We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good expectations, Bad delivery” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Positano

Positano
Ranked #620 of 1,644 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Western Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good expectations, Bad delivery”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Whilst wandering along James Street, looking at the many possibilities of restaurants for dinner, we were ''pulled'' in by the dapper gentleman at the door of Positano. As he radiated charm & personality we figured we were in for a treat & whilst this lovely gentleman remained courteous & pleasant throughout the entire evening, as did our particular waitress, that is where it sadly ended. We had to repeatedly ask for our wine & water & the other waitress (or possible owner?) we had the misfortune of speaking to a few times over our “1.5 hour” long wait for dinner was rude & unpleasant. At bill time she then had the gall to charge us full price for an entree size garlic prawn dish all the time ‘insisting’ it was a main & stating they came in the same size cast iron container! When I queried this with our waitress as to what consisted of main & entree size we discovered we did only have entree & ‘Miss Rudeness” was right royally p’eed off when we made her deduct the bill!

As to our other meals! The ‘’crackling” pork belly with apple & veg - we were told was definitely ‘’crackling’’ but it came soft & rubbery so we sent it back to get popped under the grill for 5 mins. All it appears they did was take off the container of apple & perhaps pop it under the grill a few secs as it came back with dried out mash, no apple, cold vegetables & a few crackle spots. It was still tasty though so such a shame not done as stated. The lamb shank was huge, hot & delicious. The veal warm & tasty but served with stone cold vegetables. The beef cheeks special was barely warm so had gone gelatinous & the veg again cold. The garlic prawns, what we got, were a good size & tasty but not enough to fill anyone for a main meal & served with two bits of sliced bread.
We aired our disappointments with the ‘’dapper man’’ & whilst he apologized profusely all he said was he had tried taking previous complaints to the Chefs & had basically been told where to go so now does not bother.

So will we return – sadly no.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    25
    17
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The service was quite good with pleasant staff, but the meal got off to a bad start when the "fresh Italian bread" was stale. The main courses, beef cheeks and lamb shanks, were pretty ordinary.

Helpful?
Thank Maz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
“Wouldn't recommend very ordinary”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had the worse risotto I have ever tasted here and the experience was compounded by the way the cashier handled the complaint. The risotto was so salty it was barely edible and most of the dish went back. When we went to pay the bill and I mentioned this, I was told - "We must have sold at least 50 of them today and non-one has complained!" Customer service skills were non existent for this staff member, who made no effort to take my complaint further or offer any type of apology or sympathetic comment. The other staff were pleasant enough, but other than taking our order and bringing the food, there really is no other service provided. Would definitely not recommend based on both the quality of the food and the total disregard shown to customers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not a piece of Italy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Oh, dear. When I order linguine carbonara (OK, it should perhaps be spaghetti) in an Italian restaurant, I'm pretty confident of knowing what I will get. Oops! Not here. Instead of al dente pasta with a thick, clingy, eggy and parmesan sauce with crisp pancetta, I was served overcooked linguine with a thin, bland, eggless sauce that contained cream (a definite no-no) and little parmesan. There was no pancetta. Instead was there was greasy, fatty, barely cooked bacon. To add insult to injury, the cook had put some coarsely chopped raw spring onions through it. Carbonara is a simple and delicious dish that I ate regularly in my favourite trattoria on the Aventino in Rome on my many regular visits there some years ago. At Positano in Perth the dish was an abomination of its namesake.

I left most of it and the fact that staff made no comment about a full plate going back to the kitchen says it all. My dining companion was almost as unimpressed with the lamb shanks. And prices were not cheap.

Service was slow and amateurish and the venue lacking in ambience. No wonder not many people were dining there. It was a dreadful experience not to be repeated.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank akrivos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“What a let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We booked a table of 10 to watch the Perth Pride Parade It was a hot day Half of our table had to sit in the sun which meant we stopped drinking alcohol as we felt sick The food was ok not good enough to return. W e had booked early , well in advance and asked for a table to watch the parade however being stuck in the sun was not what I had expected.We were the only table in the sun put at the end of the restuarant on the side and out of way . For the majority of the time we were at the restaurant the tables nearest to us were unoccupied and in the shade. No one at our table had any food delivered to them and were not eating when we asked to moved to a shaded area where no one was sitting and did not sit until we had finished our meal The service of the maitre d was unprofessional. unhelpful and disappointing for a restaurant wanting to attract a regular clientele. The restaurant extended the blind to enable us to have more shade. It was a hot day why did we had to ask for the shade blind to be extended People were putting on sun screen as they were getting sun burn. The stick date pudding was average and the chilli mussels were overcooked dry and cold. We will not return as there are plenty of other restaurants in Northbridge. What a terrible introduction to lunch time eating in Northbridge.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Positano also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing