    135
    54
See reviews for
202
809
183
779
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked on for a Friday night beginning of November at a great non-business day rate. Extremely warm welcome. Car wouldn't fit their carpark so had to park nearby which was not too inconvenient,however, this height restriction should have been mentioned on their website as I have seen it on other hotel websites. Upgraded on booking from Queen to King room which was very nice with the exception of the shower over the bath. I hate that!! Dined at the Adelphi Steakhouse - meal was excellent and the buffet breakfast superb - we got a reduced rate as we were staying there. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Jasnick

Thank you very much for your review.

The Team and I are delighted you had such a great stay and particularly enjoyed your dining experience in the Adelphi for dinner and the Globe for your buffet breakfast.

Please accept my apologies for the issue with the height of your vehicle for valet parking. We will certainly be looking into the information provided on our website as a result of your comments. I am very sorry for any inconvenience caused.

So glad you enjoyed your upgrade; however my apologies for any disappointment with the bathroom. Please let us know your preferences next time you book and we will do our utmost to accommodate them.

Thanks again! We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had stayed here last about 2 years ago and only stayed due to the low cost for the room. While the room was generally comfortable it was very dated with its furnishings. We again booked this hotel due to the package deal - which included breakfast and valet parking. We were plesantly surprised to find the room renovated with more modern furnishings. We had stayed in 4 hotels in 3 states over the last week and this king size bed was the biggest and most comfortable. Great pillow selection also. The bathrooms are still dated with a shower over the bath but they were clean and sufficient. I loved that they included hot chocolate with the tea and coffee supplies. We had a great nights sleep. I do enjoy the breakfasts here - one of the nicest buffet breakfasts in Perth. Plenty of choice and always hot with eggs cooked to your liking. All in all a great stay and I will happily return provided I got a renovated room again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabbo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Fabbo8

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Naturally, I am delighted you were pleasantly surprised with your renovated room! We are in the planning stage for a programme of improvements in 2013 so there will be even more guest rooms with fresh new features.

Our Hilton Serenity beds draw some great feedback and we are so happy you found yours just as comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another great night’s sleep and hearty buffet breakfast!

Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Upon arrival we used the valet parking which was very efficient and only marginally more expensive than the newest public carpark. At the reception desk we were warmly greeted and our booking processed quickly, however our room was not ready, so we were offered two free drinks vouchers. The room was spotless and everything in good working order, although we needed to turn off the aircon as it was very noisy.

Outside of the hotels control was an alarm from an adjacent building which disturbed my sleep in the early hours of the morming. That apart the hotel and staff were very good.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear MontPerth

Thank you very much for your review.

It’s great to learn you enjoyed your stay on every level, however I’m very sorry outside influences disturbed your sleep – please accept my sincere apologies!

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night and all I can say is make sure you don't get a second floor room!. Our room ,although nicely appointed looked out on to the pool but not at pool level. The room was lower than the deck so we got a view of peoples legs. You couldn't go out or open the window. worse than this was the noise. These rooms are directly over the function rooms and the noise from a wedding was so loud the floor was vibrating. We could hear the whistles catcalls and muffled speeches.
The staff were friendly and checked if there was another room but it seemed they were fully booked. They did find me some earplugs but the noise was still annoying. The hotel needs to sound proof the function rooms for the comfort of other guests.
The staff though were very friendly and tried to help.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keropos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear keropos

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience.

I’m very sorry that an otherwise satisfactory stay was marred by noise disturbance from the wedding reception below and that you were disappointed with your room’s location. Please accept my sincere apologies and do let us know when you make your next booking so we can ensure a room that will better suit you.

I’m so pleased the Team looked after you really well – thank you for making special mention!

We hope to welcome you back next time you visit Perth.

Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is an old-ish hotel but it is reasonably well appointed. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Each room has a balcony, where smoking is OK, but because the hotel is smaller than the surrounding high rise office blocks, the winds whistles and swirls around, which was a bit chilly in October. I had to ask for a table and 2 chairs for the balcony, but only a table and one chair were forthcoming.
The hotel is within a few minutes walking distance of the Convention Centre and there are many restaurants and cafes nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear mikemin

Thank you very much for your review.

Delighted you enjoyed your stay, though I’m very sorry we couldn’t provide some better weather for your visit!

It’s great to hear you appreciated our great location and that the Team made such a great impression – thank you.

We hope to welcome you back in the future. Safe travels!

Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
186 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Parmelia Hilton in Perth for two nights. At Reception we were offered an upgrade to a larger room with a king bed for an extra $20 which we took, making our daily rate for a Monday and Tuesday night, around $390 for the room only.
Our bed was king but the room was 6.8 metres long and 3.8 wide, minus the 2.1 x 2.2 for the bathroom (actual size inside 1.6 x 2.2 metres). Not a large room at just on 25 square metres. By comparison a king bed room at the 5 Star Melbourne Westin is 38 square metres and costs an average $293 per night right in the centre of Melbourne.
The room had a desk and chair, two armchairs and a coffee table as well as a chest of drawers that doubled as a TV stand. Gowns and slippers were supplied but only one cake of soap for use at the basin and in the shower. The amenities packs included a shower cap but not a vanity pack and there was no spare roll of (single ply) toilet paper and no toilet brush (required for a 4 Star and above rated bathroom). The shower was over the bath with a shower curtain. Curiously, although the bathroom has a card exhorting guests to "think of the environment and be water conscious by re-using towels", the hotel hasn't bothered to be water-wise and install a dual flush on the toilet.
The bed was comfortable but the air conditioner was noisy and so we slept with it off on the second night.
The wi-fi was $0.55 per minute or $29 for 24 hours, or $145 for 7 days - a complete rip-off if you multiply those rates by the number of rooms in the hotel and subtract the actual cost of the internet to the hotel.
Valet parking at $45 per day seemed reasonable given the parking rates in the nearby carparks.
The only thing that this rather dated and over-expensive hotel really has going for it are a bunch of very nice, helpful and cheerful staff from reception through to the room maids.
Next time we're in Perth CBD we'll go elsewhere and see what we can get for $390 a night.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmperthhilton, General Manager at Parmelia Hilton Perth, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Raedward

Thank you very much for your review.

Naturally I’m delighted our Team made such a great impression and I thank you for making special mention of the service you received. I have taken great pleasure in sharing your feedback with all Team Members.

Your comments concerning the guest room and bathroom are noted and I’m very sorry for any disappointment. The Hotel does offer a range of room and bathroom styles, so please let us know your preferences next time you book.

Room rates do vary, dependent upon room type and level of availability at the time the booking is made.

The Hotel was a finalist in the AHA Awards for Excellence last year in the Environmental Category and has a strong environmental focus. Whilst not dual flush, our toilets are set to minimise water use and we are gradually working through a programme of conversions.

Thank you again and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
David Constantine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
1,131 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Hyatt Regency Perth
#18 of 64 in Perth
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duxton Hotel
#14 of 64 in Perth
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parmelia Hilton Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parmelia Hilton Perth

Property: Parmelia Hilton Perth
Address: 14 Mill Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly Parmelia Hilton)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Perth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#13 Business Hotel in Perth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Parmelia Hilton Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parmelia Hilton Perth is the city's most centrally located luxury hotel, in the heart of the CBD, across the road from the Perth Convention Centre and close to excellent shopping, restaurants and bars. Just a short stroll to beautiful Kings Park and the stunning Elizabeth Quay on the Swan River. From guest rooms to deluxe plus rooms and suites, all rooms at the Parmelia Hilton feature Hilton Serenity beds, high-speed internet (charges apply) and LCD TVs with complimentary cable and Foxtel channels. Relax by the outdoor swimming pool or work out in the fully equipped 24 hour gym. For a sizzling steak or a boutique beer on tap, enjoy the Adelphi Grill & Bar. The hotel's meetings and events floor with state of the art audio visual and lighting technology offers a choice of ten venues for 5-500, a 24 hour business centre and wireless internet access. The hotel's $55 per 24 hour valet parking service offers secure, under cover parking with the convenience of having your car brought to the hotel driveway as often as required. Valet parking is limited and space may not always be available, maximum height of vehicles is 1.9 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parmelia Hilton Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parmelia Hilton Hotel Perth
Hilton International Perth
Hilton Perth
Perth Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing