We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Came for the view, left won over by the food”

Southern Star Vietnamese Restaurant
Reserve with
Southern Star Vietnamese Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #128 of 1,645 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy the stunning flavours of Vietnam, just a short stroll from the Concert Hall in the city. Southern Star Restaurant specialises in the finest traditional Vietnamese cuisine and provides diners with consistent, quality food and outstanding service in a relaxed contemporary setting. Open 7 days for dinner and Monday to Friday for lunch.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Came for the view, left won over by the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

The staff gave a very disappointing first impression - not having processed our reservation as requested (table by the window) and having given wrong information on the phone ("any BYO accepted" although it's actually BYO wine-only). However, the service from there on and the food selection on their menu managed to soothe the mood, and thanks to options like "build your own curry" there is something for everyone - veggo, meatlover, seafoodie.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank veepka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    112
    21
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We found this restaurant by accident walking by. The salt and pepper prawns were amazing , so good that we tried to book for the next night too but it was closed to a private party!
Coconut rice delicious as was the Thai curry .

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McNaught04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Salt n Pepper Squid Ever !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Have visited this restaurant sometime ago and when a voucher came online I snapped it up. So pleased I did. The food just kept on coming and the Salt n Pepper Squid was just the best ever. I highly recommend this beautiful friendly restaurant - the staff are attentive and polite and the view over the river matches the high standard of food. We will definately be coming back with or without a voucher.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, friendly attentive service. Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

It's very hard to find good service like this in Perth! We did a 1/2 prince voucher deal here & they still spoiled us-even let our son join in on our pre paid banquet. (When I offered to buy him his own meal, they said: "Oh no, there's more than enough to feed him" & they were correct)
The rice paper spring rolls nice with a tasty little prawn on top of each one. The Chilli Squid entrée melted in our mouths and was so flavoursome, and the Thai beef salad delectable, as was the chicken satay.
Outside tables & chairs would be a nice spot to people watch across the Esplanade to the Swan River. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

food is good, staff are friendly and helpful. outside tables are good for people watching. personal trainers in langley park provide extra entertainment

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beth75jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Star Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 
East Victoria Park, Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Southern Star Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing