We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Australia Day”
Review of Crowne Plaza Perth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Perth
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked in to see the shy show on Australia day and specifically asked for a room on one of the top floors 6-7 storey with a roll-away bed (for our son). When I rang to confirm the booking, reception said that there was a sofa-bed in the room,but that we were on the second floor in the front building because they don't put roll-aways in rooms on Australia-day. Disappointed! Reception then told us that they would see what they could do to make us happy and mentioned chocolates, fruit and champagne in our room on arrival. When we arrived, however the room was empty, no peace offering! The maitre d told us to leave it with him and he would see what he could do for us. He later appeared with a sad bottle of Merlot. Not good enough for a Crown Plaza. As we later discovered our room was under the pool. Water came splashing over our balcony as we were watching the sky show and we heard the pump or something like it running all night! I will think twice before staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Christine N.

Thank you for your comments. Guest rooms are allocated by room type booked and high river view rooms are at a premium rate. The second floor rooms are classified as standard rooms and sold at the standard room rate. We apologise fot any misunderstanding that may have lead you to believe you would be allocated a room outside of what was booked.
That aside we are disappointed you did not enjoy your experience as a guest with us on Australia Day, if we can assist further please let me know directly.

Kindest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 742 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just spent the weekend here and must say how much we enjoyed the stay. The staff were wonderful, from reception, concierge, valet, breakfast, wait and cleaning, nothing was a problem. We did upgrade to a river facing balcony room and the view over the Swan and the breeze was great.
Only minor negatives were, rooms, especially bathrooms are getting a little tired and we felt the pool area should have some kind of permanent shaded area, particularly in the afternoon when the whole area is in full sun. The signs stating no umbrella shade is available because of the wind could be aleviated by having some of the area in shade sails.

Room Tip: opt for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kym J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Kym J,

Thank you for commenting on your recent weeeknd stay at Crowne Plaza Perth.

We are delighted you continue to enjoy your experiences with us.

We appreciate your observations around the guest room appearance and shade at the pool and we can share with you we do have investment plans for both areas over the next few years.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stay here every month whilst traveling on business. If you get a room with a balcony the view is superb over the river. One of the few hotels to offer free bike hire and the service is excellent.
Rooms need an upgrade, especially the air conditioning, but great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Manager at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Carl K,

We are delighted you continue to stay with Crowne Plaza on business , we appreciate you have choice and value your advocacy. Thank you.

We also appreciate your comments on updatibng the guest room and public areas, these plans are being considered progressively.

Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have stayed here on a number of occasions, the location is nice and the open park land across the road is fantastic and the views of the river breathtaking. The welcome and service from staff is great as you would expect from Crowne Plaza, the food the same. However the hotel itself is getting a little old and is need of refurbishment in particular the rooms, bathrooms and hallways, it is more comparative to a mid range Holiday Inn than any of the other Crowne Plazas I have stayed at. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice, clean place to stay with friendly staff.

Room Tip: River view rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Glen D,

Thank you for your advocacy and we are delighted you continue to find our location, staff and ambience at a level you value and are willing to recommend.

We do have investment plans now under way to lift and refresh the public areas and guest rooms going forward. Hopefully this work when complete will make a noticeable difference to your impressions.

Kindest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed only for one night and the check in staff were very friendly - parking is $27AUD per night which could add up over a few days. Our room was a river view room which had a lovely view of the Swan River basin. The bedding was clean, the office chair provided was rather dirty and the bathroom could do with a good makeover - the shower screen in particular. Room charges for the internet were very expensive but the hotel does off a 30min complimentary wifi in the lobby - just ask for a code at reception. The swimming pool on the 3rd floor looked inviting but I was unable to use it in the morning as it was being used by some team for their morning training.

Room Tip: River view rooms have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Dorla UK

Thank you for noting your observations on the recent experience you had as a guest at Crowne Plaza Perth.

We appreciate your comments and will review those areas we can to improve on the guest experience.

Kindes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights and found it a poor experience due to the room.

The entrance, location, front desk staff and breakfast buffet were all average-above average, however my room was bland and the bathroom felt dirty.

This is a short review, because there's really nothing special about the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank -Chanelle-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Chanell F

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Perth.

Needless to say we are disappointed you found the guest room experience was not as you expected.

If there were any specific aspects you feel we should be aware of please let us know directly; we also appreciate your comments on the front desk staff and welcome experience.

If you are travelling to Perth again please let us know.

Kindest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I love the location of this hotel for many reasons. I can run the bridge to bridge when I'm here, I can walk to Safeway if I need, or i can just stay put. The buffet in the morning is up there for one of the best buffets for a chain hotel I've had (in Australia). The reception staff are always welcoming and are knowledgable of the area. You can also rent bicycles and cycle around Perth which is always a nice to do. This hotel gets my tick for a great night sleep. Decent size bathroom with a separate bath. I stay here weekly for work and couldn't be happier when I know I'm staying here. You'll really enjoy the experience crown plaza Perth offers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear RPKE

We are delighted you enjoy your stay at Crowne Plaza Perth. Thank you for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 66 in Perth
1,437 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#21 of 66 in Perth
2,531 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#12 of 66 in Perth
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Mercure Perth
#27 of 66 in Perth
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Perth

Address: 54 Terrace Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#18 Business Hotel in Perth
#19 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $105 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Perth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Perth is located in the heartland of beautiful Perth Western Australia with picturesque Langley Park at the hotel doorstep. An upscale riverside hotel with spectacular views of the city’s iconic Swan River and just minutes from the Perth CBD. 20 Minutes from the Airport. Guestrooms and suites incorporate generous workstations, high speed internet, bathroom amenities and premium bedding linen. 96 rooms and 2 suites face the river with private balconies offering beautiful panoramic views. 24 hour reception and concierge, complimentary laundry facilities and business centre. Enjoy the outdoor lap pool and fitness centre, or venture outside for recreational fitness on Langley Park. Complimentary bikes available to hire. Gusti Bar & Restaurant is an open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 7 days a week. Seasonal menus focus on fresh local produce and contemporary modern Australian cuisine. Easy reach of the city and its many attractions make this Perth hotel the ideal place to stay whatever the occasion or reason for travel. The natural surrounds are ideal for relaxing and recreation, while onsite parking and free public transport make it simple and convenient to get around town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Perth Hotel Perth
Perth Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing