We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Fenian's pub

Fenian's pub
Ranked #87 of 1,352 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Ordered 300g steak w salad asked for no mash as cant have dairy staff taking order was very obliging - husband had the chicken Parma which he enjoyed - my steak order was rare to med but more Rare please was the request :( waiter came over 3 times to discuss order due to me paying $38 for the steak but only wanting salad they said they would provide another salad ???
Meal arrived and I could tell even b4 cutting that the steak was very overdone :( the steak knife provided would not even help, tried 1 piece then left it.
Plates were cleared without mention of food volume still on plate!
On talking with locals they agreed that we should not have gone there :(
2 mains 2 drink $80+ :(

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkno8759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    96
    60
    27
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
bermuda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Novotel Irish pub”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Food was OK, nothing special but fine, and at that it would have been fine for pub food, but the pub has live music which is WAY too loud and totally disturbed our dining experiance. I mean it great to have a bit of background music with dinner, but this way over the top and PA just too loud and spoiled it for us.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bermuda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
1 review
“Worse than terrible”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I took a party of four to this dreadful 'irish pub', on the evening of Saturday 30th June 2012.
I ordered two burger and chips, one steak pie and chips and one fish and chips, totalling an extortionate $88.
We waited over half an hour for the 'meal' to arrive, delivered by a surly girl, who would have been more at home in the Adams family, and each person bit into their freezing cold chips, freezing cold burgers, freezing cold, pie and freezing cold fish, before then trying their freezing cold peas.
Each person had only taken a few bites of their freezing cold 'meals', before deciding unanimously that they were a distinct health hazard. We waited for the afore-mentioned surly girl to walk past before telling her the meals were inedible, and her response - " you should have told me sooner, TOUGH".
Perhaps she is in training for Perth's 'host of the year competition'.
Needles to say we can give our $88 to a more deserving cause in future, rather than to this truly awful establishment, which to their utter disgrace, I believe to be part of the adjoining Novotel Hotel.
The rating 'Terrible' above does not begin to adequately describe this truly awful 'restaurant'.
Perhaps the local public health department will act upon this entirely truthful review.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevmcentee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced and awful!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stopped in here on a recent(ish) trip to Perth - what a mistake! Paid $76 for two pub meals, a pint of cider and two small beers - the cost alone was ridiculous but the quality of the food is what made this experience truly awful! We had assumed that being part of the Novotel, the place would be of reasonable quality, but the beef burger was tasteless and the chicken burger had been deepfried (the meat and the bread!) so was tough and rubbery with an oily taste. One bite and it was put aside - awful! My recommendation - don't visit, and if you have to, don't eat there!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emjay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Standard Irish Pub”
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

The Fenian is located opposite the Pan Pacific Hotel in Perth- this simple fact will let you find this pub at night- just look up into the sky and you will know where it is. Went there on a Tuesday and a goodish band (Cranky) were playing. Had a couple of beers and then had dinner- the grilled chicken came in a burger and was nice. Overall, it was a comfortable pub - no loud noise or unruly crowds milling around the bar

Helpful?
Thank Intrepid08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fenian's pub also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Fenian's pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing