We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy macaroons”
Review of Jean-Pierre Sancho

Jean-Pierre Sancho
Ranked #207 of 1,410 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: OUR HISTORY IN FRANCE. The history of SANCHO is the story of one family's love of good food and passionate commitment to the best traditional baking methods over more than 100 years. In 1904, Albin Sancho opened the first Sancho bakery in the medieval town of Lodeve, in the south of France. When Albin died in 1936, his son Albert took over the bakery. He later purchased the shop next door as the business grew and then another...In 1967, when Albert died, his son Jean-Pierre took over, he had trained in all aspects of patisserie and baking. When he took control of SANCHO, he maintained the traditional, labor-intensive methods of bread-making that had been handed down through the family since the 19th Century, deliberately bucking the trend of factory mass-production, and ALWAYS insisting on the best quality ingredients. Jean-Pierre Sancho still operates today from the Bakery his grandfather Albin started in 1904, he has opened several other bakeries that bear his name.In 2009, Jean-Pierre Sancho passed his knowledge to 3 young French men who now call Australia home.OUR HISTORY IN AUSTRALIAThanks to our customers, our staff and our suppliers, our first year in Australia has been better than we could have imagined. In 2010, We opened the first Jean-Pierre Sancho bakery in Australia, it was the first French Boulangerie Patisserie in Perth, at 878 Hay Street. At the beginning of 2011, we opened our second shop at 111, St Georges Terrace, Perth. Shortly after, Neil Perry approached us to supply our bread to his Perth Rockpool Restaurant, We now supply bread to some of WA’s best restaurants. In April 2011, we joined the Buy West Eat Best program to promote local produce, both as a wholesaler and a retailer. In June 2011, we were awarded Best Coffee Shop in Perth by the Restaurant and Catering Association. Our Macarons and our croissants were praised as the best 3 in Perth by the Sunday Times. In August 2011, we won Best Bakery in Australia and went on Live National Television, Channel 7’s Sunrise program. In September 2011, we will open our third shop at 270, William Street, Northbridge
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The macaroons are pricey, but they are tasty! We got a couple to-go and enjoyed them. It was pretty crowded and noisy inside, so we elected for macaroons to go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GreenUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 93 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have found our favourite place for coffee, afternoon fix of dessert & lunch is good too. Went to both shops. Will go back when I am in Perth. Staff are great, friendly & enjoy it when you can speak a little french to them.

1  Thank Motherhen408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I am a bread nerd. This place does pretty good stuff. I got a small batard, and ate it with Maggie Beer's pheasant farm pate. Thick caramelised crust, open crumb texture, chewy, but not too heavy. Not as sour as I would like it, nor as flavoursome. The crust got a bit too chewy after most of a day, and would have been better off with some toasting, but the interior was still moist.

Some macarons to finish - pistachio and mango. Tasty and delicate.

1  Thank Zedscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A placed to sit and relax and indulge in yummy food and delicious coffee. When one thinks what is available as so called great coffee and pastries in Perth this was a BRILLIANT find.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

i've popped into Sanchos a few times for cakes/croissants. The service is always good, the cakes are always delciious (heaps better than the cheap Mozart cakes from other places).

Re: the customer complaining about the butter on his baguette. You are in a French cafe, if you want a scraping of plastic margarine buy a pre-packaged sandwich from City Provisions instead.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank perthpaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean-Pierre Sancho also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Jean-Pierre Sancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing