We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly rude and vastly overpriced”
Review of Nine Mary's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nine Mary's
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Incredibly rude and vastly overpriced”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Don't bother is the only advise I can give. This restaurant is consistent in only one thing, rude service!

Seriously you charge $3.5 for mango chutney out of a jar when people are spending $150.00 for a meal for 2? What's next, 50 cents for salt and pepper?

How many people have to give you poor reviews before you improve your service?

Get a grip of your business before it's too late.



Helpful?
3 Thank JosieRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Overpriced and terrible service”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Went this evening with 4 girlfriends. "Greeted" by a bitter faced waitress who didn't smile once throughout our entire time there. (I am not exaggerating and it was the source of much incredulity for our party).
The food was outrageously overpriced for what you get. My friend had the butter chicken and rice and for $35 she concluded it was tasteless and unexciting. My own fish tikka was tasty but for $38 I would have expected more than 6 cubes of fish and two dips.
Overall, the prices are too high and they didn't even have the courtesy to soften the blow with bearable service.
None of us will return.

Helpful?
Thank Harri_delf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good albeit overpriced food & rude service”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We dined here for dinner in early November midweek.

In regards to the food it was enjoyable though certainly not worth what was being charged. If Nine Mary's think they can justify the price by calling themselves a fine dining or upmarket restaurant, I have news for them, they are neither.

Don't even get me started on the $8 bottles of San Pellegrino.

What I can not get over is the contempt and rudeness that was conveyed to my by who appeared to be a senior waitperson or manager. Any satisfaction or enjoyment of the evening was ruined by the service and it left an extremely sour taste in my mouth.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank za2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great taste .. excellent service”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nine Mary's does not strike you as a typical indian restaurant on entry .. in fact it styles itself more from the tables of Masterchef but do not let yourself be fooled that they can't cook an great indian buffet. Lots of flavours, tastes and textures ... great choice of fish and meats. The menu is full and deserving of another visit.

The service from the team there was outstanding ... great job all round

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daithetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koorda
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very attentive staff, as we hadn't booked on this very busy Friday night 20th September,we were accommodated very quickly by a young lady, the service of the wine and the meal was impeccable, all the dishes we ordered were just sooo nice, the steamed rice itself was light and fluffy and was a great accompniment to our curry.
Thankyou for a lovely evening, will be dining here again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nine Mary's also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing