We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RAMEN!”

Nao Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 1,369 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“RAMEN!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ramen here was good! Queue alone speaks for itself. Really close to the Criterion Hotel on Hay Street which was convenient for me and my partner. More seating behind but was a cold day so we sat inside!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    59
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mons, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Two meals worth ramen...”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My friend recommended this place as they are meant to serve the best ramen in town. It is true that they have a large selection of choices and they are more than generous on the portions! It was very good. The place was packed even around 2pm which is always a good sign.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loratje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Ramen in Town”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This place is great for a good decent meal with friends.

The place is too small for big groups but seats well if you are by yourself or with up to three or so of your friends.

Here at Kangaroo Inn we always recommend our guests try Nao if they are looking to try some authentic Japanese food. If they don't beleive us we simply point them to the queue?

Those that like spicy food I presonally recommend the chili infused ramen with the spicy sauce.

If you eat pork, the sliced char siew here is awesome and goes very well with their ramen.

The noodle portion is large and satsifying but for those who like meat, it may be good to order additional serves of meat.

I have yet to try their terriyaki chicken as everytime I want to order it I feel like I should be eating Ramen, but I have seem others eat it and they look delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Innkeeper K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gohl
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Ramen”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you missed Ramen, this is the place to be. They make their own noodle.

You eat from a typical ramen bowl (ie huge), and soup is very tasty. I am not sure if they use MSG but I remember I used to be told in Japan, MSG is no big deal because it is made from the seaweed. Not sure who to believe so maybe taste should come first.

Like in Japan, the ramen is typically served in either soy sauce flavoured soup, or salt-flavoured soup, or miso-flavoured soup. I think there is a fourth soup, but I don't remember.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Little Japanese Restaurant hidden in City”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Little Japanese Restaurant hidden in City, you won't notice it unless you paying more attention to details of the street and shops layout. Open for lunches during weekdays office hour and Sunday. Extended Dinner trading on Friday City late night shopping.

Famous for its freshly made noodles- normal (egg noodle), Green (spinach) and Red (Chili). If you are not sure to get which dishes out of the Ramen- I would recommend the Cha su Ramen either in Sho yu or Miso soup. Not to mention to get extra Cha su or Pork ribs.

If you are not after Ramen, then try the Gyoza (Dumpling) or Takoyaki (Octopus mixed with flour batter and cooked into round shaped in a special pan) or the selection of other rice dishes or Sushi roll.

If you are in a rush or no time to wait during rush hour then take away just another option you can get to enjoy the delicious lunch!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nao Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Nao Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing