We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Short Stay”
Review of Crowne Plaza Perth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Perth
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza on Langley Park, Perth to attend a wedding. We booked for 3 nights and found the hotel to be a great place to stay when you have things to do in and around Perth.

The room was not Riverfront, but did have a corner window allowing a great view of the river and South Perth. It was spacious with a Queen size bed (not King) which was extremely comfortable and including great pillows - 2 armchairs and a reasonably sized desk/work station. Everything was sparkling clean and fresh.

The bathroom, although a little dated with the terrazzo bench tops etc. was sparkling clean also and quite roomy for a hotel ensuite. It included a separate bath and a modern clear glass shower unit. I have a beef with showers over the bath configurations as I am getting older so this was a pleasant surprise. Another pleasant addition was the water-saver shower head which gave a great shower stream without drowning you in tonnes of precious water. Good move Crowne Plaza!

We ate in the hotel each morning for breakfast and found the supplied buffet fresh and innovative for a hotel buffet breakfast. Small amounts of things were put out and constantly refreshed, which meant that everything was looking at its best. The staff were friendly and attentive although on the last morning of our stay - a Sunday - they were overwhelmed with people and were not coping terribly well. It appeared that the maitre'd or overseer might have been absent and it appeared that nobody was in charge on the floor. The staff were floating all over the dining room reacting to dramas rather than caring for their areas. However, this was a small hiccup in an otherwise pleasant stay.

The housekeeping staff were especially helpful and attentive.

The location is very pleasant with such a peaceful outlook onto the Swan River. We walked to the river and into town quite easily and find it easily accessible from all other parts of the city by car.

Although the lobby and reception are not terribly attractive or luxurious, the lobby bar maintains a comfortable, homely appearance with people sitting chatting and enjoying each others company or just reading a paper. It has a friendly favourite cafe appearance.
All in all, Crowne Plaza is a comfortable place to stay when in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cinnabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 718 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2009

The Crowne Plaza, Perth is dull, dull, dull...!

Apart from the location on the Swan River, the place was comfortable but not much more!

The desk service was friendly enough but the room allocated was not quite as requested and a sleepless night ensued. The furniture in public areas and rooms was IKEA standard but no more than that. The bed could have been softer and the pillows of a higher standard than synthetic. The breakfast was pricey, the 'wifi' charges exorbitant and no free access in the lobby. The final cheek was to charge an extra one and a half percent on credit card payment.

Three stars, certainly, but not four!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterStreetwise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

We had pre-paid to get the best rate for this hotel and this made our check-in very simple and swift. All that was requested was my credit card and a signature then we were on our way to room 1105 (a Premier River View Queen). First impressions of the room were good and especially when we saw the private balcony and view south out over the Swan River. The room itself was spotlessly clean and well appointed, not huge in size but perfectly adequate. All the usual furniture including LCD television and well stocked mini-bar. A nice extra was a coffee plunger with ground coffee as well as the usual tea / coffee facilities. Perhaps the most disappointing thing was the size of the bathroom. It is very small, however has everything one would require at hand. The height of the over the bath shower head is definitely more suited to the vertically challenged than a person of average height. The length of the bath tub was also rather short. None the less everything was perfectly adequate for our needs.

I must also point out the very expensive rates the hotel charges for Internet access. It is 55 cents a minute to a maximum of $25 per day. I cannot see how any hotels can justify such charges. If you would like to access the Internet I suggest you go to the Business Centre (a tiny room on the 1st floor) where 2 desktop PC's are available free of charge

We did not eat breakfast in the hotel but we did use the restaurant and also room-service. Dinner in the restaurant was no more expensive than at similar independent restaurants in the city and the steak was excellent. We used the room-service option one night as Perth city centre is definitely not geared towards tourists. Decent restaurants are few and far between and most places close by 10.00pm. There were barely enough that we found and liked enough to eat in to choose a different one each night of our weeks holiday. The hotel rescued us with a very tasty in room meal and with a bottle of wine from a nearby Bottle Shop we had a quiet night watching TV.

The pool area was never busy and we didn’t actually go to it. We could see it from our balcony and only once in a week saw a brave soul enter the water. It was Spring and although the air temperature is lovely (even hot) the water is still a bit cool.

Location of the hotel is good and there is easy access to most places by bus which is free to hop on and off in the city centre zone. Walking along to the Central Business District takes about 20 minutes.

We would recommend the hotel but Perth city centre is very quiet and 7 days possibly too long to remain in the one base.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tam Carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

We stayed here for five nights at the end of October and whilst the location is convenient and the staff very friendly and helpful, the hotel itself was unremarkable and not up to the standard of Crowne Plazas elsewhere. We arrived at an extremely ungodly hour and were relieved to be able to check straight in to a river view room on the fifth floor. Unfortunately, the room had a connecting door and although the guest next door was only talking at normal volume, we could hear every word of his telephone conversation. As we were hoping to get a couple of hours' sleep, my husband asked to move rooms and we were then given a room on the seventh floor, at the end of the corridor and without a connecting door. It turned out to be one of the quietest we have stayed in. The bed however wasn't that good; every time my husband shifted his weight, the effect was like being at sea and every morning I awoke with a stiff neck and shoulders. And unfortunately the bathroom was well below par for this class of hotel. The single basin, loo and shower over the 'bath' was in the smallest space imaginable and not that comfortable to use. Although it was clean, there was still black mould around the shower screen and along the edge of the tub. In conversation, we found out that the hotel was formerly a Travel Lodge (and then a Park Royal), which explains the tiny bathroom and small room generally. Apparently the newer rooms without river view are of a much better size.
So in summary, it was a pleasant enough stay, convenient, quiet and with a pretty view but the room was disappointing and a bit on the tatty side. All of the staff we came into contact with were excellent but I would only return if the price was amazing and I'd probably forfeit the view for a better-sized bathroom!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MM2H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Like all Crowne Plaza hotels we have stayed in, we have no complaints about this one. The restaurant is a little pricey, but the bar meals at half the price are excellent. The hotel, which faces the Swan River across a large green space, is about 20 minutes walk from the pier on the Swan River and from the main shopping area.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Good location, yet the service is poor. Booked agreeing on the double room for $150, however they offered a twin. Not much sense for us, who were a couple, getting away to Perth for a romantic vacation. Anyhow, spoke to the reception and they found a room, however billed us $180 per night, $30 extra, stating this was a Lake View which was more expensive.

Room service was $125 for a bottle of wine and a cheese plate, waited 30 minutes. Spent $600 for 3 nights and 1 late snack- expected more from the place.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gregnazvanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

locatio of the hotel is good..

service provided by the staff is excellece...

room is spacios and clean...

free internet access at the business centre...beside providing 2 pc for use,we can bring down our laptop and plug in the Lan cable without any charges.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank crew2861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Hyatt Regency Perth
#20 of 66 in Perth
2,362 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,290 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#13 of 66 in Perth
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duxton Hotel
#16 of 66 in Perth
1,120 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Mercure Perth
#27 of 66 in Perth
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Perth

Address: 54 Terrace Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#18 Business Hotel in Perth
#20 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $110 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Perth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Perth is located in the heartland of beautiful Perth Western Australia with picturesque Langley Park at the hotel doorstep. An upscale riverside hotel with spectacular views of the city’s iconic Swan River and just minutes from the Perth CBD. 20 Minutes from the Airport. Guestrooms and suites incorporate generous workstations, high speed internet, bathroom amenities and premium bedding linen. 96 rooms and 2 suites face the river with private balconies offering beautiful panoramic views. 24 hour reception and concierge, complimentary laundry facilities and business centre. Enjoy the outdoor lap pool and fitness centre, or venture outside for recreational fitness on Langley Park. Complimentary bikes available to hire. Gusti Bar & Restaurant is an open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 7 days a week. Seasonal menus focus on fresh local produce and contemporary modern Australian cuisine. Easy reach of the city and its many attractions make this Perth hotel the ideal place to stay whatever the occasion or reason for travel. The natural surrounds are ideal for relaxing and recreation, while onsite parking and free public transport make it simple and convenient to get around town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Perth Hotel Perth
Perth Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing