We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French toast was burnt” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toast

Toast
Ranked #48 of 1,644 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: East Perth
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“French toast was burnt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Not very impressed with the food. The french toast was overcooked and one of the slices was burnt. It was not fluffy and that lovely egg flavour like a good french toast should be. The juice was good though

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DelPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    108
    29
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“No rush? No worries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Great service and expectations mgt (delays). Top notch vegetarian big brekky. Stuffed mushroom, corn fritter , folded eggs ( they call them scrambled). Music pumping to block out the moron next to me and all is good! Coffee was normal.
Those who had a bad food experience should think to give it another go.

Helpful?
Thank WardZone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don’t believe the hype – slow service and awful food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Having seen the glowing reviews and rating on TripAdvisor we decided to stop off here on our last morning for breakfast before leaving Perth. It was around 9.25 when we got there and there was a waiting list which had four tables in front of us. The place was attractive and rather quirky and we were given rubber ducks to denote our place in the queue which were swapped out as we moved up. We were seated inside after less than 10 minutes. Unfortunately it was very noisy in there with lots of loud chatter, there were not tables outside with the nice view of the river so we had to make do.

After ordering at the counter we then waited almost 20 minute for our drinks. My tea was cold and stewed and had obviously been sitting waiting to be pricked up for some time. The food took much longer to arrive. It was around 10.30 when it finally turned up. It looked very unappetising and nothing like the pictures shown here. My poached eggs were hard and cold. I immediately complained about the eggs and my plate was removed.

My plate was returned 5 minutes later with much more acceptable poached eggs which were soft inside and actually warm.

Unfortunately on first glance I hadn’t really looked at the bacon but on closer examination it turned out to resemble leather in both appearance and texture. It was dry and again had obviously been either well over cooked or more likely, cooked much earlier in a large batch and then kept warm all morning as it slowly turned to something resembling biltong in both appearance and taste. Moving on to the mushrooms, they were presented in a dark, black mass which looked like they had been (over) cooked for a very long time. They were bitter and tasted foul.

We were starving at this point so we didn’t make any further complaints but along with the mushrooms, the bacon was not edible. I made do with the eggs and toast. My partner’s corn fritter was actually very good, the meal being let down again by the inedible bacon. I looked at the other plates being served and from what I could see the bacon looked similar on them all. Maybe that’s what passes as acceptable in WA?

To their credit, the wait staff apologised and agreed the eggs were not acceptable and gave me a free tea whilst I was waiting. Thankfully this one was actually hot and not stewed. The waiters and waitresses were probably the best thing about the place, to be fair, they were obviously being let down by the kitchen.

As he collected our unfinished plates, the French-sounding waiter asked if we had enjoyed our meal. Normally we would not wish to make a fuss and would just nod and move on but the food was so bad that I actually said “no” and told him exactly why. He listened and was again apologetic and offered to replace the food or even give us a discount for a subsequent visit but we politely declined as were leaving the state in a few hours.

In summary the food was overpriced and largely inedible and we had to wait almost an hour for it with even the drink service taking way too long. The atmosphere (if seated outside) was good and the wait staff were very polite and helpful. This would be worth a visit if only the food lived up to the hype. Unfortunately it didn’t.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taschenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, very relaxed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

It´s a great place to come for breakfast and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere. Great view over the lake. If you come with kids you can let them run around as there is no traffic and lot´s to explore, Food was delicous, prices are fair and service is friendly

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goeast66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stopped here whilst cycling and are glad we did. All the food and drinks are freshly made and of an excellent quality. The juices were brilliant as were the sandwiches & salads. All the staff were very friendly and we would definitely go again

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Toast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing