We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable among the unaffordable..........”
Review of The Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Melbourne
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Being a frequent visitor to Perth I have found it harder and harder to secure affordable accommodation without booking weeks in advance and this weeks trip was no exception so my secretary booked me into The Melbourne Hotel. Was very pleasantly surprised! Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, a homely restaurant with good food at an affordable price, good breakfast in the cafe which alsomakes great coffee. As another reviewer has stated it has a character which has not been destroyed by making it a 'ritzy boutique' hotel with ritzy rates to match.
And the internet included in the room rate so that alone makes it the best deal in Perth (where you can pay upto $30/day for internet access).

The only negative is that they really need to sort the wireless coverage across all the rooms and i would give it 5 stars!

Unfortunately next trip am already booked to stay at another 'big brand' hotel. However will be dining at the Melbourne's restaurant and will seriously consider making the Melbourne my regular place to stay in Perth.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HandHMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 111 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

at a friendly sunny early morning we enjoyed a variety of offered breakfeast. the coffee offered was nice as well

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sonny-A-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Most hotels are as alike nowadays. Sorry, but it's true: resort hotels are all the same, business hotels are all the same, boutique hotels are all the same. You may know where you are but the hotels themselves don't give you a clue what country you're in. The Melbourne, agreeably, has character. And it's not "Ye Olde" Anything. It's simply old in a good way. This was the one time I decided while passing through NZ and OZ to have dinner in a hotel. I was delighted with my barramundi which I chose because I didn't know what a barramundi was. Cooked simply to perfection with equally yummy mashed potatoes. The Melbourne is your go-to if you wish lodging that connects with where you are.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PadovaChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

The hotel is very central for all things in Perth city and is very affordable, unfortunately that probably reflects the quality. The room decor is very simple and cheap and not a very cosy or relaxed atmosphere. The facilities are limited, but that is expected as it is an old hotel. It has plenty of character and a pub downstairs (which didn't cause any noise problems). I would stay here again because of the price and location compared to other city hotels, but the rooms are merely for sleeping only and not to relax in.

Room Tip: Get a room on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djb3280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed in the Melbourne Hotel for one week the end of November 2011. I have to say that this place offers very little value for the money. The rate I paid was in excess of AUS 200 / night for a delux room w/ balcony, and what I got in return was a run down room with tired fixtures, and old bed and very little in the way of charm. The balcony was sparse, plantless and was really just a place the tenants used to smoke. Its a shame really, as the building itself is beautiful and with some effort, it could be a lot better than it is.

The Hotel has a bar with some of the old world charm about it that gets a bit busy and noisy as the CBD happy hour crowd filters through. The Hotel also has a restaurant that serves up some decent food in a nice classic setting. A bit expensive as you would expect a hotel to be, but not bad.

There are limited amenities to the "boutique" hotel and things like business services are not really offered here. The internet avaiability was intermittent at best and I ended up just going through my own celular roaming plan. If you were planning on officing from the hotel, you might do better elsewhere.

So, here it is:

Pros:
1) location location location. Siturated directly across from QV1 plaza (Perth CBD)
2) The Hotel Bar - old and not without some charm (popular with CBD happy hour crowd)
3) Building architecture
4) Hotel staff (generally very nice and accommodating)
5) Hotel restaurant - limited couisine but a decent atmosphere

Cons:
1) Crappy, sparse, old (run-down), rooms
2) Crappy conference "rooms"
3) Intermittent internet connection
4) No business or tourist services
5) No late checkout (I tried buit was told the cleaning staff were off duty by 12 noon, so I needed to checkout before then)
6) Very poor value for the money

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandiablues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We booked this hotel as it seemed to be the only one available over the CHOGM weekend in Perth! It is cheap, and the hotel rooms are above a pub, and right in the middle of the CBD. So it is very central to bars, restaurants, attractions etc, but it is noisy. The rooms and the upstairs hotel part are tired and rundown, and the whole hotel could do with a make-over.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senorita08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The location and price (central & cheap) were the best things about the Melbourne.

The hotel needs some updating. It's pretty basic and noisy. While not one to complain about noise when staying in the CBD (which goes with the territory) the walls provide very little insulation to outside noises. Adjoining rooms televisions, conversations in the corridor and the bass beat from the downstairs bar/club all seeped thru into the room.

The other disturbing thing was finding the door to our room had been propped open all day, presumably by housekeeping. Fortunately nothing was stolen.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plushtones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Terrace Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
West Perth
Tribe Perth
Tribe Perth
#14 of 66 in Perth
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mantra on Murray
#25 of 66 in Perth
1,617 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Duxton Hotel
#16 of 66 in Perth
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melbourne

Address: 942 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $182 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melbourne Hotel Perth
Melbourne Hotel Perth
Melbourne Boutique Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing