We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try their lemon meringue pie!...”

The Secret Garden Cafe
Ranked #8 of 43 Coffee & Tea in Perth
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Ashland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Try their lemon meringue pie!...”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

What a great little eatery! The name is an accurate one. We had lunch in the delightful outdoor garden setting at the back of their restaurant. I had their chicken sandwich and a generous bowl of their soup of the day...a delightfully tangy minestrone-type tomato concoction. All of their food items looked yummy but the true highlight was the fabulous piece of lemon meringue pie. Most lemon meringue pie I've tried over many years is too sweet and too much on the gummy/too-yellowish translucent side of the culinary picture. This pie was piled high with zesty meringue and solid in color along the lines of key lime pie with a taste unlike and superior to any previous pie experience in my life! Truly amazing! Their servers were young, professional and friendly. From Oregon in the United States of America, it took me 32 hours to get to this place, but it was worth the trip!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swingman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geraldton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
510 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Ambiance Plus”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have visited the Secret Garden Cafe several times when I have been in the South Perth area. I keep going back because parking is easy (& free if you are only there an hour), and walking around to the back of the cafe, you really are in a secret garden. You would never suspect all the tables and the trees are there for customers out the back if you didn't know! And there is plenty of fresh, yummy choices on the menu, preprepared or made to order. Free cold water and good coffee. Efficient staff. I'll go again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geromam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“shhhhh”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

you know you hear about a secret garden and enchanting, quant come to mind. well they do for me and that's just what it is. plus it really is a secret garden. I would bet money in the fact that 80% of people walking past don't even know its there and that just the way I like it. it really is a special place and best not for the masses. it's got a beautiful charm and is unique for Perth.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank silvermasked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Smoked pork Hock beans we're delicious, came in on a Monday, friendly staff, relatively busy. Good coffee, great ambiance

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KikiPill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,089 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 868 helpful votes
“In a secret spot”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Secret Garden café really is a little bit of a secret – you probably have to be looking for it to find it. It is located in a small alcove off Murray Street, and you walk through some seating for a neighbouring restaurant to find it. The place has a nice atmosphere though, with gnarly old white brick walls and some nice artwork and décor on display. There is seating in a courtyard out the back and in the alcove to the side, as well as inside the café itself.
My sandwich was very tasty and big, with an excellent serving of salad on the side. A nice place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiver75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Secret Garden Cafe also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Secret Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing