We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast with a bonus; great macaroons”
Review of Jean-Pierre Sancho

Jean-Pierre Sancho
Ranked #191 of 1,390 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: OUR HISTORY IN FRANCE. The history of SANCHO is the story of one family's love of good food and passionate commitment to the best traditional baking methods over more than 100 years. In 1904, Albin Sancho opened the first Sancho bakery in the medieval town of Lodeve, in the south of France. When Albin died in 1936, his son Albert took over the bakery. He later purchased the shop next door as the business grew and then another...In 1967, when Albert died, his son Jean-Pierre took over, he had trained in all aspects of patisserie and baking. When he took control of SANCHO, he maintained the traditional, labor-intensive methods of bread-making that had been handed down through the family since the 19th Century, deliberately bucking the trend of factory mass-production, and ALWAYS insisting on the best quality ingredients. Jean-Pierre Sancho still operates today from the Bakery his grandfather Albin started in 1904, he has opened several other bakeries that bear his name.In 2009, Jean-Pierre Sancho passed his knowledge to 3 young French men who now call Australia home.OUR HISTORY IN AUSTRALIAThanks to our customers, our staff and our suppliers, our first year in Australia has been better than we could have imagined. In 2010, We opened the first Jean-Pierre Sancho bakery in Australia, it was the first French Boulangerie Patisserie in Perth, at 878 Hay Street. At the beginning of 2011, we opened our second shop at 111, St Georges Terrace, Perth. Shortly after, Neil Perry approached us to supply our bread to his Perth Rockpool Restaurant, We now supply bread to some of WA’s best restaurants. In April 2011, we joined the Buy West Eat Best program to promote local produce, both as a wholesaler and a retailer. In June 2011, we were awarded Best Coffee Shop in Perth by the Restaurant and Catering Association. Our Macarons and our croissants were praised as the best 3 in Perth by the Sunday Times. In August 2011, we won Best Bakery in Australia and went on Live National Television, Channel 7’s Sunrise program. In September 2011, we will open our third shop at 270, William Street, Northbridge
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a bonus; great macaroons”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

There's not a lot you can do on a wintery Sunday morning in Perth (too cold for the beach and too wet for a bike ride) except suss out good breakfast spots. Good friends whose taste buds I trust had told us about this place and we were keen to try it. First up, the coffee is very good. Perth is lucky to have many nice coffee outlets and this would rank among the top. It was nice to see a wide selection of items for breakfast catering for the light eater right through to the big breakfast fan. We opted for a ham and cheese croissant and an assiette breakfast. We've had many ham and cheese croissants and this would rank as the best. It may have to do with the cheese which had a wonderfully creamy texture. The breakfast plate had the usual sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs, tomato and toast. JPS is well known for its bread and pastries and it's boast is that its bread is made fresh daily unlike commercial and supermarket bakeries that produce breads that need a reasonable shelf life. Rockpool, gets its bread from JPS. The toast was indeed different to many provided in eateries elsewhere. But the bonus was the macaroons. Many cafes and bakeries offer macaroons (even McDonald's McCafe's have them and no I haven't tried them; Macca's confectioneries tend to be very sweet. But I should give it a go in the name of fairness) but JPS macaroons are undoubtedly the best I've come across so far. There is a wide range of flavours and all are good but my favourites are the pistachio, caramel and rose water. Prices are about par for similar restaurants but the food here, particularly the bread, is excellent. And don't forget the coffee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    34
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic French”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

It's hard to find an authentic French bakery, so once I found this place, I kept on going back for more! Lovely almond croissants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AVstuff24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern NJ
Level 6 Contributor
597 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Yummy macaroons”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The macaroons are pricey, but they are tasty! We got a couple to-go and enjoyed them. It was pretty crowded and noisy inside, so we elected for macaroons to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic coffee & food”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have found our favourite place for coffee, afternoon fix of dessert & lunch is good too. Went to both shops. Will go back when I am in Perth. Staff are great, friendly & enjoy it when you can speak a little french to them.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Motherhen408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sourdough”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I am a bread nerd. This place does pretty good stuff. I got a small batard, and ate it with Maggie Beer's pheasant farm pate. Thick caramelised crust, open crumb texture, chewy, but not too heavy. Not as sour as I would like it, nor as flavoursome. The crust got a bit too chewy after most of a day, and would have been better off with some toasting, but the interior was still moist.

Some macarons to finish - pistachio and mango. Tasty and delicate.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zedscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean-Pierre Sancho also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Jean-Pierre Sancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing