We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dated Hotel - well past its best days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parmelia Hilton Perth
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very Dated Hotel - well past its best days”
Reviewed January 27, 2008

Excellent staff, very attentive and a real asset to the hotel. Assigned a room on floor 10, very noisy and the windows would not close properly. My room looked over a really busy freeway so it was difficult to sleep. Also was 42 c (110 f) when I was there and the AC was ineffective since the windows had gaps and let the heat in. The room was clean but had a very dated feeling. I did get a bargain rate on hilton.com though. Excellent inner city location. Would return if rate was very cheap

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joemalone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    844
    411
    138
    54
See reviews for
206
833
190
808
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2008

This is 2nd visit to Perth, and returned to Parmelia Hilton - this is great hotel and well worth the visit. Roooms are modern, service is great, and breakfast well - has more than you can possibly want. Although I went to beach each day and did not really need downtown Perth location, the hotel is only 15 minutes to beach by car. For parking, recommend, Convention centre half-block from hotel which is open all night and has reasonable rates.

Will return to Parmelia Hilton on my next visit to Perth.

  • Liked — Personality of staff
  • Disliked — No Business Lounge
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sky_Blue_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2008

Dont expect sheer luxury and you wont be dissapointed. The rooms are nice and clean and the service is great. They offered 2 free drinks in the bar on arrival and I got a paper in the morning. The pool is nice, however the sauna was a little dodgy. The gym is small but adequate . The hotel is near the convention centre, river and shops, there is a pub and restrauant in the same complex. Its a good location and its hard to find any major turn offs. Look for the bargains on this one.... I got it for $99AUD a night. Bargain price for a 5 Star hotel.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Sauna
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Getzaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

Bring on the “Pro Hilton” Alumni

Its funny and ironic I started 2007 with the Hilton brand and end it in the same way;
I assure the brand conspiracy theorists it was never planned although I am sure I will be attacked in the same way as with the Melb Airport Hilton.

So get ready,
Yes it was a good price AUD $155.00, it needs to be.

In a nut shell Parmelia is very old and needs a good “kiss and cuddle.” I realise the facts and the difficulty maintaining an old hotel but upon reading a few reviews I feel I need to add a couple of key points consistent with my experience.

After being in the room for about 3 hours (due to work and phone calls) I noticed crumbs and drink rings on the bedside table. Further investigation led me to find dust, mould, & used ear buds in the bin!! (in a cleaned room!) and dirty light switches and carpets.
3 nights stay the A/C was noisy and archaic, TV was from a $70 a night budget hotel and 3 globes in the room did not function.

On the positive, great location, good parking/ concierge staff, solid room service and menu

I am glad Hilton discounts to get the occupancy it needs.
However with Media Barrack Street now in full swing it needs a refit more urgently.
I was very surprised some airline crew still put up with it.

  • Liked — The room service and menu
  • Disliked — The poor housekeeping
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

I remember when this place was the number one hotel in Perth. All the celebs would stay here and it had an aura about it. That's when I lived in Perth.

I booked a business trip back there last year and since I hadn't stayed at the Parmelia before, I thought I'd check it out.

It's easy to get to, is very central and has a nice feel about the reception area.

I found the service very good and the Adelphi restaurant next door has an fine menu, the steaks are top notch. Breakfast was good and you can get in and out quick.

Although the lobby area still looks good, the hotel rooms are very small and very dated, they seriously need a refurb.

Car parking was a breeze with the valet service, they fetched the car quickly which is a plus.

I liked staying here, however there are more modern hotels which I guess are more appealing.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Old, small rooms
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank richo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,437 reviews
386 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,109 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2007

The Hilton is located in a fantastic position for easy access into Perth CBD. We have stayed at numerous hotels in Perth and found the Hilton to offer the best for location. The Hilton is approx 25minutes from the airport and basically situated next door to the convention centre.

Our king river suite was on the 10th floor and had lovely views across the river and city surrounds. The suite was enormous, traditionally and elegantly furnished with a large lounge room with a balcony, separate dining room, an equally large separate bedroom with a beautiful king size bed. There were two bathrooms in the suite both exceptional, the en-suite also had a small spa bath too.

We absolutely loved our suite and had such a comfortable and enjoyable stay. If you can afford to stretch the budget then you will not be disappointed with this superb suite.

The Hilton also has an outdoor swimming pool; although small it was extremely private and offered a health gym centre on the same floor.

There are two terrific restaurants and three bars; the Globe Bar was very impressive and relaxing for having drinks after exploring or work. Staff were brilliant offering first-rate service and a credit to this establishment.

We only ordered breakfast as room service, as why let the dining table go to waste! And found everything to be just perfect.

The suite was expensive but worth every cent, we had an exceptional stay at the Hilton. I'm not sure why this hotel gets such mixed reviews, as after staying at other hotels in Perth we absolutely had no problems.

  • Liked — our spacious suite.
  • Disliked — not meeting my TA Perth friends.!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2007

I was in Perth for business for the second time this year and was looking forward to a stay at the Parmelia Hilton as last time I was in town it was booked out. The location is great, just behind St Georges Tce and a very nicely concealed location with an impressive, while humble lobby.

CHECK IN
Check in was friendly and helpful but nothing out of the ordinary. I was given a room on the third floor and made my way up. Although I checked in at 11pm local time there were still a number of staff in the lobby.

THE ROOM
The room was OK. The entry is a little tricky if you have a lot of luggage. The bed was very comfortable and spacious while the room was big enough to feel like you could spread out. TV was standard (why do most hotels still skimp on TV size when they are so cheap?) however everytime you changed the chanel, even on mute, the TV gave a loud clicking sound.

THE BATHROOM
There are two pet hates for me. A hotel room without a decent bath/shower and the shower head. Full marks for the shower head - while being energy efficient it still had great pressure for a relaxing shower. The bath however was a shower combination and was tiny. On top of this a large hand rail for disabled access jilted right out into the middle - so a bath was out of the question.

ROOM SERVICE
Room service to 10pm is the full menu. I had a surf and turf meal which featured steak, prawns and scallops. Full marks for this dish however the side cesar salad had a supermarket feel about it. On the second night I had a late dinner on the post 10pm menu. I grabbed a toasted sandwhich which was impressive for the late hour.

THE EXTRAS
The gym is getting a little dated but was good for a quick workout. Treadmills, bikes and most weight systems are in there. The pool is external so unless it's Summer or Spring forget about it. I ordered a massage one night and was impressed. The hotel sources this locally and for $100 I had an in room massage. A deep tissue massage was just what I needed after a long flight.

THE VERDICT
While the room was standard, bed and shower head impressive, the biggest letdown was the location of my room. I was in room 301 which is just behind the lift shaft. Being in property I should have checked this out before I settled down. All night I was woken by lift doors opening and closing, the fire stairs being used and the gym downstairs kicking on till the late hour.

Overall a nice hotel if you are in town on business but if I did come back on a personal holiday I would not stay here one minute.

  • Liked — Location in Perth
  • Disliked — Noisey Room!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank rmdarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 65 in Perth
1,208 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 65 in Perth
1,557 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 65 in Perth
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parmelia Hilton Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parmelia Hilton Perth

Property: Parmelia Hilton Perth
Address: 14 Mill Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly Parmelia Hilton)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Perth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#13 Business Hotel in Perth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Parmelia Hilton Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parmelia Hilton Perth is the city's most centrally located luxury hotel, in the heart of the CBD, across the road from the Perth Convention Centre and close to excellent shopping, restaurants and bars. Just a short stroll to beautiful Kings Park and the stunning Elizabeth Quay on the Swan River. From guest rooms to deluxe plus rooms and suites, all rooms at the Parmelia Hilton feature Hilton Serenity beds, high-speed internet (charges apply) and LCD TVs with complimentary cable and Foxtel channels. Relax by the outdoor swimming pool or work out in the fully equipped 24 hour gym. For a sizzling steak or a boutique beer on tap, enjoy the Adelphi Grill & Bar. The hotel's meetings and events floor with state of the art audio visual and lighting technology offers a choice of ten venues for 5-500, a 24 hour business centre and wireless internet access. The hotel's $55 per 24 hour valet parking service offers secure, under cover parking with the convenience of having your car brought to the hotel driveway as often as required. Valet parking is limited and space may not always be available, maximum height of vehicles is 1.9 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parmelia Hilton Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parmelia Hilton Hotel Perth
Hilton International Perth
Hilton Perth
Perth Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing