We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in Perth CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location in Perth CBD”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed here for a week whilst on a business trip. Location is excellent, right in the middle of the city and a short walk to the train station. It is easy to get around, search for food and explore the city from this spot.

Hotel lobby and lift is a little dated, but rooms were clean though the cleaning service was a little inconsistent, I did not eat breakfast here as I preferred to grab a coffee and muffin across the street but dinner at the restaurant was pretty good and the selections on the menu is varied. If you prefer not to dine in you can also request for a sandwich or wrap that you can take up to your room. The minibar is empty (I landed around midnight, so i wanted a snack) but there is a 24 hour corner shop nearby if you need anything, else the Woolworths and hay st/murray st malls are about 5 minutes away.

Internet is pricey (AUD10/2 hours) but it seems to be a standard deal in Perth.

Seemed overpriced when I compare it to other countries, however this is that standard in Perth so If you're looking for a city location this is ideal. No problem with noise, I was on the 8th floor and I slept like a baby. Easy enough to get a taxi straight from the hotel, I waited for about 5-10 minutes max.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Lisa L,

We appreciate you taking your time to write about your recent stay with us. We agree with you it is easy to discover Perth’s attractions from the Holiday Inn which is centrally located in the city.

We appreciate your comments on our mini bar which allows you to stock your favourite beverages and snacks as convenient and at sensible prices from our bar. We will be pleased to pre stock your bar with your preferred items if you let us know in advance of arrival.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the bed and pillows contributed to your good nights rest. We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    352
    114
    20
    15
See reviews for
160
225
69
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We just returned from a recent 4 day long weekend in Perth - We couldn't decide on the hotels so we split it 2 nights at Holiday inn and 2 nights at crown plaza. Overall i'd say we preferred the holiday inn a little more.
The Holiday inn is in a pretty central location downtown, only a few mins walk from the train station. Apple store is right next door if that's your thing...The rooms were reasonable and clean. We had a king bed executive. Not the most comfortable bed in the world by any stretch but still acceptable nonetheless. The pillow menu is normally quite good however they were out of the firm pillows when I rang to order one.
The breakfast on the first floor was pretty good. Plenty of selections.
In real terms when comparing it to the crown plaza it is pretty much the same. The breakfast was the same, the hotel shampoo and conditioner etc was the same, the mini bar was the same. The beds were pretty much the same. (Yes i'm aware that they're owned by the same company but i'd expect that they were a bit different given that they're aiming at different markets...)
Also - there's a Tex Mex across the road - it's worth the trip if you're hungry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spinspinspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Peteski9,

We appreciate and are grateful for your time to write a review about your experience at our great hotel and agree with you that our location is fantastic.

With our Level 1 restaurant overlooking the Hay Street you can enjoy a wonderful fresh start to the day whilst watching and feeling the buzz of Perth City, while you enjoy as you mentioned a great selection of breakfast goodies , such as pancakes, omelettes and French toast if you wish.

We have noted your comments around the similarities of the offerings between our sister hotel and would like to advise that the differences in our product offerings will be more apparent in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Perth City Centre when you next visit our splendid city.

Best wishes,

Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Fantastic stay, very friendly staff, rooms were very clean apart from the carpet which had very noticable stains, but had been vaccum. Great location in the center of the city provides a fantastic location for exploring the city. Hotel hallways are looking a little tired. Valet parking available which is a bonus. They gave us a welcome pack which was lovely. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaGaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear MariaGaspar,

Thanks so much for taking your time to write your review on our Trip site and we agree our location is awesome!

I am particularly delighted to hear that you received great customer service, as we strive to anticipate our guest needs to ensure you can just relax and be yourself. We certainly have noted you other comments around carpets and hallways which will be addressed in the future as well. Happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and welcome pack.

We very much look forward to welcoming you both back to Perth in the future.

With our best wishes,

Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Decent Holiday Inn in the centre of Perth provides a fantastic location for exploring the city. Hotel hallways are looking very tired and so Is the carpet in the room with noticeable stains. Valet parking is $30 probably can't find a Better option nearby however if arriving after 6pm street parking seems to be free.
I wouldn't actually want to pay the price they are charging here which is on par with everything in Perth but getting it with points made it good value they also Gave us a welcome pack which was nice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeliechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear eeliechick,

We really appreciate you taking your time to write a review on our Trip site. There is no doubt our location is second to none, very close to all amenities which is really great for our guests.

We make every effort to contain the cost of parking in the city and by providing a valet service you are assured your vehicle is parked securely, street parking is an option however is limited by time restrictions which may not always be convenient.

We appreciate lodging costs in Perth may seem high; we do however price our accommodation competitively and look to add value to our guests experience where we can like the amenity items we provided to your room. Seasonal and promotional offers are also available at different times of the year. As a Priority Club Rewards member you will also earn valuable points towards free stays every time you stay at an IHG property.

We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back when you are in Perth again.

Kind regards,

Deane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very nice hotel in central Perth, nice and close to walk to the wharf to catch the ferry to Fremantle, and also to the shopping malls which was great. Room was very comfy and clean. Quite pricey but I'm told that is not unusual in Perth. Staff were very helpful and the late checkout at 1pm was fantastic. Definitely would stay again :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimnlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear jimnlea,

We really appreciate you taking your time to write a review on our Trip site. I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us and as you have commented; our location in the centre of the Perth is spectacular, with many things to see and do in walking distance.

I hope we can welcome you back West sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

The people who work in this hotel are exceptional! Checking in & out was easy, the bar and restaurant staff very friendly, in fact everyone I encountered who works here were pleasant and welcoming. I had no problems or hassles and to me this is a sign of a well run hotel. I have stayed here several times this year for work and their high standards are consistent. It's great to know us Australians still know how to provide great hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldCock123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear OldCock123,

What a pleasure it is for me to read your review on our Trip Advisor site. I was delighted to share your review with our team where we all strive to deliver a warm, welcoming, friendly and consistent service to all guests at the Holiday Inn Perth City Centre so you can relax and be yourself.

Thanks so much for taking your valuable time to write the review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back, when you next visit our vibrant city.

Warmest regards,
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jandakot, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights with my wife and 9 year old daughter. The location is second to none. I've stayed in hotels situated further east on Adelaide Tce, which involved a 10-15 minute walk or a CAT bus ride to the mall areas. However, at the Holiday Inn City Centre, you step straight into the action as soon as you walk out of the lobby.

The room was quite good, however the bed wasn't the most comfortable I've slept on, it was OK. The bathroom, whilst clean and tidy, was a little small and starting to look a bit dated.

The hotel staff provided excellent service and check-in check-out was a breeze. The valet parking was good, with the car appearing within minutes of being requested.

We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, there's just too many options nearby. Although it would have been good to have breakfast up against that big glass wall that overlooks Hay St!

The gym over the road was handy for a quick workout.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TQ30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deane P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Perth City Centre, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear TQ30,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel.

We acknowledge your comments with respect to our central location and as you can see from past reviews it is second to none. Being right in the heart of the city we have shopping malls, a variety of restaurants and the Swan River all a stone throw away from our hotel which you have certainly highlighted. We take on-board your comments around the bed and bathroom; these areas are included in our future plans.

I am delighted to hear that our staff were warm, friendly and efficient which is what we strive to achieve every day here at the Holiday Inn. We are sorry you did not have the opportunity to experience our 788 Bar and Cafe as we have some great offerings, perhaps next time.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back, when you next return to Perth.

Kind regards,
Deane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 65 in Perth
1,212 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 65 in Perth
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Mercure Perth
#24 of 65 in Perth
1,843 reviews
Miss Maud Hotel
#8 of 65 in Perth
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Perth City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Perth City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Address: 778 - 788 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#6 Family Hotel in Perth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#12 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Perth City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre offers you the excitement, ease and convenience of our unbeatable inner city location. Situated directly on Hay Street at the heart of Perth's main business and retail district, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, theatres and boutique shopping. Perth Arena, Perth Convention Centre, Kings Park and the Swan River are only a stroll away. Secure parking, free inner city transport and the nearby ferry terminal and railway station make it easy to get around, and our friendly capable team is always ready to support you and share local knowledge. Holiday Inn Perth City Centre is also Perth's Best Hotel for Business Travellers. It's renowned for outstanding facilities and service. A 4 1/2 star hotel with Perth corporate headquarters at the doorstep, your accommodation could not be more conveniently located to do business in. With first-class meeting facilities, 24-hour reception and concierge, onsite business centre, parking and Wi-Fi, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre provides a convenient base for Perth's corporate and business hotel guests. With the best location, friendly staff and stylish accommodation, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre has everything you are looking for in a Perth CBD hotel. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, Holiday Inn Perth City Centre on Hay Street delivers the best hotel experience, great value and allows you to simply be yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Perth City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre Hotel Perth
Perth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing