We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising surroundings”
Review of London Court Cafe

London Court Cafe
Ranked #97 of 1,352 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Batam, Indonesia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Surprising surroundings”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

When you arrive from Europe go here to enjoy the typical cozy “homely” feeling especially when you sit on their outside terrace. They have a great menu with the usual steep Perth pricing however the servings are generous and the food is fine. Keep some place in your stomach to enjoy one of their fabulous cakes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terbangbelanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    48
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carnarvon, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Being from the UK, obviously we had to stop by London Court to see what this little snippet of Ye Olde England was like.

We stopped at this little Café on the way through for a drink & piece of cake. The food was lovely, as is this little Café whether or not you are sitting inside or out.

A few minor grumbles if this is to be a honest review.

When we ordered drinks, one of the drink delivered was wrong, having waited a little longer than you would expect for a drink. It then took at least another 5 minutes for the correct drink to be delivered. If you've delivered the wrong item to a table, in my opinion, they should be prioritising redelivering the correct item to your table. Not waiting on another 3 -4 tables before finally delivering the correct drink. All in all, I think we waiting 15 minutes or so just for the drinks and this doesn't include the additional time on top waiting for the cake. I have to admit though, this was due to the person taking the orders and preparing them and not due to the waitress, who was apologetic. I think the person on the till was new.

Also, one of the cakes ordered was a Lemon Meringue. There was most certainly no Meringue in sight, no question about that.

All of that said, despite the lack of Meringue & the drink, when it arrived the cakes were lovely and it is a very nice Café.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not all it was hyped up to be...”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife and I tried this place based on the Tripadvisor reviews. Unfortunately, our experience was inconsistent with those reported on here. The coffee was terrible - a cheap Italian style blend - and the green tea was a Lipton bag (which cost us $4 - a box of 25 from the supermarket costs less than this amount). I had the Turkish breakfast, whereas my wife had the hollandaise eggs - the serving sizes were decent, but the flavour was mixed across both dishes. The fried egg with the Turkish breakfast was overcooked, whereas the poached eggs were cooked well. The bacon with the Turkish meal was supposed to be crispy, but it came out undercooked. London Court is a nice spot to sit and eat, but the accompanying meals and drinks were a dampener on the breakfast.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guccid01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great breakfast and lunch spot”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I was a regular here for the four years we lived in Perth. Owners Joe & Louise are wonderful hosts and always do whatever they can to make you feel like you're their most important customer.

Bacon and eggs on Turkish was a favourite of mine, often chased down by an Apple & Cinnamon Muffin, both great to eat in or take away. I've been spoilt over the years with good coffee, which was hard to find when we moved to Perth, so London Court Cafe was a very welcome find. You know the coffee is good when they can make a great short or long black.

They have a great and varied menu for breakfast and lunch, generally something for everyone. The cafe is well positioned in a busy part of the CBD and tourist area making it a convenient place to relax and watch the characters of Perth pass by.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for breakfast”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely breakfast on a sunny Sunday morning. Service was a bit slow , but the food was good. We had the prawn salad ($23) and Chicken Turkish (19) which was both enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank Hannes207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed London Court Cafe also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to London Court Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing