We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed sunset dining”

Clancys Fish Bar City Beach
Ranked #66 of 1,369 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Overlooking the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean, Clancy’s Fish Bar City Beach occupies one of the most beautiful locations in the west. Begin the day with a freshly brewed coffee and breakfast and drink in the view. Pop down to the beach for a swim, then come back for lunch and surely it’s time for one of our great beers. You of course will find fish, but plenty of other offerings are available, with an accent on share plates that reflect the casual, laid back approach that Clancy’s is famous for. Come back early evening this being prime time for customers as the sun begins its descent to set spectacularly into the Indian Ocean. You may just catch the belly dancing, samba dancers, jugglers, or a top notch jazz or groove band. Or you may see whales…….In winter , join the growing band of storm watchers who gather to watch storm fronts roll in across the over Rottnest Island . Come along and get a taste of Clancy’s on the beach……..
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxed sunset dining”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was a quick dinner after an afternoon on the beach, before going to the Moonlight Cinema. It was a lovely meal, the waiter was happy to talk through the menu and the view from the balcony difficult to beat! Would definitely go back and have a more leisurely meal and a few drinks watching the sunset.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lulu_h1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    170
    74
    40
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Indian Ocean delight.”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We ate here on a cool Febuary Saturday evening after attempting to get to Joes Fish shack at Freo. and what a wonderfull experience it was. No problems parking (why on earth we tried to get to the Freo with its overcrowded port and mediocre food escapes me) there was enough parking to fit a subicao stadium crowd in.
Clancys take no bookings so there was a short wait while we waited for a table to becaome vacant. The place was heaving.
We were given the option of sitting at a high table and chair or on a bench outside on the verandah and we choose the latter as it was a bit further from the hustle and bustle of the main restaurant. Service was smart and efficent and as we had already looked at the menue we were able to order our drinks and meal at the same time.
Sitting there on the verandah in the fading light, sheltered from the evening breeze, the sounds of the happy restaurant behind and the gentle tone of the background music, we gazed out over the Indian Ocean as it rolled onto the white sandy beach in front of us. The sky was ablaze with colour and as the light faded the ships offshore became a blaze of twinkling lights. Would you want to be anywhere else?.
This rather magical scene was interupted by the arrival of our food. Before our drinks arrived. In less than 5mins. The waitress looked at the rather stunned looks on our face and said "it helps to order the most simple thing on the menu as it being cooked all the time".
Fish and chips, fresh fish and chips. Hot and crispy, Wth two generous fillets of fish, lashings of chips accompanied by a green salad, it was absolutely delicious.
We will return, time and time again. An absolute delight.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rajadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Clancy's is a rare find in Perth - a place to eat on the water.

Service was good. At times, the wait staff were joking with each other, so made the place feel very informal.

Food was good, not great. Drinks were great. Well priced.

The best thing was the view.

Clancys does not take reservations, so you need to turn up early to get a nice table with a view.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lucky there was a good view because the food wasn't worth it.”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Visited over the Australia day long weekend. Unfortunately the first meal I ordered and the first 2 drinks were all out. I ended up going for the coconut prawns from the main meals section. For $23 ($26 with the holiday surcharge) I got 3 prawns with so sides whatsoever. While they were tasty there should have been more prawns for that price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Lovely aspect overlooking the Indian Ocean. Food has potential but could sharpen up some of the flavours to raise it above "pub food"

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clancys Fish Bar City Beach also viewed

 
Mount Lawley, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Clancys Fish Bar City Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing