We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel in a good position”
Review of Crowne Plaza Perth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Perth
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Arrived at 2am from the U.K. The hotel seemed very basic, however the room was clean, but no towels in the bathroom, all we wanted to do was shower and sleep. After calling down to the night porter some were brought up, not a good start. The buffet breakfast was very good and the hotel was in a nice position, with a short walk over the road to the river and a longer walk to the city centre. Unfortunately our room was under the gym, when we complained about the noise the receptionist just shrugged her shoulders. As we were only there for two nights we didn't bother to ask for another room, this crowne plaza was not what we would expect from this group. It looked very tired and could do with updating.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room under the gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerseylily22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Jerseylily22,

Thank you for sharing your observations on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Perth.

We are disappointed you had to call down for towels on arrival, pleae accept our apology for this oversight. We are working on insulating any sound or vibration from the gym floor which may contribute to improved performance in this area going forward.
We are pleased you found our breakfast and location added to your enjoyment and we look forward to welcoming you again at another Crowne Plaza when next you travel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 718 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed one night and enjoyed my experience. Staff were friendly. The rooms are a bit dated and on the smaller side but was clean and well presented. Gym was basic but had some useful equipment. Pool was great, can't get a much better location for a pool in Perth CBD. Really enjoyed the buffet breakfast I had, great selection of cooked breakfast items, can recommend that.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Staff unfriendly, rooms very dated. For the price I would have expected much better. Not recommended. I was really disapointed after a long flight from Sydney to be just snubbed by the front desk staff. Arrived and was told the room wouldn't be ready for another 2 hours. Told to leave my luggage and go for a walk. Next time I will be staying elswhere

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Eric D,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. It is always disappointing to learn your experience on this occasion was not complimentary to the high personal standards we aspire to.
We know with Daylight savings time differences guest can arrive earlier into Perth. I am not aware of your arrival time at the Hotel, check in is however from 2.00 PM which allows us time to service departing rooms for new arrivals , this can be delayed when the hotel is full from the night prior and perhaps also inconvenient should you arrive early. In these cases we do try to make available guest rooms as soon as possible, we apologise if this was not managed more tactfully and for any inconvenience this may have contributed to.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Highlights were the pool and eating breakfast out on front deck. The location opposite the river is lovely too. However the amenities in the hotel are outdated and nothing flash. The rooms were adequate but certainly could do with a spruce up. Everything is run down and expensive in Perth so the Crowne is no different. It's a city at capacity. Highly recommend a walk around the river and up to Kings Park. Fabulous highlights of Perth!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Heiners,

We are delighted you choose to stay at Crowne Plaza Perth on this occasion. Thank you for your kind comments on aspects of our location and the Palm Deck amenity you enjoyed over breakfast, we agree it is a pleasant way to start the day.

We do have investment plans for the Hotel which when complete will contribute to a fresh new guest room and public area experience.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed for one night and it was a nice experience. My room had a river view and it was excellent, the hotel is very well located and the rooms are very well decorated. The room service was nice and the wine was great

Room Tip: River view is a must th have
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Siunal,

Thank you for your kind remarks on the recent stay you enjoyed with Crowne Plaza Perth.We agree the balcony amenity provides for the best river views and more so with a glass of our Western Australian wine to compliment the good weather.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We arrived in Perth in the very early hours, it was raining and we were hoping for a nice comfortable and friendly hotel. What we got was a front of house man who sorted of grunted instructions at us, so the scene was set. Once in the room we found it old, dated and pretty basic, not that it wasn't clean, but just tired and in need of a make-over. It didn't get any better when we went for breakfast in what I can only describe as the worst restaurant I have ever been to in any hotel. The choice was dire, as was the quality of the food, and the way it organised was shambolick. The Crowne Plaza is a last resort one night only place. I wish I could say I liked something about, even the location doesn't inspire one. We would never stay in the Perth Crowne Plaza again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MERVIN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Mervin,

There is no excuse for an unfriendly welcome; the poor weather we cannot control however we will review how your welcome experience could have been better.
We were surprised by you comments around the breakfast experience and will look at this in more detail.

Again thank you for keeping us informed this way as it allows us to monitor our operations more closely and taking corrective action when necessary.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The impression of Crowne Plaza hotels to me is something more than what I had experienced. Perhaps the facade needs a little uplift. The location is considered east side of CBD but still lacks the direct accessibility compared to those along Murray St and St George Terrace. You need to walk about 15 mins to reach the central shopping heart.

Room was comfortable and spacious enough. The plus point is it comes with a balcony where u can enjoy the view of the Swan River over a cup of tea. The view was fantastic! Internet in the room was not complimentary but there is the business center where u can use for free and print free as well. Bed was as soft as what I like with Holiday Inn Express! Breakfast chargeable and choice of daily spread can get bored after few days stay. Speed from the kitchen for dinner can be faster as the waiting time was a little longer. Maybe can have a change once every few days. The hotel has a outdoor pool and a fitness center for use.

More eateries choices with beer and provision stores along Adelaide Terrace. There is a nice Persian restaurant about 5 mins walk away from the hotel.

Staffs' service was always warm and cheerful. Great thanks to Sam and Stephen from the Conceiege and Sehna from the frontdesk for helping with recommendations and the bill enquiry. Overall, the rates can be pricey but a pleasant stay here in Perth with their friendly service.

Room Tip: Request for high floor rooms facing the Swan River. Beautiful sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gecko_cheeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clivep471, Business Development Director at Crowne Plaza Perth, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Gecko-Cheeko

We are delighted you enjoyed the amenity of our river view rooms and balcony. We agree it is a refreshing view. And, thank you for the kind comments you have made in identifying some of our colleagues.

We hope to see you again one day.

Kindest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Hyatt Regency Perth
#20 of 66 in Perth
2,362 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,290 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#13 of 66 in Perth
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duxton Hotel
#16 of 66 in Perth
1,120 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Mercure Perth
#27 of 66 in Perth
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Perth

Address: 54 Terrace Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#18 Business Hotel in Perth
#20 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $110 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Perth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Perth is located in the heartland of beautiful Perth Western Australia with picturesque Langley Park at the hotel doorstep. An upscale riverside hotel with spectacular views of the city’s iconic Swan River and just minutes from the Perth CBD. 20 Minutes from the Airport. Guestrooms and suites incorporate generous workstations, high speed internet, bathroom amenities and premium bedding linen. 96 rooms and 2 suites face the river with private balconies offering beautiful panoramic views. 24 hour reception and concierge, complimentary laundry facilities and business centre. Enjoy the outdoor lap pool and fitness centre, or venture outside for recreational fitness on Langley Park. Complimentary bikes available to hire. Gusti Bar & Restaurant is an open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, 7 days a week. Seasonal menus focus on fresh local produce and contemporary modern Australian cuisine. Easy reach of the city and its many attractions make this Perth hotel the ideal place to stay whatever the occasion or reason for travel. The natural surrounds are ideal for relaxing and recreation, while onsite parking and free public transport make it simple and convenient to get around town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Perth Hotel Perth
Perth Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing